Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous !
I have seen many, many goals scored at Anfield over the years, by players including Ian Rush, Michael Owen, Robbie Folwer and Fernando Torres, but the one that will remain forever in my memory is one scored by Didi. An absolute belter of a shot at the Anfield Road end against Man City - beautiful ! It goes without saying that I'm interested in reading autobiographies of...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by sparkinthedark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
Good in places but would have enjoyed a little bit more depth in others, especially things from DH life outside of football.
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous !, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Didi Man (Hardcover)
I have seen many, many goals scored at Anfield over the years, by players including Ian Rush, Michael Owen, Robbie Folwer and Fernando Torres, but the one that will remain forever in my memory is one scored by Didi. An absolute belter of a shot at the Anfield Road end against Man City - beautiful ! It goes without saying that I'm interested in reading autobiographies of our Liverpool players to find out what makes them tick and what they're like as people. Some have changed my initial perceptions of the player in question, some for the better, others not. Didi though comes over pretty much as I imagined - intelligent, thoughtful, pragmatic but with a sense of fun and humour that may well surprise many people. As expected we get insights into some of his colleagues at Liverpool and the German national team but there is more to this book than just a quick jog through his career, which makes it one of the more interesting football autobiographies I have read. It is a very easy, entertaining and humourous read - I finished the book in two days - and one I undoubtedly come back to and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one Didi!, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Didi Man (Hardcover)
Didi Hamann is the footballer I always wanted to be. He didn't let the professional game interfere with his drinking and smoking lifestyle, he seemed at times to loaf around the pitch like on a Sunday morning stroll, yet time and again he convinced some of the best managers in European football that he deserved a starting place in the team. He also happens to have lived the ultimate dream of coming on at half-time in a European Cup Final when your side is 3-0 down and being responsible for the greatest comeback of all time. He may not have scored the winner or captured the headlines, but every Liverpool fan knows what he did, which is why he is held in such high regard as a true Liverpool legend.

This book echoes the affection in which Didi is held. It is not your typical trawl through events that some sports autobiographies are, but it is written with warmth and honesty and is surprisingly funny. His insights and thoughts about the key moments of his life and career are told with colourful wit and German charm, yet he is also not afraid to express his opinion about the frailties in the English national team and its culture. He opens the door into the Liverpool and Manchester City changing rooms, providing a glimpse into the characters and styles of Benitez, Sven, Houllier and Hughes and also takes you down a few dark alley-ways into the late-night clubs with Carragher and Co.

The book brings you right up to date, covering his short spell in management at Stockport County. And you get the feeling that with his knowledge and passion for the game his story, particularly in management, is only just beginning. I await with intrigue to see where his next move will be.

For a German footballer to come over and embrace himself into the English life and culture as he has done he has to be admired. I read this book in two days and loved it. Nice one Didi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didi the legend, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
Didn't know what I was going to get when I purchased the didi
man but it turned out to be a cracking read and gave a good insight to the life of a footballer and his journey from playing on the world's greatest stage to the lower leagues.

Honest and full of humour and opinion, didi has a fall back as a writer if he doesn't make it as a manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth A Read., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
It is interesting to see a foreigners perspective of his life in England and our game.It was very enlightening read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool Legend!!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Kindle Edition)
Great book a real page turner, I read over 150 pages in the first sitting as I couldn't put it down, Very funny bloke for a german! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My hero, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. H. Choudhuri (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Paperback)
This is a fantastic read so far. It fascinating to read how players percieve different managers and learnm about what goes on behind the scene. Loving this book so far and I'm hooked

YNWA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great read, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and after watching the under 21 tournament felt like sending a copy to the FA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously Entertaining, 3 May 2013
By 
Didi Sartat (Chester, Chesire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Paperback)
I personally love reading autobiographies written by my favorite athletes, and after reading Jamie Carragher's "Carra" i doubted any autobiography would be as good but the Didi Man was just that. I loved how he addressed his experiences just like any fan would. The way he approached writing this book would made any fan love him more, because time and time again he mirrored our feelings and his genuine affection towards the team just made me love and appreciate him more. Love it! Would definitely recommend it as a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, interesting and well written, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Didi Man (Hardcover)
This book tells tales of many highs, and also accounts for some of his lows.

It comes with a humour you wouldn't associate with someone German, but is extremely funny.

It's a good read and offers an opinion into the success and experiences the Kaiser's career. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definition of the model professional, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Didi Man (Hardcover)
Didi oozes absolute class. A true professional, & liverpool legend. His philosophy is spot on, I couldn't agree more with him regarding the England team. It will take generations because we simply believe we are better than we are, & hype players up before they have even achieved anything. Quite simply, the German philosophy is bang on & its results (economy, low unemployment, success in sports, etc) speaks for itself. Didi will no doubt go on to to become a great manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Didi Man
The Didi Man by Dietmar Hamann
£4.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews