Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demythologizes John Lennon's First Marriage
Before John Lennon cheated on his first wife Cynthia and left her and their son Julian, they had what seems to have been a generally loving marriage. This book demythologizes John, and his first marriage.
"John" by Cynthia Lennon is the story about who they were before they met, about Cynthia's marriage to the famous Beatle, how John ran off with Yoko, and...
Published on 31 Dec. 2005 by A.Trendl HungarianBookstore.com

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but interesting
This proves an interesting read for John Lennon-ophiles. However, Cynthia Lennon comes across as something of a unreliable narrator who does not have the facility to understand the complex man John was, nor have any idea what he was really up to.

In 'John' Cynthia unwittingly paints a picture of herself as a naive young lass sat at home with the baby, believing...
Published on 12 Dec. 2010 by lularose


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I'm imaganing, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Paperback)
An un known insight that know one was awear about in to his life, marrage, and road to fame that was often kept away from the public eye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Audio CD)
great for a present especially for hubby cant wait to do house work listening to this saves sitting still two things at once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an informative read, 29 Dec. 2008
By 
D. Moses (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John (Hardcover)
An excellent book written by Cynthia. It gives you some real insight into the man John Lennon and how unspeakably cruel he could be. I feel sympathy for Cynthia, as she seemed to put up with harshness from many angles. Aunt Mimi comes across as a viper and it is interesting to see how she just could not find love.

A couple of gripes though. Firstly the parts where she is giving first hand evidence are addictive and unsurpassable. But she gives a lot of second hand evidence, that is a little pointless to me. For example, she goes into the factual details about events she was not even present at. (Such as John's death).

Secondly, there are factual errors in the book. 'All my loving' was written for her by John? No, it is well documented this is the first Paul song that he wrote the lyrics for first. John didn't even collaborate on it. She also mentions that Penny Lane/Strawberry Fields Forever got to number 1? But it was kept off the top spot by Humperdink! Everyone knows that!

Still an excellent read. I couldn't put it down and really feel what she was going through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars was great to read about John's life from Cynthia's point of ..., 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Kindle Edition)
This is a brill book, was great to read about John's life from Cynthia's point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 8 Jun. 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John (Paperback)
This is Cynthia Lennon's second book about her ex-husband. The first (A Twist of Lennon) was short, pointless, and boring. This one is longer, contains lots of details, but is still boring in parts.

Cynthia describes her youth and love affair with fellow art student John in a monotone voice, with no emotional fervor whatever. Their long separations as John became famous and his growing drug use caused problems, but you don't feel it from her bland writing. It's only when the hated Yoko Ono enters the story that the narrative heats up, and even then it's fairly tepid. Ono is described as a conniving witch who cast a spell over John and made him abandon not only Cynthia, but their young son as well.

There are many candid photos of Cynthia and John but very little about the Beatles, so if you're looking for inside stuff about the Fab Four, keep looking. When Cynthia does write about Paul, George, or Ringo, it's like they weren't all that important to her. We get much more detail about her family and John's family, and the whole Beatles era is described with less passion than one would read in a newspaper account.

I was hoping for more, but the book is written with a oddly uninvolved voice and there are occasional awkward sentences. A better editor or a ghost writer might have brought more life to this story that should have been engrossing, but instead is just okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cynthia & John, 24 Sept. 2009
This review is from: John (Paperback)
An interesting read that ocasionally veers towards bland. I read the autobiography of Patti Boyd and felt the same way towards her as I did with Cynthia. Slight exasperation and the thought of maybe she should have lost her temper a few more times with her husband and stopped being a doormat.

That aside Cynthia comes across as a very caring person with a remarkable capacity for forgiveness and a strong work ethic, but the book does not really come up with anything new for Beatles fans

I do find it staggering though how conniving, scheming and manipulative Yoko Ono was. Give John's family their inheritance Yoko. How Do You Sleep?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEFINITELY A LENNON FAN "MUST READ" !, 23 May 2009
By 
This review is from: John (Paperback)
This was truly an in depth depiction of my favorite Beatle's life with
his first wife, Cynthia. And, although I am a slow reader, I found it
very difficult to put this book down, and I read it within a week. Cynthia
tells it like it was! The thing that struck me most was the fact that
Yoko was the one who persistently and sneakily pursued after John and SHE was the one who
broke up Cynthia's marriage, causing hell for her and her family, the Beatles practice & recording sessions; and revealed to me Yoko's selfish & inconsiderate monetary motives before and after John's death. Yoko was ballsy, bold, & ballistic; dominating and heartless, not to mention STRANGE in general!!! Book reveals a very heartless attitude of Yoko's treatment of her step son Julian; and any pictures I see of Julian, young or older, I can still see the hurt in the eyes from not only the strained relationship with his dad, but the nasty treatment from Yoko. After reading this book, my attitude towards Yoko has left me with not one ounce of respect for her. The woman is pure evil and a total wierdo. It's a shame also that Yoko didn't respect any of John's wishes after his death. I hope she ends up with a shopping cart and a Hefty bag on the street and sleeps over a heater grate on one of the sidewalks of New York one day. That's all she deserves. Too bad Chapman didn't miss and hit Yoko with some or all of those bullets. -----Michelle from Delco, Pa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Kindle Edition)
a good insight into the real JOHN LENNON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Audio CD)
pleased with item thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Hardcover)
Just right, good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John
John by Cynthia Lennon
£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews