Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best omd presentation since the dazzle ships 1983 tour
the classic omd line-up reformed in 2007 and hit the road with a fantastic live presentation of architecture & morality (perhaps the bands greatest album?) plus a greatest hits package. any of you who attended these concerts will know what a special live act omd are. the band have lost none of their onstage brilliance.

does this dvd capture that brilliance? yes...
Published on 20 May 2008 by amir m

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OMD on fire but sound a problem
Nothing wrong with the performance or the song choices on this. The band throw everything at this comeback gig and don't disappoint.

This DVD and specifically the sound quality however leaves a lot to be desired.

Having tried it on three players now the same drops in sound are present each time. The start of Tesla Girls has become un-listenable for...
Published on 30 April 2008 by Dm Babidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best omd presentation since the dazzle ships 1983 tour, 20 May 2008
By 
amir m (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
the classic omd line-up reformed in 2007 and hit the road with a fantastic live presentation of architecture & morality (perhaps the bands greatest album?) plus a greatest hits package. any of you who attended these concerts will know what a special live act omd are. the band have lost none of their onstage brilliance.

does this dvd capture that brilliance? yes ..... just. first off, the sound. some have been commenting on what they describe as a poor dts mix. well, i've listend to the dts and dolby digital 5.1 mixes and the sound is tops on both (dts being the better sounding). i didn't experience any "drop-outs". as for the vocals being too loud - it's subjective and i disagree. those of you who feel the vocals are too prominent in the mix can take down the centre channel volume. that's the flexability of multi-channel.

as for the pictures - one can get a strong flavour of the great stage set and the band's commanding of it. the visuals on the large screens look spectacular and compliment the music perfectly (would loved to have had a fixed wide shot in the dvd extras "angle" function). frontman andy mccluskey's driving gusto and enthusiasm easily shine through. given the constraints of budget and venue the camera work is generally good and the direction fine. my understanding is that the footage was filmed over two nights on a tight budget. given that, the final cut is remarkable. my only gripes are some poor and unimaginative hand-held shots of the audience and the band onstage.

fans and newbies should buy this dvd. for those who attended the concerts in 2007 - this is a must have memento. for everyone else this is an ace primer to go and see the band live. sure, the omd show looks fab on dvd but the band are so, so, so much better in front of you, on stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMD DVD Review, 20 July 2008
By 
Teslawaves (North Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
Initially I was put off buying this DVD due to reviews that mention poor sound, well I took the plunge bought the DVD and am glad I did no problems at all with the sound and picture quality is excellent.

The majority of the first section is dedicated to Architecture & Morality which I must admit is my favourite album, with the rest comprising OMD's hits. Yes the group has aged a little however so have the audience although this DVD is definitely worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As brilliant as ever, if not even better. . . ., 29 April 2008
By 
M. Arscott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was lucky enough to get to see OMD perform again during this latest tour and it was, as always, a fantastic show. It's brilliant to have a DVD to remember it by, it brings back all those emotions experienced during the live concert - I really hope they do another tour so I can take my kids next time around !

They haven't lost any of their old magic and remain one of my 5 all-time favourite groups.

If you like OMD, then I definitely recommend getting this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I AM THE FIRST TO REVIEW THIS ON BLUE-RAY (6stars), 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All other 21 reviews are from the DVD. Never thought that Amazon did not split DVD and BD reviews! The concert was recorded for DVD when BD was something you only had heard about, and only payable for rich people. On BD this concert is a pure 5 star.

AUDIO is perfect. PICTURE is varying a bit, but mostly excellent. All the songs from OMD you want to hear is there, Andy is in high spirit and they have established an fine atmosphere in Ham Apollo. Order it, and make time for nothing else the 2 hour15 it takes. OMD fans are guaranteed a nice time, if you arent a fan u will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Manoeuvres, 29 April 2008
By 
What a fantastic concert OMD never get the credit they deserve this dvd is jammed full of hits plus the stage set is very impressive.The hilight of this concert is andy's dancing and of course his powerful voice overall a well worthy purchase from one of the best pop/experimental bands of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 26 April 2008
By 
P. O'Flynn "Palyniam" (Leeds West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this delivered this morning and it is fantastic to watch and listen to.
I last saw O.M.D live on stage many many moons ago and they were brilliant, now a litlle older but still FANTASTIC!!!!.

If you have not got this yet then I sugest you get it soon you will not be let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live - Architecture & Morality & More [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
As a big fan and someone who went to these concerts (Brighton) I found it a good rememberance of our evening. Andy is always engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMD, 16 Jan 2014
By 
R. Pearson "Ray Pearson" (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was bought as a Christmas gift. I know I like the music but have not seen the person I bought it for to give his comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMD LIVE BLU-RAY, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received this for Christmas an excellent present outstanding quality. OMD a great live band will be looking for more OMD blu-rays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live - Architecture & Morality & More [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Can't believe the recording quality - the lyrics are clearer than on my 'Best of' CD. As Andy says during the show "my dancing hasn't improved" ......but, hey, who cares, he's like a fortysomething Tigger, bouncing around with masses of energy and obvious enjoyment! All OMD fans, do yourselves a favour and treat yourself to this brilliant DVD - you can't fail to be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72f5618)

This product

Live - Architecture & Morality & More [DVD] [2012]
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews