Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More teachers should not only read this but emulate its message
Sugata's Message seems simple we learn better, when not being taught. Encouraged to ask questions and research the answers My first best book of the computer age thank goodness its an Ebook and hopefully will never go out of date.
D. Carpenter
Published 17 months ago by Derek Carpenter

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining evangelist- but that's about all I get.
Sugata Mitra is a very entertaining speaker(see his video) with an evangelical zeal for SOLE(self organised learning experience). Trouble is, like all other educationalists wanting to make a name for themselves he makes (to me ridiculously) controversial statements..."who needs arithmetic? who needs spelling?" Answer nobody-they look it up on their computer...
Published 3 months ago by Andrew K Burns-Mollison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More teachers should not only read this but emulate its message, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Sugata's Message seems simple we learn better, when not being taught. Encouraged to ask questions and research the answers My first best book of the computer age thank goodness its an Ebook and hopefully will never go out of date.
D. Carpenter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of teaching in a few pages, 27 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
As the current Government prepares to be swamped by ideas on the future direction of ICT and learning, they could do a lot worse by putting most of it in a shredder and picking out this small electronic pamphlet as the cornerstone of the way ahead. Of course they won't. Suggesting that kids might work better in groups without specialised teachers and 4 to a machine! What would the entire education establishment and its techie suppliers do then?

However, if you teach I recommend you read (it'll take 2 hours) and try out some of ideas. I've done so. They work. Only I can't see OFSTED being too impressed with my no-part no plenary lesson plan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a fun read with great stories to inspire self organised learning. Shame it is so short and I am missing a more guided introduction in how this can be used in a home environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet additional background material for Sugatra Mitra's groundbreaking teaching and ideas. (SOLE), 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Although this is a very short book, it does go into some more detail of the methodology and uses of Sugatra's ground breaking new teaching. I would also recommend checking out his TED talk and maybe getting involved in a SOLE project if you feel that it is worth pursuing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
If you are a teacher you will need to read this book! Education is changing fast and this book tells us how technology is changing the way children learn, with dramatic results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on learning I have read, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
An amazing book that turned everything I thought I knew about how children learn upside down. These idea, I hope, start a quiet revolution in education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining evangelist- but that's about all I get., 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Sugata Mitra is a very entertaining speaker(see his video) with an evangelical zeal for SOLE(self organised learning experience). Trouble is, like all other educationalists wanting to make a name for themselves he makes (to me ridiculously) controversial statements..."who needs arithmetic? who needs spelling?" Answer nobody-they look it up on their computer.

Of course those who budget for education are always suckers for the type of approach he espouses.... let the learners discover for themselves by using the internet. It conjures up an enticing future where there is no need for expensive schools and colleges with their expensive teachers and professors. All that money could be spent on something else.

Actually I cannot see University admissions officers being impressed by students following this route-not when many of them are still embedded in an era where even a highly qualified postgraduate can't develop their careers by taking a medical degree if they didn't get GCSE (or O levels) in English Language and Maths donkeys years ago.
Sorry Sugata- highly entertaining - but that's all. Seen it all before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting. Anybody in teaching should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books) (Kindle Edition)
a thought provoking booklet, shame it is not longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews