Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series is evolving into something great!!!!
I have been a fan of Resident Evil for many years; all started with RE3 Nemesis (I was too young to understand sequels lol), and eventually played 1 through 6. There has been many disagreements with fans saying that the series has become more action than horror.

I disagree; the right genre-term is Action Horror which I applaud Capcom. Resident Evil 6 is a...
Published 4 months ago by Mr Mallen D Burgess

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars remember resident evil!
I paid full price for this game and is the worst game i have ever played in the res series. its not res anymore its like playing cod or another shooter. i wish they would just remake 1 2 and 3 they would sell a lot more and appeal to real res fans who loved res for what it was a survival horror. Remember getting lost in the mansion trying to find keys/ trying to save...
Published 18 months ago by bring back resident evil!


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series is evolving into something great!!!!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have been a fan of Resident Evil for many years; all started with RE3 Nemesis (I was too young to understand sequels lol), and eventually played 1 through 6. There has been many disagreements with fans saying that the series has become more action than horror.

I disagree; the right genre-term is Action Horror which I applaud Capcom. Resident Evil 6 is a fantastic mixture of Horror and Action mixed with a few surprises (returning characters and new ones too). The gameplay took some getting used to but love it, the graphics I will admit have declined since RE5 (it's graphics were amazing), but graphics don't make a game. Anyway, the new enemies will keep you on your toes and will surprise you.

Lastly; I don't care what other people say, I love the series no matter what direction it takes and will continue to play it. If your a fan of Resident Evil regardless of it's genre, then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars remember resident evil!, 4 Jan 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I paid full price for this game and is the worst game i have ever played in the res series. its not res anymore its like playing cod or another shooter. i wish they would just remake 1 2 and 3 they would sell a lot more and appeal to real res fans who loved res for what it was a survival horror. Remember getting lost in the mansion trying to find keys/ trying to save ammo. the games were at their best when they were like this. resident evil 6 and 5 and that spin off operation racoon city told us that capcom dont care anymore. If you like res for what is was then dont buy this/ if you like shooters or if your 10 you will like it. not scary and about as challenging as spreading butter could complete with your eyes shut.
i have tried stick up for res since the good old days hence being a very big fan but even i have had enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil...... SUX, 5 Nov 2012
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Introduction
2009's Resident Evil 5's premise was first seen as questionable - swapping the dark and murky streets of Raccoon city, the grim n' grey surroundings of 4, - in favour of the scorching terrain of africa. Despite the lack of horror and thrills, its action was unrivalled and was a blockbuster title - punching boulders into volcanos and all. Yet no.6 tries to go one further... or 3 further, as this time there are initially 3 campaigns to scour through, each one consisting of 5 chapters that are far longer than the average level time of 5's. The 3 campaigns also have intertwining stories to tie up loose ends and offer up different situations that probably could have been crammed into one anyway. Despite the many changes, 6 is unlikely to appease the fans of the series, be it from day one with 3 playstation releases, spin offs or the latest offerings. Although... if you're morose enough to hold the resident evil film franchise in high regard, you'll likely have your little mind blown away...

Gameplay
To start, you get to limp through a fairly eventful tutorial - based at the end of the story. This 5 minute tidbit is enough to prepare you for what's in store in jerky controls, scarce ammo and at times, inappropriate button bashing. The likes of 4 & 5 managed to pull this off well, keeping players focused during cutscenes and desperately mashing controllers to take down big bad bosses and even speed up the fights. 6 however, would rather you frantically search for a set of car keys, hopelessly put them in the ignition slot and start the engine with jittery hands as if cutting the correct wire on an explosive device. Fair enough, that was the most pointless and annoying moments of this button sequence thing but there are some satisfactory button sequences. Combat may seem a step in the right direction as now you can move whilst shooting, strafing about all over the place, firing on your back or front for unnecessary bad-assery. The games cover system though is, put simply, broken. You'll find yourself unwillingly snuggled up to a wall or pillar thats still in plain sight of enemies fire away as you frantically try to figure out 1. how to free yourself from said wall an 2. how you took 'cover' in the first place. Of course, when it comes to weaponry... '''forgeddabowdit!'''

Story
Resident Evil's haven't exactly been groundbreaking when it comes to storyline, evil company makes virus, virus breaks out, zombies ensue (Capcom can add as many backlog extras and insights to plot as they want but its still a bit of a joke). Instead of pushing another lame story, 6 is geared towards the happenings of the games main characters. Leon (from 4) prances about, brushing his hair out his eyes, accompanied by some angry lady called Helena (no not Helena - HELAYNAR..???). Chris (from 5) is drinking his troubles away in mega cliche fashion, getting shot down by barmaids, zombies and disgustingly offensive camera angles. Anything said about this new guy Jake's campaign would be a spoiler. Thanks to the differing campaigns, players can journey through burning urban concrete jungles, mirky underground subways and tombs.

What they kept, what they changed, what the hell

Co-op
Like its predecessor, 6 features cooperative gameplay for 2, utilizing teamwork slightly more efficiently and in more original and even realistic ways (such as providing support from long distance). However for every answer lies another question - why add gestures and signals? 5 let you press a button to respond to your partner - 6 lets you swagger a thumb about proclaiming "Thanks!" and several other pointless schmaltz - there is zero benefit to these actions other than general politeness - something long dead when there's a zombie apocalypse going on ya dig?

Controls
The Res series has never had a decent set of controls - ever - and this is dating back to the original. The need to hold buttons or use combinations to perform basic tasks commonplace in similar games were a chore but worth overlooking back then. Now in an age that boasts far greater capabilities, 6 is expected to be slightly better than those of its past - it aint. No pause menu, an obscuring jostled menu, 3 button basic moves and the option to use melee - something you could probably get away with using throughout instead of firing a single bullet.

Genre
By far the biggest atrocity committed by Capcom and their sixth installment in a once loved franchise is the blatant attempt at acquiring a new, larger audience, the kind of folk who're amazed by the special effects, dazzled by explosions and care little for fun and engaging gameplay. The shaky camera, abundance of firearms and cover system impart influences from Gears of War & Call of Duty. The dog tag and special abilities at the end of chapters are just forgettable and generally not worth bothering with.

Summary
I unfortunately pre-ordered this game, paying full RRP, expecting a quality gaming experience. When I got home after work, I headed straight for my mates who is equally into the RES series and played through the first chapter in Leon's campaign. It took us a good few hours each weekend to get it done, but by the end I was all by my lonesome on the final chapter as my friend had given up all hope of finding any enjoyment in the game. I wish I had called it quits also as I had to trudge through a long, drawn out uninteresting conclusion to a severely disappointing game... one that should of and could of met its lofty hype and expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 28 May 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
One of the most frustrating games I've ever played and I've been playing games since the spectrum

Pros:

1. Can play co-op split-screen

2. Good graphics

3. Can share items quickly

4. Good in-game communications system

5. Good voice Acting

6. Decent selection of weapons

7. Good sound effects and music

Cons:

1. More like an interactive movie than a game

2. Chris's chapter there is not enough ammo and seems heavily influenced by gears of war

3. Way too many cut scenes and cut scenes interrupting game play

4. Split screen doesn't allow you the full half of the screen like in halo

5. Enemy's hitting you when you can't move after a cut scene

6. Over acted animations and constantly tripping over zombies on the floor what were they thinking!

7. Slow controls allows enemy's to attack you easily if you miss with a melee attack

8. Bad camera angles

9. Large sections with no enemy's to fight

10. Play through the same parts on other peoples stories

11. No weapon upgrades or ability to buy different weapons

12. Way too many Hollywood holding onto someone while they're dangling over the edge moments

13. Enemy's hitting you when it's unavoidable

14. Unable to hip fire apart from the quick shot move
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 6, 11 Dec 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a a fan of the series and this just didn't do it for me. The graphics aren't ground breaking, the controls feel clunky, I didn't feel connected to the characters and it was very linear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resident Eeevil...6., 20 Oct 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm not really the biggest Resident evil fan. I played some of the remake on gamecube, Resident evil 2, some of 3. Completed 4 and played Co-op round a friends house with 5. I didn't like 5 in terms of it as Resident Evil, but still got certain enjoyment out of it while playing with my friend so in many ways, I was actually looking forward to Resident Evil 6 as I had a friend to play with (Co-op online)and this was a possible step in to older territory of the series.

I have now Completed all 4 campaigns (On Veteran) and overall, I think this is a solid entry. Resident Evil 6 is lengthy. All campaigns have 5 acts and they can last up to nearly an hour or longer. I thought it was a great idea to play around with campaigns to get a bit of everything, while this is some what exciting to play and see for yourself. Afterwards you do feel it has a bit of an identity crisis. As if, they are not really sure where exactly to follow, or to add in as much as they can of everything, and try to please the mass. It's a shame because if they really did follow their older roots known as "Survival horror" I think Capcom would be rather surprised with the reception if executed well. Here is an attempt to breakdown each campaign:

Leon - This was easily the strongest campaign and you can tell it was an attempt to show they can still pull of some old school. The beginning feels very promising, real atmospheric, great lighting and environment. Soon it picks up in to the action we are now familiar with. It has moments of going between quiet periods to blown out action and has a couple scary/jumpy moments. It all seems rather enjoyable and almost too good to be true, thinking to myself "Why did this game receive mediocre reviews? I'm loving it!" Then the last chapter happened. A villain, who you encounter many times in many transformations...sadly it drags. One in involving a train is great, and one on a bridge/building where I believe it should of ended and would have been a near perfect experience in my opinion...but, it didn't end there and dragged, and got a little silly. This is where the whole quantity over quality felt applicable here.

Chris - Now I found this one easily the weakest. As much as I don't like to compare, but a bit of a third person military, gears of was style killed this for me, but as time went on, I accepted it's attempted style and started to enjoy it. Chris's campaign actually has some very cool/memorable moments. A huge snake and the ending boss were so enjoyable, that if it had more of those moments, it would have outweighed the dragged out, hold your ground and shoot moments. The character development in this story is somewhat good (Cheesy, of course).

Jake - This was much, much better than Chris's campaign. It takes two rather interesting characters and creates a great chemistry throughout the campaign. This is rather action oriented, like all the campaigns, and it would of felt very similar to Chris's had it not been carrying so much suspense! It takes a bit of a Nemesis inspiration where in a lot of the game, you are being hunted down by something or another. Some things being more scary (as can be) and some that a pretty funny...such as a tank. While the thing I just mentioned might put a frown on a lot of faces, my friend and I just took it for what it was and had a good chuckle while sometimes being like "Oh shii!.." This was similar to Leon's in the sense most of the campaign was great, but at times dragged a little or had some moments were you think it would of been much better left out.

Ada (by completing all 3 campaigns.) - I was surprised to find out this was also 5 acts long as the rest. And considering the story in Resident Evil 6. YOU WANT TO KNOW what the hell is going on with Ada Wong! So I was rather excited to leap in. This was the single player campaign, however I hear an update will include co-op. Anyway, this was nothing memorable for the most part. Just crossing paths with many of the other characters from her point of view, but just not all that interesting. It gives you some answers, but just more of the classic, leaving more questions than anything. Pretty much this has one good act, and I found it to be seriously creepy...if not the creepiest part in the whole game!

It's interesting if you watch the Resident evil 6 team talk about their ideas when making 6. They were thinking of killing off Chris but didn't know how to go about it. They were planning to make Ada in to multiple clones, while some of these ideas were forgotten quick. It's more the point where you think, do they really know what they want to do with this series anymore? Adding more story and more waste.

While you can tell this is a very big, ambitious, experimental title in RE, and for the most part is a solid game. It just isn't solid in terms of Resident evil. I say this because as mentioned, I feel they don't quite know what to do themselves and what real direction they want to take the franchise. Overall, while this has horror aspects, all the campaigns are very much action.

Pros:
Ambitious, interesting future for the series.
Great graphics and environments
Good voice acting
Really memorable moments
Very fun co-op
Controls scheme is great when you are use to it (diving, sliding and rolling is fun!)

Cons:
It can drag at times.
Camera can sometimes be a problem when being cornered by enemies.
No upgrading of weapons. Just pick up (While this could be seen old school it just too linear for the most part.)
Sometimes a bit too scripted.
Can not see this being at all fun without an enthusiastic friend to play with.
Cover system is the thing I never used for the most part, too awkward.

I hope this has been some what informative or gives a general idea for some people, among all the other reviews! I choose to rate this a very strong 3 overall. Why? Because I couldn't imagine playing this with out a friend as it is always you and a partner. While it is fun and accepting certain changes, the horror and survival aspects still feel shadowed by the action. The story is both interesting and unsatisfying, leaving more unanswered questions and motives within Resident Evil 6. You wonder what the creators really wanted to do, or if the company was too concerned about appealing to one too many people to make better sales.

All these points I feel don't make it worth anymore than 3 stars overall for me personally. I seriously recommend playing it if you are a fan and give it a fair chance. While co-op isn't what makes it scary, it is still going to be much better than playing with some AI partner for your whole play through. Glad I bought it and curious to see what comes next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basically Resident Evil 5 2.0, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Lewis (United Kingdom, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
And from the title I've given this review, this is the problem we're now facing with Resident Evil. For those of you who have played Resident Evil 5, let me tell you that this is very similar. For those of you who haven't, and are maybe expecting this to be something like Resident Evil 4 or the older titles, you're in for a let down. The pros and cons I've picked out are roughly the same as everyone elses so far:

Pros
- Stunning Graphics
- Fun to play with a friend
- Mercenary Mode is as addictive and challenging as always
- The new 'Agent Hunt' mode where you play as several different types of enemies online against other players is frustrating at first but rewarding and addictive once you get the hang of it
- Lengthy Campaign(s)
- Some interesting new enemies that are guranteed to get your heart racing
- New combat system and controls are fairly fluid
- Great voice acting and facial animation in cutscenes

Cons
- No longer a Horror title, more of an Action genre
- Some horrible uninspired chapters throughout the campaign, where you feel like you are playing a shoot em' up
- Far too much of this 'QTE' where you have to push 'A' or 'rotate the left jostick' during cutscenes and gameplay
- The weapon upgrade system has been removed, for some very silly reason

Those are the main ones I can think of, a lot of the time during the campaign I was bored, things started to get repetitive and/or frustrating. Capcom seem to have backed themselves into a corner here, where at one point in this franchise they would rely on your fear, and that horrible sense of isolation you feel as you carefully move from room to room with hardly any ammo or health and only horrible monsters and even more horrible camera angles, to make a great quality horror game, where as now, they seem to prefer car chases, cliche/cheesy dialogue and explosions. The co-op feature is what's keeping this franchise alive, without it, I see no reason to believe why this game isn't just another mediocre shooter with a once-golden-now-decaying reputation. The rating I've given this game on here is almost entirely for the online content. If this review makes sense to you, wait for this to come down in price before you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A sad addition to a classic series, 23 Feb 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
In Resident Evil 4, a classic horror adventure game was converted into a horror shooter. It was a brave and risky move but in doing so they created what I consider to be one of the greatest games ever made. Sadly since then the series has gone downhill. Resident Evil 5 was a good game but started to concentrate too much on cut scenes and tomb raider like levels. Unfortunately Resident Evil 6 goes to a whole new extreme in this regard.

Resident Evil 6 has 3 stores to play through and a 4th one to tie up loose ends. The theory was that these 3 stories are connected and cross over each other at various points. Its a nice idea but actually ends up being a complete annoyance as you just repeat levels you have already done, and those levels are not that good the first play through!

This game suffers from quite a few issues. These are:

1) Constant bad cut scenes interrupting the game play
2) Terrible terrible story
3) Some truly awful level design where the game is more like a bad tomb raider than a resident evil
4) Every boss after you have 'killed' it, comes back, and then again, and then again, and then... yawn
5) Horrible camera angles
6) Almost every level seemed to be incredibly dark. I realise this may be a poor attempt to make it scary, but all it does is make it annoying.
7) The first story is one of the worst stories I have ever played through in any game ever (see point 2).
8) Some really bad running action sequences where the camera angle changes constantly, and they are incredibly dull to play through
9) A distinct lack of zombies!
10) Did I mention the terrible story? It's worth mentioning twice.

For such a big game designer to make this game is bad. I really hope they go back and take a look at what made Resident Evil 4 a great game, and try and move back towards that.

I did actually complete all 4 stores (coop mode) in Resident Evil 6 and while there are a couple of half decent levels overall the game was incredibly dull, irritating and not worth your time or money.

Also note that in split screen the game will not use the whole screen, instead only uses a rectangle to maintain the right aspect ratio which for some reason they have set to a non wide screen format nobody uses. This is again annoying but you get used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning button-basher., 6 Oct 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Like many others, being a diehard Resident Evil fan I awaited Resi 6 with some enthusiasm after the disappointing Resident Evil 5. Whilst it is good to see Leon back (with obligatory early Beckham haircut), amongst our other favourites from early incarnations such as Chris Redfield and Ada Wong, this game is really nothing more than a glorified button-basher. The graphics are exquisite, even by next-gen standard, but gameplay is crude and basic, simply a matter of bashing, pressing, and twiddling buttons as fast as possible. I do not care for a game built around AI co-operation in single player, which is disappointing for those who prefer not to play co-op games(whilst there has always been an element of AI co-op in the Resi world, the entire game is subsumed by it now). One of the most endearing qualities of the Resident Evil franchise was the terrifying sense of loneliness and isolation experienced by the player, thanks to the apocalyptic atmosphere of the world it was set in. Now though, a lot of the original intelligence and creativity has become lost in favour of the 1980's western action movie genre of grunts, bullets, and big explosions. Whilst this a visual delight, it does not make for interesting gameplay if you want something a little more intellectually challenging than hitting the 'A' button repeatedly. There are very few puzzles in comparison with earlier games, and the those in the game are extremely easy to solve. Unfortunately, though it is a next gen game, Resi 6, like its predecessor no:5, has taken several steps backward, demonstrating it too has become a game of style over substance. I will not advise against buying it because all committed fans will want it in their collection - that's the way we are. But overall, the marks I have given the game are based on the excellent quality of its graphics and the memory of what was once a gamimg phenomenon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombies, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game has zombies in it, and right when you think you'd like some more zombies in the game they actually appear. It also has animated cleavage so beware for small children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360)
Resident Evil 6 (Xbox 360) by Capcom (Xbox 360)
8.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews