Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive and arguably the greatest film noir of all
Along with Tourneur's OUT OF THE PAST (1947), Billy Wilder's DOUBLE INDEMNITY is the definitive film noir, a masterpiece that rewards countless viewings and proved hugely influential. Virtually remade as BODY HEAT in 1981, and the inspiration for any number of sweaty, neo-noir pale imitations, this brilliant film remains the real deal and unsurpassed.
Wilder's...
Published on 2 April 2006 by Jeff Markham

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing!
Firstly I would like to make clear that my one star rating is not for the film itself as it is an excellent movie, I am rating it 1 star for the so called high definition restoration that universal have done. I already own this film on standard DVD which I bought around 10 years ago. I was so exited when I came across this Blu-ray edition and was looking forward to...
Published 24 months ago by J. R. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive and arguably the greatest film noir of all, 2 April 2006
By 
Jeff Markham (Walton-on-Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] (DVD)
Along with Tourneur's OUT OF THE PAST (1947), Billy Wilder's DOUBLE INDEMNITY is the definitive film noir, a masterpiece that rewards countless viewings and proved hugely influential. Virtually remade as BODY HEAT in 1981, and the inspiration for any number of sweaty, neo-noir pale imitations, this brilliant film remains the real deal and unsurpassed.
Wilder's fractious collaboration with the great Raymond Chandler produced a wonderful screenplay, dripping with sharp dialogue and fatalistic symbolism, whilst the performances of the three leads - FRED MacMURRAY, BARBARA STANWYCK and EDWARD G ROBINSON - are faultless and represent their finest screenwork. Stanwyck's marvellously cold, cyncial and manipulative femme fatale remains the template for all that followed and her tart as a lemon dialogue exchanges with MacMurray's bluff, self-confident Insurance Claims Investigator are amongst the greatest in any film.
To add to these elements JOHN F. SEITZ, one of film noir's finest cameramen, creates visual poetry from the sunlight streaming through Californian windows and shadows of forboding during the beautifully staged murder sequence.
Come to think of it, this isn't just one of the greatest film noirs ever made, it's simply one of the greatest films ever made, period. If you haven't seen it, buy it now, if you had it on VHS from a long ago TV screening, still buy it as this print is excellent and probably the best available, although there's a disappointing lack of extras on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FORGET SIN CITY,THIS IS REAL FILM NOIR AT IT`S BEST!, 21 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] (DVD)
I`ve been waiting for this classic to be released ever since i bought a dvd player! Billy wilder has to be one of cinema`s finest director`s ever,it`s hard to pick his best work what with sunset boulevard,some like it hot & ace in the hole (hopefully the next in line for a dvd release) among others but if someone put a gun to my head i`d have to say double indemnity.Being a big fan of old movies & in particular film noir this one is simply perfect,great script(co-scripted by Raymond chandler himself),superb acting from the three leads & great cinematography.If your into old movies & film noir trust me you need to see this,even if there are no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 5 you will ever spend, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
There are many good reviews around for this film so I won't try to do any plot spoilers or go too in depth if you have not seen this film.
Only to say that, even to this day Double Indemnity is a shining light of a motion picture.

It's also a firm slap in the face for modern Hollywood productions that value CGI and effects over a damn good story/plot, and a superb cast. From the solid direction from Billy Wilder, the excellent moody cinematography from John F. Seitz, solid film score too, Fred MacMurray as the calm and sensible (but bored) Walter Neff, Barbara Stanwyck as the seductress, and a brilliant Edward G. Robinson as the moody tough boss to Walter. It fits together beautifully in every respect the entire production crew and cast are simply superb in this production.

Of course none of this would matter if the story was pedestrian and uninteresting. Far from it the plot is one of the best around and completely engaging from start to finish. MacMurray's running commentary is superbly downbeat and reflective, adding hugely to the dark feel of the film and building tension. This is a PG film, there are no gimmicks or blood baths/gore, just a wonderful "real production" with talent oozing out of every corner of the film, and a great must watch plot.

Some wonderful witty lines in this film, they might seem corny to read but fit in perfectly with the film

Walter Neff: "Yes, I killed him. I killed him for money - and a woman - and I didn't get the money and I didn't get the woman. Pretty, isn't it?"

Walter Neff: "Yeah, I was, but I'm sort of getting over the idea, if you know what I mean"
Phyllis: "There's a speed limit in this state, Mr. Neff. Forty-five miles an hour."
Walter Neff: "How fast was I going, officer?"
Phyllis: "I'd say around ninety."

Wonderful stuff and a pleasure to watch on screen! I first watched the film in my early teens and enjoyed in immensely, yet continue to watch it to this day. Whilst I know the story (of course), the smiles it raises are still there. This stands the test of time in a way few movies really do. I sincerely hope they never attempt to re-make this movie (it has been vaguely copied a few times) The word "Classic" is banded around all too often for films and this holds up to that label and then some more

Pure brilliance, and shows modern movie makers how to make a real movie. In terms of overall performance only the equally compelling 12 Angry Men (Henry Fonda/Sidney Lumet) can stack up to this (different films but both masterpieces in their own right)
One to put on at night with the rain beating down, the film grips you from start to finish in every respect. Essential viewing for any film fan this will still be watched 100 years from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check Your Insurance Policy !, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] (DVD)
At last , Billy Wilder's work is coming to region 2. This 1944 film noir sees Fred MacMurray playing insurance agent Walter Neff , who becomes involved with black widow - Phyllis Dietrichson (Barbara Stanwyck). Cue: double crossing, hard boiled dialogue , much match striking by human thumb and a scene stealing performance by Edward G Robinson as Barton T Keyes. This film just sizzles along and is not to be missed. Double Indemnity was oscar nominated for best picture and director. Unfortunately it lost out , however , Wilder would return the next year with The Lost Weekend which took best picture , director and actor (Ray Milland). When Billy Wilder died in 2002 the world lost a brillaint film director - thank fully his legacy lives on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOUBLE INDEMNITY, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Jet Lagged (From the above image, obviously somewhere that does dodgy haircuts.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Billy Wilder and Raymond Chandler collaborate. This is their adaptation of James M. Cain's novel.

Eve brings Adam an apple. Two lovers plan a perfect murder. You know it's all going to go wrong. The suspense lies in finding out how.

Smitten by Phyllis, he takes the plunge. Only later does it begin to dawn on insurance salesman Walter Neff that he's been played for a sap.

The classic dialogue - "I thought maybe you were a shade less dumb than the rest of the outfit... You're not smarter, Walter. You're just a little taller".

The device of using the dictaphone is a clever idea to keep the film rushing along and on track. This improved on the book version where Walter makes a written confession. (Chandler, by the way, did not have a high opinion of Cain's writing ability, describing him as "A Proust in dirty overalls.")

Neff's sharing his story with us also adds to the general tension. We become his confidant. We know he is in way too deep. You can hear the narrative bomb ticking. His time is running out.

Run Walter! Run! Run, when there is still yet time!

Watch out for the cameo of Chandler himself. That's him there reading on the balcony.

What's with all the match lighting? The wily veteran Keyes can't quite figure this case out. He's getting closer and closer though.

Searching for some light, he fumbles around for something to light his cigarette with. And Walter is always on hand to provide the lit match.

It's symbolic of course. He supplies the necessary spark of illumination that Keyes lacks. As Keyes lights up, the solution is right there under his very nose. It's standing right there in front of him, yet too near for him to see.

Double Indemnity was nominated for seven academy awards, including Best Screenplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing!, 29 July 2012
By 
J. R. Taylor "MadAboutMovies" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [Masters of Cinema] (Ltd Edition Blu-ray Steelbook) [1944] (Blu-ray)
Firstly I would like to make clear that my one star rating is not for the film itself as it is an excellent movie, I am rating it 1 star for the so called high definition restoration that universal have done. I already own this film on standard DVD which I bought around 10 years ago. I was so exited when I came across this Blu-ray edition and was looking forward to viewing this restored edition, after watching the film I could not believe it was being advertised as a restored edition. I decided to set two TV's up side by side and played both my copies of the film together standard DVD against Blu-ray restored edition. There was absolutely no difference in picture quality, only a very slight improvement in sound quality on the Blu-ray disc. You do get a nice booklet with the Steel book edition the extras are nothing special. Bottom line is if you already own the DVD do not waste your money, if you don't own it and you want the booklet and think that is worth the price difference then that would be the only reason for buying this edition. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Indemnity blu-ray, 1 Sep 2013
This film is in 1:37:1 original aspect and has optional english subtitles.the audio is DTS-HD Mono.the extras are an audio commentary,a making of documentary,a radio adaptation,original trailer and an optional music and effects track.Also included is a 40 page booklet.some reviewers have said that they were disappointed with the picture quality of this blu-ray.I thought that apart from some minor infrequent flickering on the indoor scenes it looks in the main very good.the use of light and shadow and car headlights at night look very sharp.If you like the film I would say that unless you are ultra picky it's definitely worth purchasing on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling but expected more..., 16 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] (DVD)
It is thrilling to see 'Double Indemnity' on DVD in any format or region. It has long been out of print in region 1. The movie does not need praise. It is the best film noir ever created. My only complaint is that there are not extras on this DVD, not even a trailer, let alone a commentary. 'Double Indemnity' definitely deserves a full set of extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film Noir!, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a fan of this classic film, this blu-ray purchase was essential for me! Good extras and a very good booklet enclosed. However, the transfer is not perhaps as good as I expected? I suppose you have to bear in mind that this movie was shot in 1944! That said, the five stars are for the movie itself. I`d give 3 stars only for the transfer. Still highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic, yours to own forever, 29 Mar 2004
This truly is a classic film. The phrase 'they don't make them like that any more' is the first thing that comes to mind.
In this, one of the BEST Film Noirs ever made (next to 1942's The Maletese Falcoln) can still can hold the suspense and tension even in today's world of super budget special effects. MacMurray, Stanwyck and Robinson give outstanding performances as Walter Neff, Phyllis Dietrichson and Barton Keyes respectively. Each of them play the roles to such an excellent standard this film just couldn't be any better or more entertaining. The Femme Fatale, the poor sap who falls for her, and the ever present Keyes, keeping a close eye on proceedings and always has a 'hunch' that something is up gives this film all the characters you'd expect to see in a Film Noir.
Billy Wilder dishes out an outstanding plot that grabs the audience from the first scene, and keeps you glued to the screen until the very last cigarette has been lit and the final word uttered. Even by today's standards, this is a film and a half. Exquisite shots, wonderful chiracuso lighting each frame of this film could fill an art gallery it really is that just spectacular.
If there was only one word to sum up this film, it would have to be 'perfection'.
If you aren't a fan of Film Noir, watch it. Give it a chance, what have you got to lose? However if you are dead against these type of films, go back to your XXX's and your Fast and Furious'. This film is for true film fans, looking for more than just million dollar effects. If you are a Film Noir fan, you probably already know about this wonderful timeless classic, I would recommned you add THIS to your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Indemnity [Masters of Cinema] (Ltd Edition Blu-ray Steelbook) [1944]
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews