Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2013
This book is a wonderful addition to anyone's library, especially if you are a historian as I am. A simple collection of World War I poems by some of the greatest poets during that conflict, who portray through words the horror of it all.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
To read poetry written by those in the thick of the war, many of whom would never have claimed to have been poets,is a moving experience.
If you have any interest in poetry, or the First World War, then you will find this book of great interest. It is a tribute to all of those who were there.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
At least 2 of these books will be sent back to England to cousins, as Christmas reminders of our mutually shared cousins (4) lost in WWI. We
visited St Neots and Menin Gate, along with the location of the "Christmas Truce" was held between opposing troops. It was a truly sad yet bittersweet reminder, finding their names on the monuments. I hope this book will remain a reminder to the younger generations how futile war is,and the loss of so many young men, and what would have been their future generations........It is sad, yet shows the human spirit lives on.
Thank you for this treasure.
Sincerely, Karyl Jean Drake-Boxmeyer
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2010
a book that shows the reality of war through the poems of many soldiers who didn't return.
Beautifully written.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
How could you not read these poems and not have an ache in your heart? Though poems of allied troops the pain, fear, and sheer foreboding must have been the same for all the soldiers at the front. Waiting in trenches, waiting for death. It truely must've been a horrendous experience for those unfortunate enough to have been there, and lived and died through all the sights and sounds of death. Remarkable insight to another generation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Yes, of course we were: they were so blatantly inspired by all the terrible things that happened. And so are all generations after: a tribute (if that is the right word) to all who, so vilely, died in that terrible conflict and a stark reminder to all after. A book that epitomises all that occurred, all those injured and killed - and a book that deserves to be read by all who (or all who should) grieve for the vast loss that first great war incurred. A very good investment for a brilliant but tragic read bringing to life again the nastiness of death that all those who died there deserved (to warrant their gift to us who live after).
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
I would recommend anyone interested in this book to buy this! Perfect christmas gift. Picture doesn't do it justice. Smaller than picture portrays as I expected a standard sized hardback. This is actually not a bad thing though as the book is cute and compact with gold edged pages and comes in a sturdy sleeve box. I am so pleased with it and much nicer than I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
This hardback book, in a presentation case and trimmed with gold is a very high quality gift for anyone interested in the Great War. I was very impressed and so will my elderly neighbour be when I give this as a gift for his 92nd birthday next month! Stunning binding, and of course one cannot fault the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
An anthology of classicc poems by war poets. Heart rending but appropriate for this 'remembrance' year. All those 'snippets' learned at school in their entirety. A reflective way to honour all war casualties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
A great selection. Some poems I have not read before. Excellent selection and uses less familiar but no less challenging poets. Why do we put soldiers through such suffering?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse