Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The emotional games people play
Elizabeth Taylor was adept at charting the emotional games people play, and this book is packed with numerous permutations and combinations on the themes explored in her full length novels, plus much more. These pages testify to a unique imagination as much as her abilities to handle words - what perceptions, what understanding of human nature.
Especially impressive...
Published 24 months ago by Christopher H

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed.
I bought this because it got good reviews.Very disappointed.
I would not recommend this, some of the stories seem to be unfinished.
Published 10 months ago by Rita Foley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The emotional games people play, 23 July 2012
By 
Christopher H (Keilor, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Elizabeth Taylor was adept at charting the emotional games people play, and this book is packed with numerous permutations and combinations on the themes explored in her full length novels, plus much more. These pages testify to a unique imagination as much as her abilities to handle words - what perceptions, what understanding of human nature.
Especially impressive can be the shortest pieces, which are cleverly crafted character studies where conversations reveal the speakers' personalities: the verbal equivalent of minature portraits (at just 2 pages, "Taking Mother Out" is a marvel of concision). Taylor often has these stories start in mid-conversation, and immediately presents how people behave toward each other (everyone fusses around a new mother in "The Light of Day"), showing the social conventions and customs we automatically fall into (the hospital visit in "Mothers"), and the ways of children (every parent would recognise the portrayal of the shopping excursion in "The Little Girl").
Not that this focus on behaviour and emotions means that Taylor lapses in her descriptions of settings when needed (it may be only four lines, but the first paragraph of "For Thine is the Power" succinctly conveys place and time).
Many readers will be surprised at these studies, for they represent a very different aspect of Taylor's creativity from the twisting, skilfully plotted narratives we know through her novels. One appreciates just how major a writer she was.
I have found this book as stimulating and absorbing as reading through the collected stories of Katherine Mansfield, and the complete stories of Flannery O'Connor. There is an emotional universe in here; in these pages I seem to recognise versions of individuals from my own life.
As for the details, there are 64 stories in this large thick volume, which is nearly 630 pages in all. Short stories they certainly are, the author quite adeptly squeezing psychological drama and pithy insights into a few pages. Most of the stories are 8 to 15 pages in length; although the first story, "Hester Lilly", is virtually a novella at 53 pages long.
As the book's descriptor explains, this compilation brings together the four books of stories published in Taylor's lifetime, plus several more added that had only appeared in magazines such as "The New Yorker".
The only drawback to this superb collection is the absence of prior publication details. The years that these stories were written in is nowhere listed, nor the magazines they where first publishing in; nor even the order they appeared in Taylor's previous four books of stories. This is a regrettable oversight, and will hamper efforts to encourage scholarship on this neglected author's work. Readers and scholars really do need to know the dates of stories (which are the earliest?, and which the latest?) in order to understand how this major author's fiction developed and strengthened; and, of course, to position them against the sequence of novels she wrote.

(PS. If you haven't read Elizabeth Taylor's novel A Wreath of Roses yet, then you must get that book, too. And Elizabeth Bowen's Collected Stories (Vintage classics) is also a must. For me they are five major stars as well.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Collection of Wonderful Short Stories, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Stories (VMC Book 171) (Kindle Edition)
This wonderful edition of Elizabeth Taylor's short stories, with an interesting introduction by the author's daughter, includes not only those stories that have appeared in earlier collections, but also those which have previously only appeared in magazines, mostly the 'New Yorker'. Many of Elizabeth Taylor's stories have an autobiographical basis and she is known for writing about situations she was familiar and comfortable with, however, it is not entirely true that Taylor did not venture out of her comfort zone in her writing, as a few of the stories in this book show.

This complete collection contains over sixty short stories; the ones that are more widely known such as the marvellous 'Hester Lilly' which tells the story of a headmaster's sophisticated wife who suffers discomforting feelings of jealousy when her husband's young, gauche cousin comes to stay; 'The Devastating Boys' where an Oxfordshire couple invite two black boys from the East End to their home to give them an experience of life in the country - the boys cause a fair amount of upheaval, but bring unexpected pleasure and rewards; and a particular favourite of mine: 'Girl Reading' about a teenage girl, the daughter of a financially strapped widow, who goes to stay with a school friend from a much wealthier family, which is particularly good. However, there is also the very different 'The Fly Paper' (described by Taylor as being "rather horrible" whilst adding that she did not think anyone would really like it) which later became a rather chilling film.

Elizabeth Taylor is a wonderful writer; she uses language with a subtleness and sensitivity and she is able to portray her characters and their situations with perception, compassion and humour; she describes the dynamics of middle-class family life in the mid twentieth century particularly well and she appears to have an intuitive understanding of the relationship between women and their children. Like most short story collections, some of these stories are more enjoyable than others, however this is an excellent collected edition to keep by you for when you have a few moments to yourself, but maybe not enough time to get involved in a full-length novel - keep it in the car, by the bedside or next to the sofa; download it on your Kindle or order the attractively covered paperback version, but do treat yourself to one. This is a collection that I shall read, re-read and recommend to friends and relations.

5 Stars.

Also recommended by the same author:The Soul of Kindness (Virago Modern Classics); A View Of The Harbour (Virago Modern Classics); Blaming (Virago Modern Classics) and The Sleeping Beauty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in one, 24 May 2013
By 
R. A. Brown (Hove, E.Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Back in the days before Virago, in their green paperbacks, reissued the novels of Elizabeth Taylor, I would hunt for copies in secondhand bookshops, pouncing on them with glee (I did the same for Rosamond Lehmann's and Willa Cather's books). I lifted this heavy volume with more circumspection, having come across most of the stories before in slimmer volumes; but that was a long time ago, and I rightly guessed I could read them afresh with just as much pleasure. I mention this because it seems to me this compendium, so heavy in the hand, so intimidatingly comprehensive (64 stories equals quite a commitment), is aimed more at the devotee than the casual browser or the present buyer. That aside, it's very welcome: I've been reading one or two stories a night for the past few months and shall miss them now I've reached the end: her tone is consoling, her stories often leave you smiling even when tinged with sadness.

It's strange to think that these genteel English stories were written mainly for the American magazine market, they are so very much of their time and place. Transatlantic readers would have received an impression of post-war Britain set in unassuming houses among the middle- and lower-middle classes, in seaside boarding houses, in teashops and department stores, in quiet towns and villages, featuring unremarkable, hidden lives where small events take on great significance and where small betrayals and disappointments reverberate down the years. Perhaps in such a large collection the uniformity of tone, the small canvas on which she works, the lack of narrative surprise, can become a little monotonous, but these are easy, affecting reads that seldom leave you wanting more.

I'd like to see the cream of the stories, those most fully developed and mature, collected in a shorter volume, to show her at her very best - perhaps given the Folio Society treatment, with illustrations.

Taylor is being rediscovered for the second time since her death and is being recognised not just as 'a pleasing voice' (bit condescending that: it was often said of her) but as a major British author (a similar re-evaluation is happening to Daphne du Maurier). Those who want to find out more about her life could do no better than Nicola Beauman's 'The Other Elizabeth Taylor' (as the actor fades from history so the author grows in stature) which is a wonderful read (and contains some interesting surprises too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth Taylor (2), 28 April 2014
By 
K. Way "kenny t" (aros) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found some of the stories quite brilliant and a few others a little disappointing. But on the whole worthwhile. The service to buy was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Read, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Stories (VMC Book 171) (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written short stories, poignant reminder of life in 20th century. It is a treat
to read such well crafted prose, a change from thrown together block busters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting read, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Stories (VMC Book 171) (Kindle Edition)
Every one of these stories is entertaining and thought provoking. Would appeal to anyone who enjoys a stylistically satisfying yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written gems!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Stories (VMC Book 171) (Kindle Edition)
Outstanding collection of stories that cover timeless themes .Recommended to anyone who likes reading examples of good concise English prose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Huge Store, 8 Dec 2012
By 
I. Brammer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only drawback to this excellent collection is that it is overpoweringly large. The variety of the topics covered is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delighted but frustrated, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Stories (VMC Book 171) (Kindle Edition)
So far, I have adored the characters and situations Elizabeth Taylor has created; my frustration is that none of the stories has been extended to a full novel. Elizabeth Taylor's perception of the female character and her observation of the post-war(s) male is extraordinary and, so often, the characters have an unexpected. sense of humour, a saucy side, which feels so contemporary.

One of my Book Club members and I were keen to select this book for review, based on positive reviews in the press; we weren't successful because of the general antipathy towards short stories.

Elizabeth Taylor is a talented writer and it has been a pleasure to discover her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different Elisabeth Taylor, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Short Stories (VMC Book 171) (Kindle Edition)
This collection of short stories are beautifully written set pieces that touch on every human emotion. These witty, poignant, evocative and immensely readable narratives go deep into the heart of what make people tick, love, fall out of love and cope with families,friendships and relationships. I have wanted to read Taylor's work for a while, ever since I heard a review on the radio, and pleased I didn't hesitate any longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Short Stories (VMC Book 171)
9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews