Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2014
Although the book is short, it does provide amazing information, it establishes a strong link between us and a possible inbreeding with other species who lived probably in other part of this solar system. Childress and Forster examine civilizations apart with some very strange common ground, I strongly advice on the purchase if you are into the Anunnaki research and a truth seeker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
This is an essential book for the bookshelf of anyone interested in hidden history..& everyone loves Hatcher Childress..
However,one has to wonder why the original real reason for this practice has been studiously omitted..
That being,the enlargement of brain capacity,particularly around the '3rd eye' region (the Pineal gland area,incorporating the Pituary & Thalmus)..this area is known as the 'conduit' by those initiated into this sort of thing..(its said popes have active conduits)..
This is why the Egyptians wore crowns with serpents coming out of the front,the 'Uraeus'..and why the 'Eye of Horus' is an actual literal representation of this area of the brain,if the brain is sliced in half properly you can see this for yourself,its a fact.
Yet its not mentioned in this book..which is hugely disappointing...but as i said,still an essential purchase
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
David Hatcher Childress has authored or co-authored many books on alternative world history and is proprietor of Adventures Unlimited Press in Kempton, Illinois, USA.

Brien Foerster, who has written extensively on ancient South American culture, is now part-time assistant director in Peru of the Paracas History Museum, curating and giving archaeological tours of the area, with special emphasis on the Elongated Skull Paracas culture (see examples in photo, centre of page).

In this book, Childress and Foerster put together a comprehensive synopsis of deformed skulls discovered in many parts of the globe, some dating very far back in history.

Concentrating on elongated skulls, lots of photos and illustrations help to give us examples of very strange cranial deformations and ask the question why the practice of binding and boarding performed on the heads of infants in diverse cultures was popular in various locations over long periods of time almost up to the present day.

We examine primarily long and narrow skulls, defined as dolichocephaloid, and a few broad and rounder examples, brachycelphaloid. We see examples both in art and in actual skeletal remains from as far back as 5000 BCE in Sumeria, to later in Egypt with Queen Nefertiti and King Tut, to South and Central America, the Mediterranean island of Malta, Iraq and the Middle East, Africa, China, and even North American Indians.

Tracing the evolution of the cranium in ancient man, beginning with examples of Neanderthal skulls, the authors ask the overriding questions: "Where have we come from? Did we once have an ancestor who had a naturally elongated head?... Was mankind manipulated by extraterrestrials...?"

Current DNA evidence suggests, "modern humans... had their genetic roots in Africa.... This theory does not take in the possibility of sunken lands in Atlantic, Pacific, or Indian oceans being the origin of mankind... New DNA testing may... show that there is a completely different race of humans that are descended from some other ancestor. Perhaps that ancestor is literally `from another world'."

Parallel to that hypothesis, the authors look at "the strange world of the Olmecs [which] is only now being pieced together." Their features were African, while some of their artefacts show Oriental or European origins. Were the Olmecs of Mexico and Central America colonisers from across the oceans?

We learn of South American museums in Paracas (near Nazca, with its lines that can only be seen at a great height), Ica, Lima, and Tiwanaku (Tiahuanaco) in Peru, where skulls have been removed from display and put in storage. Why?

"Is there some sort of conspiracy at work here to keep the unusual elongated skulls from being viewed by the general public?... [W]ill people come to the conclusion, as have some scholars, that these skulls are of a different race than `normal' human beings?"

In another part of the world, today's familiar Kurds from northern Iraq and eastern Turkey were said to practice cranial deformation until the 1940's. We also learn that thousands of conehead skulls were found in very ancient underground temples on the island of Malta in the Mediterranean. (In 1985 they, too, were removed from public view.)

Could it be that various cultures deformed their infants' heads to make them emulate the heads of the ancient "serpent priests" who legend says had superior wisdom and knowledge?

Or, for instance, were the 9,000 year old skulls of Malta from "some different human species - or possibly of some extraterrestrial or hybrid race... that was interacting with Homo sapiens and other hominids...(?)"

What about the tradition of headbinding of the Huns in central Europe, Russians in the Caucasus, Taoists in ancient China, in Korea, on the islands of Melanesia in the Pacific, and the American Indians of the far Northwest? Can it be a coincidence they all practiced the same procedure?

Chapter 7, the concluding chapter of the book, parallels in some ways the work of the late Zecharia Sitchin. We learn of giant skeletons unearthed in the Aleutian Islands and in Minnesota, and we have to ask if these have any relationship to the "Nephilim" of Genesis, Sitchin's coneheaded Anunnaki, the "Watchers" of the Book of Enoch, and the Egyptian Shemsu Hor (Sons of Horus)? Did "space aliens" with elongated skulls and slit-like eyes come to our planet in the remote past and help shape our ancient civilisations?

As our authors admit, "...we will have to wait for some daring and specialised DNA analysis to prove the matter one way or the other."

- This review first appeared in New Dawn magazine issue #134
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Another fascinating book on unusual finds more or less ignored by science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Thanks Brien and David for your hard work in researching this subject. There are so many mysteries that mainstream science easily dismisses and comes up with lame excuses that we have all seen and have been taught. Your research has brought life back to these amazing discoveries and with everyday we get closer to the truth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Interesting and informative, well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
This book is many things; well-researched is not one of them. Nor does it deal with the skeletal remains of Native Americans in a respectful way; the authors describe them as "coneheads" on several occasions and ask "Who were these weirdos?" Those "weirdos" were living, breathing people, and as such deserve respect not ridicule.

Childress and Foerster seem very fond of conspiracy theory. They suggest that museums are somehow hiding evidence of elongated skulls because they don't want "the truth" to come out. In reality, many museums, all over the world, are removing skulls and skeletons from display out of respect for the sensitivities of indigenous people. It's completely understandable that they don't like the idea of their ancestors' remains being gawked at for fun and entertainment. It's a question of ethics not a cover-up.

Perhaps the strangest chapter of the book is the final one, entitled "Nefilim, the Watchers and Elongated Heads." I had a hard time making head or tail of this, but the authors seem to be suggesting that elongated skulls are a result of interbreeding with extraterrestrials rather than from body modification in early childhood. There's actual physical evidence of the latter - archaeologists have excavated cradleboards, cloth and wood tools used for head binding - yet no evidence of alien landings, so my money is on the idea that people, for whatever reason, did this to their kids.

The authors pad out the thin text with extensive quotes from Wikipedia - up to two pages at a time - and several dozen pages of photos. I counted 91 full pages that just contained photos, that's almost half the book! That seems rather lazy to me, especially as most of the photos can easily be found with Google search. The ones taken by the authors are often out of focus, so not much use.

In conclusion, this is an interesting phenomenon, but the book is truly awful. It's poorly researched and badly written by shiftless authors. I'd love to hear more about this issue, but from people who have a clue.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Christmas gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)