Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfected Aggression
On 2008's career retrospective `Centuries of Torment' George `Corpsegrinder' Fisher (vocals) observed when they finally call it quits he is likely to have neck problems from all the years of head banging. Cannibal Corpse have been in existence for almost 25 years and there is no end in sight. Like the undead they seem destined to forever roam this planet, slowly evolving...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Hellhounddog

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but I think it's time for CC to try something new
Maybe it's just because I know what to expect from Cannibal Corpse too much now, but I would personally like them to try something new.

Their last three albums - Kill, Evisceration Plague and Torture have all had a sounds that's far too similar.

Torture is a good album, but It's been a while since I've heard an album from Cannibal Corpse that's...
Published on 3 April 2012 by Alexander The Great


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfected Aggression, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
On 2008's career retrospective `Centuries of Torment' George `Corpsegrinder' Fisher (vocals) observed when they finally call it quits he is likely to have neck problems from all the years of head banging. Cannibal Corpse have been in existence for almost 25 years and there is no end in sight. Like the undead they seem destined to forever roam this planet, slowly evolving their sound with each new album. In the last decade CC has gone from strength to strength. 2003 saw them become the first Death Metal act to reach sales of over one million discs, album No 10 `KILL' (2006) took the band to new levels of critical acclaim and 2009's `Evisceration Plague' entered the billboard 200 at #66 their highest ever position.

Of course album sales do not equate to music quality and while it's arguable if they've since released anything as essential as `Tomb of the Mutilated' or `The Bleeding' this is a band that has made a career of producing albums of ever increasing quality. Recorded late 2011 at Sonic Ranch studios Texas (Gore Obsessed, The Wretched Spawn) as well as Mana Studios Florida (KILL, Evisceration Plague) album no 12 `Torture' is the 3rd to be produced by Erik Rutan. In recent interviews Alex Webster (bass) explained that a lot of effort had been made to ensure each song had it's own unique identity and compared to the two previous albums this is indeed the facet of Torture that defines it above anything else.

As album opener `Demented Aggression' kicks in the first thing you notice is the rich production and depth of sound. This one has a thrashy feel. It's not quite CC at full force- not quite `Hammer Smashed Face' or `The Time to Kill is Now' but it's a nice warm up. Second track `Sarcophagic Frenzy' is mid tempo with more interesting riffs than the opener and smatterings of blastbeats. But it's track 3 `Scourge of Iron' where Torture really comes to life. This is a slow grinding song, the lyrics tell the story of mass of prisoners having the flesh beaten and torn from their bodies and the song itself sounds like the soundtrack to the gates of hell. `Encased In Concrete' is next and full force from the start kicking off with a rabid Pat O Brien solo. This one is classic CC with multiple time changes, riffs that get seared into your brain and Corpsegrinder barking out the vocals as only he can.

`As Deep As The Knife Will Go' is a straight up anthem and possibly the best song on the album- super catchy riffs, blastbeat sections and a chorus you can't help but sing along to. It makes you want to ram knifes into peoples eye sockets, in a good way. `Intestinal Crank' is another classic with churning rhythms giving way to groove sections & wild solos before dissolving into some awesome time changes to end the track. As the great songs pile up it soon becomes clear CC have produced yet another masterpiece in Torture. `The Strangulation Chair' is a virtual eargasm filled with `The Bleeding' styled riffs and an Alex Webster bass solo. Final track `Torn Through' is pure Cannibal Corpse perfection- relentless blastbeats, riffs that are at the same time crushingly heavy and equally catchy and Corpsegrinder laying waste to all with a devastating vocal performance. It simply does not get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly brilliant...surely the boys must run out of riffs eventually!, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. Nicholas Hopkins "GLG" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
I really was bracing myself for a letdown. After so many years of blasting it out I kinda had it in my head that Alex, George and co would come up with a painted-by-numbers album, just a reason to tour.

I'm soooo happy to report that Torture was a joy from beginning to end and has had me grinning like a zombified cheshire cat on the train whilst listening to it.

If you love DM you will love this. It has some killer riffs, crazy rhythms, truly gut wrenching vocals...and that BASS!?!?

So good to have the boys back :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corpse Continue the Standard of Excellence!, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Kyle Gray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
How twenty plus years into their career they only proceed to get MORE brutal is unbelievable. The inventiveness goes up a notch on this album (though don't expect to hear an acoustic track!) and the fact that Pat O'Brien and Rob Barrett contribute as much to this album as Alex Webster gives the album a more diverse feel. Possibly their most consistent album yet.

Demented Aggression is as good a track as any to kick off an album and we're thrown right into brutality and the ears are assaulted relentless til the end track! As Deep As the Knife Will Go is an instant classic and will no doubt be a setlist regular, possibly the best on the album. Scourge of Iron fools you with a thrash intro but is the obligatory slow showstopper, in keeping with Death Walking Terror/Evisceration Plague of the last two albums and possibly Pat's best solo maybe? However it probably comes too early on in the album.

There are a few nods to old school Corpse on this offering, Crucifier Avenged stood out as sounding similar to Butchered At Birth's Meat Hook Sodomy. Alex Webster fanatics like me will be pleased to hear the bass break on The Strangulation Chair is UNREAL and the bass outro to the relentlessly fast Rabid is awesome! Another standout moment is the hook to Followed Home then Killed (possibly second best track) is tripped out, unlike anything I've heard from Corpse yet.

No high screams from George here but the deep vocals are on form and packs the usual standard of relentless and unbelievable speed and brutality. The sheer musicianship on offer here is astounding, every band member gels together perfectly to make one of the most devastating collective band of musicians in metal today. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at best., 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to the release of this album, after Evisceration Plague, which was Ok not great but a few good ones.

Imaginative, Innovative, Technical Brilliance and A 'Classic' are all words which CANT describe this album. Technical, yes, Brilliant, NO. I Am a huge Corpse fan and have all of there other releases, Best of which in my opinion are Bloodthirst, KILL and Wretched Spawn.

But since Cannibal have used the same producer for the last couple albums they seem to have become boring and worst of all predictable. Most of the tracks sound very similar. I did not at any point find myself growling along whether I knew the words or not, not like when The Bleeding or Bloodthirst were released.

Don't get me wrong, the technical elements are very good, but there are a million and one different Tech Death bands around especially with a new Decapitated release on the sleeves. There isn't even any change in pace really. I know that same fans will be like "faster the better, thats BRUTAL". But one of my favorite songs is 'When Death Replaces Life', an awesome grinder of a song. But they just dont seem to do that anymore.

Buy the album if you want to own everything, but to be honest save your money and just download Track 11, its only good one on there. I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but I think it's time for CC to try something new, 3 April 2012
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
Maybe it's just because I know what to expect from Cannibal Corpse too much now, but I would personally like them to try something new.

Their last three albums - Kill, Evisceration Plague and Torture have all had a sounds that's far too similar.

Torture is a good album, but It's been a while since I've heard an album from Cannibal Corpse that's really made my jaw drop like they used to.

I'm still a big CC fan, but this album was a bit of a let down really because it's nothing new. It's basically Kill 1.5.

Sorry, I know I'm making a lot of people out there cry, but I just didn't think much of it.

I'd give it a 5/10. It's worth buying for your collection, but don't expect a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cannibal corpse, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
excellent band ... amazing music ... top rated metal band of the century ... artwork amazing ... not for the faint hearted .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely mental, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
An absolutely mental shell shocking hell ride of a death metal record with some technical experimentation. Even during these experimental bits, the album never forgets what it is. This is an example of an album that has evolved the bands sound with trial, and no error. Brilliant record, everything about it is bloody mental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch death metal, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
No news good news. The Cannibals don't show anything new on this record, but deliver the same brand of death metal we have come to love them for. Continuing on the road they've been running on since "Bloodthirst", exploiting both Webster's and O'Brien's superior ability in creating and playing amazing, catchy and inventive riffs, they carry on waving the flag of technical yet brutal death metal. These guys are embued with essence of this genre and their passion shines through every single note of their music. In my opinion their masterpiece remains "Bloodthirst", but since that record they never failed to deliver quality albums, especially the ones helmed by Erik Rutan as a producer. "Torture" is 12 songs of Cannibal Corpse at their usual top form, with a little more variety in a couple of O'Brien's cuts. Short songs, inventive riffs, catchy vocal patterns, super-distorted guitars and tons of brutality: this is the Cannibal we will always want...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars corpse, 21 April 2012
By 
F. Healey "'H'" (rugby warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
Another amazing album from the corpsegrinder.Theres a few tracks which are very different to anything they've done before.Seems there's no topic that slip past this band and the lyrics are as detailed as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brutal offering, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Torture (Audio CD)
Being a long time fan of Cannibal Corpse since their first two albums, I was expecting big things from this new offering.
Whilst personally I think CC hit their peak with Gallery of Suicide and Bloodthirst, and the last few albums have not left much impression on me, I was picking up on the buzz that this new album was something special.

Well, I pre-ordered this and once it arrived I was blown away.
For me the last couple of albums lacked really memorable songs, which weren't bad, just not classics.
Torture is a different thing altogether.
As consistent in quality as Bloodthirst, with standout tracks being Scourge of Iron, Intestinal Crank, As Deep as the Knife Will Go. Actually, most of them!

This is not another churned out run of the mill album (although I'm going to go back and re-evaluate the 2002-2009 albums), but a genuine killer album which stands alongside previous best ones and should provide some brutal additions to their live set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torture
Torture by Cannibal Corpse (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews