Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning!
The book seems very good but the add gives the impression that a CD is included: it is not. for the book to be of any real benefit you will have to buy the associated CD.Teach Yourself Complete Welsh
Published on 7 April 2012 by Clive 'Badger' Budden

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Learn Welsh -I don't think so.
Perhaps, if the author was more realistic-about what BEGINNERS DID NOT KNOW, it would be a good book. But she is not. The recording goes like that: IfyoualreadykwnowWelshfineotherwiseforgetit.
The speed is much too fast, the book assumes that the reader already knows some basic Welsh-I did not, and could not understand even unit one.
Total waste of money in my...
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by A. M. Henderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning!, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book seems very good but the add gives the impression that a CD is included: it is not. for the book to be of any real benefit you will have to buy the associated CD.Teach Yourself Complete Welsh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Learn Welsh -I don't think so., 13 Nov 2011
By 
A. M. Henderson (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Perhaps, if the author was more realistic-about what BEGINNERS DID NOT KNOW, it would be a good book. But she is not. The recording goes like that: IfyoualreadykwnowWelshfineotherwiseforgetit.
The speed is much too fast, the book assumes that the reader already knows some basic Welsh-I did not, and could not understand even unit one.
Total waste of money in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not so easy to teach yourself!!!, 21 Aug 2011
I have done Welsh before but still found this product hard to get on with. it didn't follow the book exactly and was very easy to lose where you were. The cd was too fast and did not alow enough time for responce. Compared to other teach yourself courses it's not easiest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed realisation of a good idea, 28 July 2013
The idea of a language course with text and audio both conveniently accessible on the Kindle seemed like one of those "how logical - why has no one done this before" ideas. Unfortunately, despite being fully updated, the sound files were not compatible with my Kindle, or my wife's. I even tried a the Kindle app on a tablet - still no joy.
The book is great and would deserve 4 if not 5 stars, but the "value added" of the integrated sound files didn't work for us. Maybe it will in time; until then, caveat emptor, and thank goodness Amazon makes refunds so painless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but get CD too, 5 Oct 2011
When i bought this book i did not realise it was meant to come with a CD. Therefore you need the CD in order to understand how to pronounce the words.

Its quite in depth but not overwhelming and it has a repetitive system so each chapter is organised in the same way, with a bit about speaking and reading (and listening if you have the CD).

It has a dictionary in the back one from English to Welsh and one Welsh to English which is handy.

There are a few references in the book to the CD so i would just make sure if you get the book-get the CD to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for linguists, 14 July 2012
By 
Preston Girl (Telford, Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really good book if you already have some knowledge and have linguistic tendencies and skills. My husband does and it suited him down to the ground - however, if like me you want an 'easy reader' learner then I'd suggest you could struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diolch Yn Fawr!, 3 Mar 2014
By 
W. T. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Welsh: Teach Yourself (Complete Languages) (Kindle Edition)
This is a really useful publication that is greatly helping my reading. However, a little more help with pronunciation would not have come amiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect course, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All "Complete" courses of languages are perfect, this one too. These series of books makes language learning simple and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Da iawn, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Welsh: Teach Yourself (Complete Languages) (Kindle Edition)
Llyfr da iawn ydy hi. Mae'n well os dych chi'n gwybod typyn back o gymraig yn y dechrau. Does gen i ddim y ddisc, ond dydw i ddim yn meddwl bod dych chi yn eisau hi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews