Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood and Bile and Stuff like that
I don't think I have ever read a book which contains such a constant, rising flood of expletive-laden anger. Its `f' words and its `c' words are embedded in almost every snatch of dialogue and in pretty well every line of gangster Billy Abrahams' narrative. Your granny won't like it, I'm certain of that. And it's not just the language she'll reject. Where, she'll ask, is...
Published on 29 Sept. 2012 by WH Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough to stomach but quick read
Scary to think this based on true events, albeit without revealing the perpetrators name. It made the violence hard to stomach when thinking it may have actually happened to someone. Easy and quick read though.
Published 2 months ago by Andrev


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood and Bile and Stuff like that, 29 Sept. 2012
By 
WH Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
I don't think I have ever read a book which contains such a constant, rising flood of expletive-laden anger. Its `f' words and its `c' words are embedded in almost every snatch of dialogue and in pretty well every line of gangster Billy Abrahams' narrative. Your granny won't like it, I'm certain of that. And it's not just the language she'll reject. Where, she'll ask, is the remotest sign of decency in the people on show here?

There is scarcely a redeeming feature in any of the characters in this ultra-violent tale of London's East End mob. There is no-one for whom you're going to feel any warmth: scarcely anyone for whom you'll feel the slightest grain of sympathy.

This is a grim story peopled with cruel, vicious, unfeeling men and women. They drink to excess, they sniff up `lines' to excess, they kill to excess. And only Billy, brighter than the others, with sharper insight, fleetingly wonders where it's all leading but even he can shuffle off his doubts if the money is right.

So where are the gangsters with hearts of gold? Where are the guys on the wrong side of the law with some faint memory of loyalty and friendship. Where are the loveable hard men? Don't look for them here. Not in Judas Pig.

Is this then what they are really like, the lawbreakers? Well, Horace Silver, the author, was for many years a senior member of a major London firm. So he ought to know. Now he's given up the gun, the knife, the baseball bat, for the life of a writer. But his portrayal of gangsterdom is light years away from the cosy images of real criminals which we have been offered so generously in recent years. And I fear that this is what many of our gangsters really must be like. But they give to charity, don't they? And aren't they loved in the East End? Yes, on both counts, Billy Abrahams tells us. And that's because those who adore these low-life hard men are suckers just like the rest of us poor nine-to-five punters. They wouldn't feel the same if they hadn't been led to believe the creepy, romantic Robin Hood version of duplicitous lives steeped in squalid, venomous dealings.

Grim reading, expressed with a crude power, at times poetic almost, yet always down among the dregs, and probably nearer the truth than most of the fact or fiction gangsters we've been regaled with over the years.

I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars East London Villains, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
Horace Silver's real name is Jimmy Holmes. It surfaced in a recent court case when millionaire Davey Hunt, East London 'businessman, and scrap metal dealer with little visible source of wealth sued The Times for referring to him as a crime warlord.

He lost and the case once more illustrated the level of corruption in The Metropolitan Police.

Judas Pig describes the activities of an East London firm led by a vicious psychopath called Danny, whose activities supposedly are a fictionalised account of the Hunt Gang, Danny being Davey.

Other well known London villains such as Ronnie Knight appear in the story.

The gritty realistic style is very much like JJ Connely's Layer Cake, leading to suggestions that he ghost wrote the novel (memoir?) although that is mere speculation.

Famous villains, like famous pirates, are the unsuccessful ones so I guess we will never know whether Holmes was indeed Hunt's partner in the rise of the Hunt Gang but the novel is superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 20 May 2014
By 
L. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
Considering it is supposedly a work of fiction, it doesnt talke the brains of an Archbishop to work out who the characters are in real life. Some arent even disguised...
Very powerful, funny and horrifying at the same time..
Well worth a read if you are interested in true crime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just my cup of Rosy Lee, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
If you want true, real life East End gangsters...back when gangsters were real gangsters this is the book for you. I looked everywhere for this book in print but it was extortionately priced...please meet my first Kindle Paperwhite download! I love this and will read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOMB!!, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
Hands down the best "true crime" book I have ever read
No walking off into the sunset ending or glorifying images of gangsterdom
This book tells it how it is grimy ultra violence carried out by often drug fuelled sociopaths with honour left to Costa nostra movies
These guys are the real deal and the bottom line is getting their hands on a pound note by murder intimidation or any other means
"Horace"take a bow for this book just wish you would hurry up and write a few more as this book was a breath of fresh air compared to the other muck being presented as true crime by bouncers who have slung a few drunks out and now consider themselves gangsters yawnnnnnn
Anyway congrats again and keep writing your a shinning light in this genre of drivel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hunt for the real characters, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
Well written, though the semi-autobiography is better than the novel; I think I would have preferred it had kept strictly to the auto-biography route as the painting of the characters and the struggle 'Silver' has reconciling his violent life is is better in my opinion than the storyline which feels somewhat contrived and the twists can be seen coming, (though maybe these parts actually happened too. The ending feels a bit too pat and Billy's escape from the life and gang too easy, but for all that I enjoyed it and the book deserves more recognition as a True Crime account. There is some fun to be had trying to identify the real-world counterparts of Danny Longshanks, Derry O'Dourke and the Rite Family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book. The language and indeed the story are ..., 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book. The language and indeed the story are extremely brutal. Whilst written as fiction book is based on the life of the author who was supposedly a former gangster himself. In interviews Horace Silver says he wants to convey what top level criminals are really like and the book certainly shows a different and disturbing alternative to the self-serving, dated 'autobiographies' that generally make up the 'True Crime' genre (I'm aware that this is sold as fiction, but as stated its content is true)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read., 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, although a little doubtful that it is entirely true. If it is there is enough info in it to put people away forever.
One tiny criticism, the over use of rhyming slang- people surely don't use it that much, do they?
Anyway, I do recommend this to all fans of true crime books. It is very funny in places and leads to many laugh out loud moments. Not sure if there is a follow up to it, but I hope so as I'd like to see what happened next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping stuff, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
Rumour is rife that this is a true story with the names changed to protect the guilty, whether this is in fact the case or not, the story is written in a believable manor and all the characters burst into life through the pages, this book really does put other gangster books in the shade, and if it is more fact than fiction, then God help us all l!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDAS PIG (Kindle Edition)
The book is only slightly disappointing in my view as it didnt cover as much of the lives of the characters as i wold have liked such as the building of the main characters from their early life. The book concentrated on a specific time around the demise of the partnership. I cant knock the book itself it was riveting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JUDAS PIG
JUDAS PIG by Horace Silver
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews