Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Airfix New Tool: Nice Kit, Great Value, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
This is the latest in the new Airfix range of 'new tool' kits which replaces some of the old and dated models.

There are quite a few 1/72 scale P-51Ds on the market, including Academy, Hobby Boss,Hasegawa (now a bit old and pricey for what you get) and Tamiya (very expensive).

The kit has a good number of parts, with drop tanks, two canopy options and a nice set of decals, including stencils, for a 'Tuskegee Airman' aircraft. Detailing is good, with, for example, a nice and visible radiator, reasonable cockpit detail for the scale and a pilot which is much better than the old Airfix generic bods.

The only drawbacks are the heavily recessed panel lines, which will reduce with a coat of paint, and that there's only one decal option, but there are many after market sheets if you wish.

The kit fits together well, is easy to build, looks like a Mustang and is significantly cheaper than the competition: what more could you want, except the shelf space to build a squadron!

Well done Airfix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent model, 13 Mar 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
Very impressed with the level of detail on this kit, the panel lines are great and the parts fit together very well. For a small cheap kit the end result looks fantastic, in fact I have bought another one so I can have both a wheels up and down version.

highly recommended for both beginners and also experienced kit builders, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little kit, 11 Jan 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
Ignore the daft 'one star' review. This is Airfix getting back to their best, with a good, new tooled rendition of this classic aircraft. An accurate and surprisingly detailed model can be built from this kit, and I liked the choice of markings. It's half the price of comparable kits from other manufacturers. You can't go wrong.

Oh, and don't forget you may need to buy some paints and glue!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great kit for the price, will please any level of modeller!, 14 Dec 2014
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
I'm extremely surprised with this kit on many levels, it's very detailed inside and out, beautiful panel lines and a very good quality plastic. I didn't expect this sort of quality from a series 1 kit. very easy to build and paint, there is a more expensive kit of an F-51 mustang which is basically this model with another sprue added with rockets and such. This is an option if you want more detail and different decals. The decals on this kit give only one option, I personally used the universal mustang decals and custom made my own by slicing up other sheets but for this design it's great. There are also lots of other after market declass for this popular kit!
Overall amazing kit for a gift or an experienced modeller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
I love making models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mustang You Have Been Waiting For!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
A new tooled kit from Airfix, and what a kit it is.

A new cockpit set up with great detail, new surface detail with engraved panel lines, better detailed landing gear and even and updated Cartograh decal sheet. I have yet to build her but from reports from other builders the parts fit is out of this world.

Thanks to Airfix for a super new kit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning new tool kit from Airfix, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
You cannot go wrong with Airfix new tools. For the price they are simply brilliant, Buy it and make it, you wont be disappointed. I will post some pics when I have built mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice kit, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
this is once again a beginners kit the only difference is this one comes with no paint, glue or paint brush. nice model for the price. (under a fiver)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This kit is exactly like the F-51D without a few missiles, 26 Oct 2014
By 
Stephen Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
I bought this kit to experiment putting a motor in during the run up to me getting a Tucano from airfix. I had already painted the F-51D mustang from airfix which was a bit more expensive for different decals and a different armament. This kit is exactly like the F-51D without a few missiles, meaning the quality is fantastic. The interior detail is great, the decals only have one option which is marginally disappointing, but other than that it's an amazing kit for the price. I highly recommend it! The only problem was amazon taking around 3 days to dispatch and even longer for it to come through my door. other than that it is an amazing kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A01004 North American P-51D Mustang 1:72 Scale Series 1 Plastic Model Kit (Toy)
good little model
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews