Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In John's Life
I have loved the Beatles since I was 3 and have been a rabid, inveterate fan and Beatle expert since I was 11. It is not surprising that I have an extensive Beatles' library and have read many books about the Beatles, individually and as a group for many years.
John Lennon, aka the Chief Beatle, was a prominent figure in every sense of the word. He left an indelible...
Published on 24 Oct. 2005 by BeatleBangs1964

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but interesting
This proves an interesting read for John Lennon-ophiles. However, Cynthia Lennon comes across as something of a unreliable narrator who does not have the facility to understand the complex man John was, nor have any idea what he was really up to.

In 'John' Cynthia unwittingly paints a picture of herself as a naive young lass sat at home with the baby, believing...
Published on 12 Dec. 2010 by lularose


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cynthia & John, 24 Sept. 2009
This review is from: John (Paperback)
An interesting read that ocasionally veers towards bland. I read the autobiography of Patti Boyd and felt the same way towards her as I did with Cynthia. Slight exasperation and the thought of maybe she should have lost her temper a few more times with her husband and stopped being a doormat.

That aside Cynthia comes across as a very caring person with a remarkable capacity for forgiveness and a strong work ethic, but the book does not really come up with anything new for Beatles fans

I do find it staggering though how conniving, scheming and manipulative Yoko Ono was. Give John's family their inheritance Yoko. How Do You Sleep?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Audio CD)
pleased with item thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Hardcover)
Just right, good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEFINITELY A LENNON FAN "MUST READ" !, 23 May 2009
By 
This review is from: John (Paperback)
This was truly an in depth depiction of my favorite Beatle's life with
his first wife, Cynthia. And, although I am a slow reader, I found it
very difficult to put this book down, and I read it within a week. Cynthia
tells it like it was! The thing that struck me most was the fact that
Yoko was the one who persistently and sneakily pursued after John and SHE was the one who
broke up Cynthia's marriage, causing hell for her and her family, the Beatles practice & recording sessions; and revealed to me Yoko's selfish & inconsiderate monetary motives before and after John's death. Yoko was ballsy, bold, & ballistic; dominating and heartless, not to mention STRANGE in general!!! Book reveals a very heartless attitude of Yoko's treatment of her step son Julian; and any pictures I see of Julian, young or older, I can still see the hurt in the eyes from not only the strained relationship with his dad, but the nasty treatment from Yoko. After reading this book, my attitude towards Yoko has left me with not one ounce of respect for her. The woman is pure evil and a total wierdo. It's a shame also that Yoko didn't respect any of John's wishes after his death. I hope she ends up with a shopping cart and a Hefty bag on the street and sleeps over a heater grate on one of the sidewalks of New York one day. That's all she deserves. Too bad Chapman didn't miss and hit Yoko with some or all of those bullets. -----Michelle from Delco, Pa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 15 Mar. 2012
This review is from: John (Paperback)
this book is a must have for all beatles/ john lennon fans. it is packed full with exiting things and its almost inpossible to put down. i bought this for my 10 year old son and he loves the beatles and he loves this book. he says every page is exiting. not one sentence is boring and it tells you almost everything. nothing bad about it. nothing disapointing and beutifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cynthia's "John", 18 Oct. 2010
This review is from: John (Paperback)
I grew up in the fifties and sixties and no doubt like many others of my age group was greatly influenced by the Beatles and their music. Personally I have had difficulty through my life evaluating this influence. Reading Cynthia's book has been valuable to me. The book has the ring of truth. For me it has stripped away the layers of mystique that existed in my mind and helped me to understand that the Beatles were talented people definitely, but ordinary nevertheless.
A very good and interesting read.
My gratitude to Cynthia Lennon for writing this book and allowing us a view into her life and the life of her son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Kindle Edition)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER AMAZING MAN, A MUST READ, 12 April 2006
By 
Sue Mitchell "bellisimarosina" (ESSEX UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John (Audio CD)
THIS BOOK IS BASED ON THE LIFE OF JOHN LENNON WRITTEN BY HIS FIRST WIFE CYNTHIA LENNON. WITH GREAT DIGNITY AND SYMPATHY CYNTHIA LENNON DISCUSSES HER LIFE WITH JOHN, THE FAME HE ACHIVED AND THE TREATMENT SHE AND HER BELOVED SON JULIAN RECIVED AT THE HANDS OF YOKO ONO BOTH BEFORE AND AFTER HIS TRAGICALLY EARLY DEATH.

SHE DISCUSSED HER SON HIS TALENTS HOPES AND AMBITIONS AND TALKED OF THE NEGLECT HE SUFFERED AT THE HANDS OF HIS FATHER AFTER HIS MARRIAGE TO YOKO ONO AND OF HOW TRAGICALLY THEY WERE JUST REBUILDING A STRONG BOND WHEN HIS LIFE WAS SO TRAGICALLY ENDED.

SHE DISCUSSED WITH GREAT HONESTY AND COMPASSION HERS AND JOHNS DIVORCE THE HONESTY ALMOST DISARMING IN A WAY AND BOUGHT TEARS TO THIS READERS EYES, SHE ALSO WITH DEVEASTATING HONESTY TALKED OF THE TREATMENT SHE RECIVED AFTER THEIR DIVORCE

THE AREAS INVOLVING YOKO ONO WERE DISARMING BUT THE BITTERNESS OF HOW HER SON WAS TREATED STREAM THROUGH THE WRITTING AND THE UNJUST TREATMENT THEY BOTH ENDURED

DONT THINK THE BOOK IS ALL DOOM AND GLOOM ITS A WELL WRITTEN, INSIGHTFUL AND HONEST ACCOUNT OF ONE AMAZING LADIES RELATIONSHIP WITH AN EQUALLY AMAZING MAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John (Paperback)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John
John by Cynthia Lennon
£4.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews