Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous !
I have seen many, many goals scored at Anfield over the years, by players including Ian Rush, Michael Owen, Robbie Folwer and Fernando Torres, but the one that will remain forever in my memory is one scored by Didi. An absolute belter of a shot at the Anfield Road end against Man City - beautiful ! It goes without saying that I'm interested in reading autobiographies of...
Published on 15 Feb. 2012 by sparkinthedark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
Good in places but would have enjoyed a little bit more depth in others, especially things from DH life outside of football.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didi Hamman Do Do Do Do Do, 3 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Didi Man (Hardcover)
This autobiography is an absolute belter. I received this book after a long spell in hospital and it has cheered me up no end. I'm not a great fan of autobiographies generally (see my review of David Speedie's carcrash of an effort) but this has been well written, it is incisive, and at times, hilarious. It has also been meticulously researched which is a credit to the man himself and reflects his character on the field.
Some books suffer in translation but this doesn't - not one bit. It will entertain fans of Liverpool (the football club and the City), Germany (the football club and less so the Country) and Football (generally). I can't recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
A really good read thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, not just for supporters of Liverpool. Written in an easy and interesting manner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 31 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Paperback)
Well written, never less than interesting, often hilarious, always thoughtful, this is a footballing memoir to savour. Didi Hamann follows in the footsteps of other Liverpool greats like The Cultural Attache for Bootle, Tommy Smith and Phil Thompson by producing a book that's worth every penny. Highly recommended by one who's not a Liverpool supporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great read, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and after watching the under 21 tournament felt like sending a copy to the FA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didi, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Paperback)
Brilliant read he was a brilliant footballer with a great sense of humour and such a great accent as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is only one Kaiser, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
DH was a no nonsense player and is the same in life as his stint on Talk Sport with the fantastic Colin Murry will testify to you don't miss it ,l bought his book on the strength of the Kaiser,s views of life and football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red legend, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
One of the best reads I've had in ages, Didi keeps you gripped from start to finish, I laughed out loud with the Carra tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great fight-back., 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
When Didi finally came on at half time in the 2005 Champions League Final he was one of the main reasons for the great fight back. When he was omitted from the starting line up I could hardly believe it. In my opinion it was gross stupidity. When it came to penalties you knew that Germans do not miss. 5-3 is a great score line to hold up to whom all Liverpool supporters know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Didi Man, 5 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
One of the most influential and one of the most understated players in Rafa Benitez side, gives his take. And most memorably, his role in the European Cup Final in 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 30 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
Even if you are not a Liverpool fan (which I am!) this is a really good, amusing read. Didi, a Top man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Didi Man
The Didi Man by Dietmar Hamann
£4.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews