Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely BRILLIANT!!!
I have read all of Mandasue Heller's books and would definitely consider myself a fan. Having said that I haven't loved every book, it almost seems like I either love it or just don't like it at all. Her last book The Driver I seemed to struggle with
but the previous book Two-Faced I loved. With all that in mind I was excited to read her new book but apprehensive to...
Published on 13 April 2012 by Best Crime Books

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mandasue Heller Lost Angel
I chose this book as after finishing Kimberly chambers latest book I had nothing to read and the reviews said it was similar. It wast in the slightest. The characters don't have enough depth and the ending is predicable, That said it is fine for a quick read,I don't think I will try her books again. I will wait for the next Kimberly chambers book.
Published 1 month ago by patmas


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely BRILLIANT!!!, 13 April 2012
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Mandasue Heller's books and would definitely consider myself a fan. Having said that I haven't loved every book, it almost seems like I either love it or just don't like it at all. Her last book The Driver I seemed to struggle with
but the previous book Two-Faced I loved. With all that in mind I was excited to read her new book but apprehensive to see whether I would like it. Many people over the last few years have compared her to the likes of Martina Cole and this book just proves that she is in my opinion better than Martina Cole.

Johnny Conroy is a young lad who is typically enjoying life and when he meets Ruth Hynes he takes his chances. What he doesn't account for is that the infamous hard man Frankie Hynes daughter will fall pregnant. Before he knows it he is part of the Hynes lives and is married with a baby on the way.

The first portion of the book is like Mandasue's early books and was absolutely brilliant. We meet Ruth and her parents Frankie and Rita. Johnny, for all his faults, is a great character and before long you can't help feeling sorry for his sudden immersion into Frankie Hyne's business and his gloomy marriage to Ruth.

The book moves on over the years and in total we see Johnny's life over twenty years. There was something easy to read about the way it was written and we see enough of what goes on in blocks of time, to make you feel like you are moving in time along with the family.

Johnny's daughter Angel comes along and becomes the light of Johnny's life and all the time he is constantly progressing and improving the family business. Along the way we see Johnny's friend Dave and Ruth's cousin Lisa integrate themselves into the story making for some extra added story threads. Before long the book moves us into Angel's younger years before finally arriving at her teenage years where she becomes involved with one of Johnny's workers Ryan.

That in itself causes major problems and before long it seems like they have all come full circle. The book had me reading well into the night and when I finally got to the climax of the story well into the early hours I was blown away.

The book itself was what I would describe as old school Mandasue and was so easy and enjoyable to read. What I didn't account for was the shocking twist at the end that had me reading on in disbelief. I can honestly say that this is one of her best and is an absolute corker of a read.

All those Mandasue Heller fans will certainly not be disappointed as we see her make a return to her brilliant skills as an absolutely exceptional writer. This one is certainly a book you will want to get your hands on as soon as it's released and I for one recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, read it in one night, 8 April 2012
By 
Angie Mcewen "asbo" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Angel (Hardcover)
Brilliant book, massive difference from the last book The Driver which very much lacked the usual Heller theme and captivation. This book is a great read, although a little predictive at times...it doesnt take away from the story and still captivates the reader. Good characters too and very faced paced, a few loose ends left untied at the end when the epilogue is reached but still a good book, im sure you'll enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Read!, 23 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
Thouroughly brilliant read ! Lost Angel had me awake into the small hours to finish it - fast paced plot that grips the reader, I couldn't put it down! It feels different to read as it is a 'straight through' story without referring back to other incidents or concurrent stories, refreshing for the reader.
I haven't read all Mandasue's work but having read The Driver, I was eager to read her new book and pleasantly suprised by how different it was. I will be catching up with her other work now.
Will be waiting for her new book - get scribing Mandasue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOST ANGEL, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
Mandasue Heller's latest novel will not fail to please regular readers, but is highly recommended to new readers as well. I think I have read all her novels and would definitely rate this as one of her finest yet. There were twists and turns constantly, and Heller keeps the reader on the edge of their seat right to the very end of this one. I found it hard to put down as each new twist in the story unfolded. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mandasue does it again....Brilliant, 10 May 2012
This review is from: Lost Angel (Hardcover)
I have read all of Mandasue's books, and have to say Lost Angel is her best to date. Lost angel manages to keep the reader engrossed to the last page, in my case I read it in a day, as I did not want to put it down. Mandasue manages to keep the story flowing throughout, so no need to skip bits out. The characters are well written and believable. Towards the end of the book I did wonder where lost Angel was heading, and then came the shocking twist, brilliant and well thought out. If you read one book this summer, make sure you read Lost Angel you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic read, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
When I started reading this book I was hooked and very reluctant to stop reading. Its is Mandasue Heller at her best. The suspense in the book keeps you guessing. The characters were well developed. The only criticism I have is the ending could have been better explained. I hate giving away plots of storylines but I highly recommend this book to all Martina Cole fans - this is how it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 April 2012
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
story keeps u gripped throughout and u really care about the characters. like martina cole's early stuff ie when she was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
What can i say another brilliant book By Mandasue Heller read it in 1 day couldnt put it down dragged me right in then left me wanting more at the end :-) A must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
couldnt put this down a quick easy enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Angel, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Angel (Kindle Edition)
This is a really good read from start to finish with so many twists it keeps you on your toes right up to the end Bob Mitchell Reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Angel
Lost Angel by Mandasue Heller
5.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews