Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and funny Romantic Comedy, leaves a smile on your face
It is not the most amazing script ever written, you can imagine the end from the very beginning, but that is not what has made this one of the most popular movies this summer, it is just that the story is funny, sweet and makes you smile and feel good. How many movies can do that? We have Andrew, who is working like a slave to get the desired promotion and his boss, a...
Published on 16 Sep 2009 by AGDA

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite common...
This is a typical "easy" comedy. It has some good parts, but if I'd already seen it, I wouldn't buy the DVD, that's for sure. The plot is an easy guess from the start and some of the scenes are kind of "meant to be very funny", but end up pushing it too hard. I find the story rather slow in parts and I'm getting bored. I miss more substantial and witty dialogue. Would...
Published on 13 Aug 2010 by Marisa Forsaa


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and funny Romantic Comedy, leaves a smile on your face, 16 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
It is not the most amazing script ever written, you can imagine the end from the very beginning, but that is not what has made this one of the most popular movies this summer, it is just that the story is funny, sweet and makes you smile and feel good. How many movies can do that? We have Andrew, who is working like a slave to get the desired promotion and his boss, a she-devil called Margaret, who is so focused on her job that forgets that there is life outside the publishing house. Because of her possible deportation, she is forced to make the decision of marrying Andrew, as she is from Canada and needs to be allowed to work in the USA or she will lose the job she loves so much. That is the beginning of this journey, and it keeps getting better when the odd couple arrive to Alaska to met "his" parents and grannie. I won't tell much about the plot, as it is better to watch it. I just want to say that the main actors share a special chemistry in this film, something that makes the movie more enjoyable and the whole cast is brilliant and funny.
I do recommend it, may not be the best movie of the year, but it makes me feel good, sunnier, and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and fun and charming comedy, 23 Oct 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
It was a week with two good movies showing at our small local cinema and I assumed the other (The Time Traveller's Wife) would be the best. (It was very overhyped in my opinion, I soon became bored with it but my husband liked it.) We nearly didn't go to see The Proposal, but a relative was in Alaska just at that time and had been telling us about it, so I decided we might as well see this movie set partly in Alaska. After all, it was a comedy, so it should be watchable. In fact, I loved every moment of it. This was the first time I remember seeing Sandra Bullock and I'm now a firm fan. What a delightful, funny and entirely entertaining movie! I was completely hooked from the start.

Bullock's character is a Canadian needing to stay in the USA to keep the job she loves. She blackmails one of her staff into pretending they're engaged to be married, just so long as it takes for her papers to come through and he blackmails her for a work concession in return. Of course nothing goes quite as either of them intends, nor as the immigration officer expects either when he's highly suspicious of this "engagement" and absolutely determined to catch them out. Of course there's plenty of hilarious and sometimes poignant frustration as very everyone gets thwarted in whatever they're trying to achieve and of course the last scenes are hugely tense as whatever you want for everyone, you can't know if they'll get it. One to buy as soon as it's out! And my advice, watch anything else you haven't yet seen of Sandra's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you prefer Margaret or "Satan's Mistress"?, 3 July 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
The Proposal is directed by Anne Fletcher and written by Pete Chiarelli. It stars Sandra Bullock, Ryan Reynolds, Mary Steenburgen, Craig T. Nelson and Betty White. Music is scored by Aaron Zigman and cinematography by Oliver Stapleton.

Bitch book company boss Margaret Tate (Bullock) bullies her assistant Andrew (Reynolds) into marrying her in order to maintain her visa status and avoid being deported from the US. With the authorities watching closely, the pair take off to Paxton's parents in Alaska to get to know each other and plot the sham wedding.

The rom-com, a very hard genre to get a film right in, and only really accessible to certain parts of the movie watching world. The Proposal is one of the better ones in recent times, primarily because the lead actors are so likable, they manage the impressive feat of lifting the standard scripting to heights it doesn't deserve. 12 years difference between Reynolds and Bullock (who still looks terrific), but it doesn't show, while the supporting players, operating out of a cranky family/small town dynamic, also offer up considerable moments of quality. Very appealing scenic cinematography by Stapleton too.

There's no surprises here, but there are good laughs and interesting scenarios, and if you are in the mood for a romantic pick me up, or having a date movie night, then this is a safe recommendation. The grumpy and loveless, suffice to say, need not apply. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, if unbelievable RomCom - Love it!, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
Not an entirely beleivable plot - but very funny and one my daughters and I loved.

Sandra Bullock is hilarious, Ryan Reynolds is pleasing to the eye, and there is a satisfying roam through drama and disaster, reaching a pleasing ending.

We laughed out loud throughout - a proper girly film for these dark windy nights, when the world's a depressing place. The only other things you'll need are a box of chocs and a glass of wine - curl up on the sofa and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny!, 29 Nov 2009
I totally agree with Bob's Mum. This film is one of the funniest things I've seen for a long long time! And Bullock/Reynolds are the perfect pairing with good chemistry ;))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This film goes down as one of my all time favourites!, 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
This film goes down as one of my all time favourites!

I love Sandra Bullock, in this film she plays a brilliant character and watching it evolve over the film is very enjoyable. There are many funny moments. I love her character and I don't want to spoil too much about it, but I do she her character as very believable and realistic. I am no Ryan Reynolds fan (other than in The Green Lantern) but I really enjoyed him in the film. Bullock and Reynolds chemistry in the film is clear and progressive, something that is effortlessly done and comes across as genuine and realistic. The development of their relationship is clear, realistic and funny! Very nice chemistry together.

There are many hilarious moments in the film and I have watched the film a few times now and still find them funny.

Also, I find that this is more than a 'romcom' as there much more comedy to it. Relax, sit back, laugh and enjoy this light hearted fun film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'LAUGH OUT-LOUD FUNNY', 25 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
i'm awarding '5' stars even though i found much of the film predictable, it really is 'laugh-out-loud funny.
'Margaret' a no-nonsense business woman is on the verge of deportation, which would leave the guy she's just jilted as her replacement, her work is her life is at stake.
'Andrew' is her assistant who has ambitions of his own, however 'margaret' throws a giant shadow over his asperations.
'Margaret' comes up with a plan to dodge deportation, she demands that 'Andrew' marries her in exchange for promotion and a promise that his book would be published.
'Andrew' had planned to fly off to 'Alaska' to celebrate his Grandmothers 90th birthday, now it seems he has a travel companion.
They fly off to 'Andrew's' family home in alaska, this introduces 'Andrew's' diverse family members and friends, leading to much humour.
This is a very funny film with 'Sandra Bullock' and 'Ryan Reynolds' lighting up the screen with thier attempts to convince family
and friends, not forgetting the authorities that the romance is genuine.
There are some stunning scenary sequences. along the way.
Good Picture and Sound Quality throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proposal, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
A really Good film like most of Sandra Bullock's - Bought as a gift for my Daughter who has seen the film with me but lives in France where unfortunately most films are dubbed in French so she has a growing library of DVDs where it actually spoils the films if they are dubbed! (Sound of Music ) to name but one is a no-no as are others so although she speaks French fluently - she draws the line at certain films!
Recommended for those with a real sense of humour this is another Feel-good Film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A better vehicle than the Congeniality movies, 14 April 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
This is a more believable, but still not completely believable, movie than Sandra Bullock's earlier Congeniality titles. Now principally playing her real age, it does not recreate the earlier approaches in both of those titles or the questionable casting of some characters.

Still typically fluffy around the edges, Bullock does a much better job here.

Very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proposal dvd, 28 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Proposal [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic film another classic comedy from Sandra Bullock - deffo a must have in yr collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Proposal [Blu-ray][Region B/C]
5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews