Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


176 of 179 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Battle of Britain book ever
There are so many books available on the Battle of Britain, but this is the best I've read. A healthy and fascinating mix of anecdote, opinion, and solid research give this book so many dimensions missing in others that cover this important historical event.
Other authors have emphasised how close-run this event was - how Britain avoided defeat at the hands of the...
Published on 3 Aug. 2004 by VicHoon

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book - but with a few flaws IMHO
I heard the author at a Duxford airshow a few years ago. His talk then was very interesting, as it outlined how operational planning had helped the RAF be better prepared than the Luftwaffe for the Battle of Britain.

I am slightly disappointed in the book, because it touches much less on this, than on almost blow-by-blow accounts of which groups engaged in...
Published 7 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Most Dangerous Enemy, 11 Mar. 2011
Great book. Well researched with a detailed analysis of the Battle of Britain. I didn't think more could be written on the topic, but I'm glad to have been proven wrong. Worth while for anyone who wants to know more about the machinations of the battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book with new information, 12 Jan. 2012
bought this book for my husband who is a great militery history reader ,he is very pleased with it and has found out lots of information new to him , which is hard because I thought he knew nearly everything about both wars.highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all people interested in the Battle of Britain, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Dangerous Enemy: A History of the Battle of Britain (Kindle Edition)
This was a very good read indeed and I think it is one of the best books on the Battle of Britain there is. If you are interested in that period of history then this book is a must (and also for the incredible list of references).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One delighted recipient, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
Paul R. Cook (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an avid reader of war time stories and a former RAF man himself, my uncle - for whom this was a birthday present - claims this is the best record of the events that he has read. One very satisfies recipient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Dangerous Enemy: A History of the Battle of Britain (Kindle Edition)
Unbeatable in terms of presenting the facts and allowing one to reach a conclusion. One of, if not the most enjoyable, thought provoking book I have ever read covering any aspect of WW2. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charming book, 1 Dec. 2014
By 
OuluPulu (Oulu, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Dangerous Enemy: A History of the Battle of Britain (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely delightful book, charming, thought provoking and deeply moving. Washes away the sentimentality of British war time history, and replaces it with something more meaningful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly comprehensive, 23 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Dangerous Enemy: A History of the Battle of Britain (Kindle Edition)
For anyone who wants the fine detail. Textual analysis of Churchill's speechs and explanations of the different combat tactics, for example. Must be quite a fat volume in paper form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed account, 23 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
v. well researched book.
Have seen him on television from time to time as an expert of World War II (Air war topics)
stick with the 'details' which are most interesing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quite possibly the best book on the battle of britain. There is also an illustrated version available. I've read the pocket first, and decided to buy the illustrated copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellently written, providing insight and solid background, 24 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Dangerous Enemy: A History of the Battle of Britain (Kindle Edition)
An excellent and well balanced approach to the coverage of the battle. Insight from the great and the few brings greater clarity and meaning to the events of 1940
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews