Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series.
One of the highlights of my book buying year is receiving the current edition of "The Mammoth Book Of Best New Horror".
This year's volume, volume 23, is once again of a high quality.
As usual we have Stephen Jones' introduction, which at 87 pages, is shorter than normal. Mr Jones notes in his comments that he has been asked to keep this section briefer than...
Published 22 months ago by M. Crossman

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall a wonderful anthology full of dark, ghostly and intelligent work
I can't tell you how delighted I was when this dropped on my doorstep. It's the first 'Mammoth' book I have ever read and I was not disappointed. I'm waiting anxiously for the release of book number 24 this year.

There are 14 stories in total, including short stories, flash fiction pieces and novellas. There are pieces written by well known horror writers and...
Published 20 months ago by Andie P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series., 8 Nov 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the highlights of my book buying year is receiving the current edition of "The Mammoth Book Of Best New Horror".
This year's volume, volume 23, is once again of a high quality.
As usual we have Stephen Jones' introduction, which at 87 pages, is shorter than normal. Mr Jones notes in his comments that he has been asked to keep this section briefer than normal and I for one am slightly sad at this. I am unable to keep up with what is happening in the horror world and Mr Jones' introductions always keep me abreast on things I may have missed.
However, this volume is all about the stories and this year sees some crackers. I was slightly disappointed by two overall, both of which shall remain nameless as I would not wish to influence anyone before they have read them.
The full contents listing is as follows;

Stephen Jones - Introduction: Horror In 2011

Ramsey Campbell - Holding The Light
Christopher Fowler - Lantern Jack
Paul Kane - Rag And Bone
Gemma Files - Some Kind Of Light Shines From Your Face
Joel Lane - Midnight Flight
Tim Lebbon - Trick Of The Light
Gregory Nicoll - But None Shall Sing For Me
Alison Littlewood - About The Dark
Daniel Mills - The Photographer's Tale
Mark Samuels - The Tower
Peter Atkins - Dancing Like We're Dumb
Simon Strantzas - An Indelible Stain Upon The Sky
Joan Aiken - Hair
Steve Rasnic Tem - Miri
Geeta Roopnarine - Corbeaux Bay
Michael Marshall Smith - Sad, Dark Thing
Robert Silverberg - Smithers And The Ghost Of The Thar
Reggie Oliver - Quieta Non Movere
Joe R. Lansdale - The Crawling Sky
Conrad Williams - Wait
Simon Kurt Unsworth - The Ocean Grand, North West Coast
Evangeline Walton - They That Have Wings
Thana Niveau - White Roses, Bloody Silk
John Ajivide Lindqvist - The Music Of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer
Ramsey Campbell - Passing Through Peacehaven
David Buchan - Holiday Home

Stephen Jones & Kim Newman - Necrology: 2011

As you can see you get your full 5's worth with this book with each page costing less than a penny!

Great stories in a great volume. Long may the series continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usual stuff, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Jones "jonesr001" (Woodbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My annual one-stop shop for good horror. Not every story hits the mark (for me, at least) but there's no better anthology out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's longest running 'Best of' horror anthology!, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Paul Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Best New Horror' is now the longest running annual 'best of' horror anthology ever, beating the previous 22-volume record held for the past eighteen years by DAW Books for 'The Year's Best Horror Stories' (1971-1994). Although, in fairness to the industrious Ellen Datlow, she has - so far - edited an unbroken run of 25 annual 'best of' anthologies, twenty-one with St. Martin's Press and currently four with Night Shade Books. Of course, both have a ways to go yet to beat the mighty Gardner Dozois, who has edited a colossal 34 'best of' science fiction volumes since 1977, five with the publisher Dutton and, presently, twenty-nine editions of 'The Year's Best Science Fiction'.

Last year 'Best New Horror' and Datlow's 'The Best Horror of the Year' overlapped by quite a few stories: this year none overlap. In fact, together with Paula Guran's 'The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror', only one story is duplicated out of a total of 77, making this year a true embarrassment of riches.

RAMSEY CAMPBELL leads off with "Holding the Light". Curiosity, a burning need to just know: the curse of youth, as young Tom and Lucas find out when they go exploring a local tunnel said to be haunted. As ever, Campbell's language is deceptively simple, the accumulative effect eerie, one of dread.

Next up CHRISTOPHER FOWLER gives us a mischievous piece of whimsy, presented as the monologue of a patron of The Jack O'Lantern pub telling a new customer about the strange events that always seem to occur there throughout its history on All-Hallows Eve. Readers of Fowler's recent Hammer-homage horror novel 'Hell Train' will know just how delightfully sly he can be, and as with the best of tongue-in-cheek horror "Lantern Jack" still manages to give a nasty bite at the end.

"Rag and Bone" by PAUL KANE is classic Best New Horror. I heard once that, with the overwhelming number of stories he has to consider each year, editor Jones will often read the first few pages then skip to the last few: if the story ends up going in the direction he thought it was then what's the point? After many decades in the business he wants to be surprised. So no surprise, then, he picked Kane as this story of a scrap merchant - a rag and bone man - doesn't finish up where you think it will.

"Some Kind of Light Shines from Your Face" by GEMMA FILES is from the World Fantasy and British Fantasy Society Award-nominated 'Gutshot', an anthology of weird western stories edited by Conrad Williams. Western it certainly is, but it also involves Greek legends: a young woman joins two women in a travelling wagon, crossing the American dustbowl and scraping up a living by setting up tent and displaying their wares to grubby patrons eager to spend the little coin they have on catching a glimpse of the fair flesh and secret parts of comely women; to look on something fine to take their minds off their dry, barren existence. The women wear masks on stage, and when young Persia Leitner is eventually allowed to join them as well, a trinity is formed, and something happens... and old myths become new reality.

"Midnight Flight" by JOEL LANE is, as the author himself says in the introduction, "a story about the loss of memory, and how memory might not want to be lost." Concerning a man slowly recalling the title and details of a lost book from his childhood, whilst losing the identity of who he is now, the language very much recalls classic Ramsey Campbell in the author's claustrophobic depiction of misinterpretation and paranoia - and even manages to out-do Campbell in the closing page!

"But None Shall Sing for Me" by GREGORY NICOLL is a piece of exotic horror set in the Caribbean and told from the point of view of a zombie. No, this isn't the knock about fun of Tim Powers' terrific `On Stranger Tides' novel, but an intense tale of closure and setting oneself free.

Some of the best horror is the simplest, as demonstrated by ALISON LITTLEWOOD in "About the Dark". Three youths, Adam, Fuzz and Sasha, enter what is locally known as the Dark Cave. Through Sasha, we learn that there is a darkness in the cave, and not simply an absence of light. Many people have gone into the cave. Some never came back, their names written on the walls. Adam has recently started attending a new school, where he has reinvented himself from the bullied to a strong and disinterested figure who doesn't care about anything. Except he does. He cares about Sasha, but because of the newly created image of himself he doesn't show it and she goes with Fuzz instead, which annoys him greatly. Only once do all three enter the dark; thereafter Adam ventures alone and learns about the dark... and the names... and who puts them there. Understated, exact, and with an atmosphere that closes in on you. A frequent contributor to the UK's premiere horror fiction magazine, `Black Static' (wherein this story was first published; another story she had in the same magazine last year was reprinted by Ellen Datlow), Littlewood recently hit the UK bestseller lists with the publication of her well-received debut novel `A Cold Season'.

In "The Photographer's Tale" by DANIEL MILLS Lowell's estranged apprentice, Patrick, sends him a camera. It's 1892 and this camera is the very latest model. It is also unique, as Lowell soon finds out. When looking through the lens it reveals not only what the subject will eventually look like in old age, but what secrets lie beneath their mask of make-up and outward personality. And once Lowell sees the truth, he sees it everywhere... even when no longer looking through the lens.

"The Tower" by MARK SAMUELS comes from his collection `The Man Who Collected Machen and Other Weird Tales'. In this deceptively simple story a man, disillusioned with the modern commercial world and the vapidity of its future he envisions ahead, begins seeing a fog-enshrouded tower, where there shouldn't be any, in the middle of the city of London. A symbolism, he believes, for where he's trying to go, what he has to become. The power of this tale lies in the telling, and is on a par with the measured surrealism of Thomas Ligotti. Both write fresh horror, but imbued with the disciplined style of old masters like M.R. James, Robert Aickman, Algernon Blackwood and, of course, Arthur Machen. This is his seventh appearance in `Best New Horror' since volume 15.

Last year's "Christmas with the Dead" by Joe R. Lansdale was Best New Horror's knock-about story; this year PETER ATKINS picks up that mantel in the delightful and snappily written "Dancing Like we're Dumb". It sees the return of his detective character, Kitty Donnelly, in a short, breezy tale of gangsters dabbling in the supernatural. It starts off with Kitty being carjacked and kidnapped: her day just gets worse from there on out!

"An Indelible Stain Upon the Sky" by SIMON STRANTZAS is an emotionally complex story, allegorical, symbolic and thick with meaning and portent: Port McCarthy, once beautiful, is a damaged town, wrecked by an oil tanker spill. Our narrator and his wife Suzanne, once filled with hope and love, now stained like the town. Both fates - the town's and the couple's - are intricately entwined. Returning alone ten years after the town's accident to the inn they first stayed in, and the beginning of his wife's own descent, the narrator reflects on the crumbling of the past, seeing stains and shadows in the room and how his way of thinking, and what he said, came to infect his wife. The rich symbolism of the closing passages have a deep, ironic weight. This is horror of raw feelings, the writing delicately balanced, and being a tale of non-explicit horror it would not have looked out of place in this year's `The Best American Short Stories'.

"Hair" by JOAN AIKEN comes from her posthumously published collection. Brief, but sharp, it tells of Tom keeping a promise to his recently deceased young wife to deliver a lock of her hair to her mother, whom he has never actually met before, his wife having been estranged from her for some time. An old woman, and very strange, Tom soon wishes he had still never met her.

Echoes of Ramsey Campbell's influence can also be heard in the tight, dread-filled language of STEVE RASNIC TEM's "Miri", which marks his 16th appearance in Best New Horror. Here Rick finds his new life invaded by memories of a damaged and needy girl from his college days. Memories so tangible as to blur and make indistinct the reality he's currently trying to live in.

"Corbeaux Bay" by GEETA ROOPNARINE is a short but effective story of a man who likes to get away from it all by exploring his local beach, where birds to whom he was cruel and dismissive in the past, now take a keen interest in him.

"Sad, Dark Thing" by MICHAEL MARSHALL SMITH is from what was easily last year's best original horror anthology, ` A Book of Horrors' edited by Stephen Jones, which I've reviewed and where readers can find my thoughts on this story. As I said of a Smith story in a review of another Jones anthology from last year, `Haunts: Reliquaries of the Dead', everything Smith touches at short story length these days turns to gold. As for this present story, suffice it to say here that it was also reprinted in `The Best British Short Stories 2012', a non-genre literary anthology.

ROBERT SILVERBERG is easily the longest serving writer here: his first short story sale was in 1954 when he was eighteen-years-old - almost 60 years ago. Silverberg is a solid novelist, but a dazzling short story writer, as witness the recent massive retrospective from Subterranean Press, `Phases of the Moon: Stories from Six Decades' (2004), and as too witness this present story, "Smithers and the Ghosts of the Thar", published in what is now the author's seventh decade as a professional writer. Although Silverberg is indelibly associated with the science fiction genre, Jones has had occasion over the years to reprint his short stories in some of his themed anthologies, but this marks his first appearance in Best New Horror - and it's a welcome inclusion.

Old masters such as M.R. James and Robert Aickman are talked of with reverence these days. Will REGGIE OLIVER one day be talked of that way? No, he already is. Oliver's contribution, "Guieta Non Movere", is actually lifted from his novella "The Giacometti Crucifixion" where it served as a story-within-a-story. That's how good Oliver is, when 'half' a story is so rich in language and storytelling that it can stand on its own.

"The Crawling Sky" by JOE R. LANSDALE sees the return of the Reverend Jedidiah Mercer, who first appeared in the author's cult weird wild west novel 'Dead in the West' (1986), and in recent years in a series of short stories, one of which, "Deadman's Road", was included in Best New Horror 19. Lansdale has a voice soaked in the dialect of his East Texas home and his dialogue crackles with sun-lazy barbs and quips, his beloved landscape conjured with a few deft strokes of description. Here the Reverend finds himself in a spit of a little town called Wood Tick where, with shunned local Norville, he goes out to a ramshackle homestead to banish a 'haint' that is not of this world - and his doesn't do so with prayer and holy water!

Together with Simon Strantzas, SIMON KURT UNSWORTH has clearly become a firm favourite of editor Stephen Jones, both having appeared four times now in the past five volumes of Best New Horror. Here he gives us "The Ocean Grand, North West Coast" from his linked-collection of haunted dwellings, `Quiet Houses'. Mandeville, Parry and Yeoman form a restoration crew, and the Ocean Grand is their biggest project yet. Built at the turn of the last century and slowly neglected by a procession of changing owners over the decades, it has now lain derelict for 15 years. An ambitious design, a marriage of function and art, the concept of the hotel was to show the industrial design on the ground floor gradually changing into that of nature on the third floor. As the author himself says, "[it's] about art created to be viewed, being alone, and going slowly claustrophobically mad."

The multi-award winning EVANGELINE WALTON may have died in 1996, but here Jones presents us with "They That Have Wings", a 'lost' story of World War II in the great tradition of `Weird Tales' magazine.

"White Roses, Bloody Silk" by rising star THANA NIVEAU is quite different from her contribution of last, "The Pier". This Victorian era tale of terror may start out slight and whimsical - but don't be fooled: a dinner party and a strange guest soon turns thorny. And bloody.

"Passing Through Peacehaven" is RAMSEY CAMPBELL's second story in this year's volume (he is the only author to be twice given the honour of having two short stories reprinted within a given volume of Best New Horror). Next to Silverberg, Campbell is the second longest serving author in this current edition of Best New Horror, his first sale being in 1962 (indeed, he was only sixteen-years-old; even younger than Silverberg!). He is, without doubt, a giant of the horror field and this year marks his 50th anniversary as a writer. Finally, Best New Horror 23 ends with "Holiday Home" by DAVID BUCHAN, a piece of crime flash fiction.

There are other fine stories, "Wait" by CONRAD WILLIAMS, which I reviewed last year under its original publication in 'Haunts: Reliquaries of the Dead', one of the best ghost anthologies in years. Prolific novelist and short story writer TIM LEBBON give us a "Trick of the Light", a sensitively handled tale from the extremely good and recommended 'House of Fear' edited by Jonathan Oliver (Datlow and Guran also picked stories from this anthology). Plus the author of the bestselling 'Let the Right One In' JOHN AJVIDE LINDQVIST's first short story, my review of which can be found under 'A Book of Horrors'. Six of that anthology's stories have now been reprinted, Ellen Datlow gave special citation to a further two stories in the opening paragraph of her Summation in 'The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Four', one other story has recently won an award and yet another story has been nominated for an award - making that 10 stories that have been 'named checked'; a quite remarkable achievement considering the anthology only contains fourteen stories in total.

[This review comes from an advance copy bought at the FantasyCon, Brighton book launch on September 29th.]

Also released today is 'The Mammoth Book of Ghost Stories by Women' edited by Marie 0'Regan - well worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best new horror, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stephen Jones is renowned for bringing the best new horror fiction to eager readers and this collection is truly a joy. Many of the works were more of the uncanny variety which appears to be where the genre is heading. I thoroughly enjoyed the collection and Jones' summary of the current state of horror in literature, films, television etc. However, I've knocked a star off because some of the stories failed to connect with my sense of the macabre, although the quality of the writing and story telling is fantastic throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent way to introduce yourself to a wide variety of horror writers - excellent value., 25 Feb 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 23 (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
By any standards this is a massive volume of work considering the price of the download.

Contents:

Holding the Light - Ramsey Campbell, Lantern Jack - Christopher Fowler, Rag and Bone - Paul Kane, Some Kind of Light From Your Face - Gemma Files, Midnight Flight - Joel Lane, Trick of the Light - Tim Lebbon, But None Shall Sing for Me - Gregory Nicoll, About the Dark - Alison Littlewood, The Photographer's Tale - Daniel Mills, The Tower - Mark Samuels, Dancing Like We're Dumb - Peter Atkins, An Indelible Stain Upon the Sky - Simon Strantzas, Hair - Joan Aiken, Miri - Steve Rasnic Tem, Corbeaux Bay - Geeta Roopnarine, Sad, Dark Thing - Michael Marshall, Smithers and the Ghosts of the Thar - Robert Silverberg, Quiet Non Movere - Reggie Oliver, The Crawling Sky - Joe R. Lansdale, Wait - Conrad Williams, The Ocean Grand, North West Coast - Simon Kurt Unsworth, They That Have Wings - Evangeline Walton, White Roses, Bloody Silk - Thana Niveau, The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer - John Ajvide Lindqvist, Passing Through Peacehave - Ramsey Campbell, Holiday Home - David Buchan.

I've read most of the 'New Best Horror Series'. They're a great way of introducing yourself to different authors from past and present (Ramsey Campbell to Michael Marshall) and helping you discover someone you might not otherwise have read.

My personal favourites in the anthology are The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer and They That Have Wings but others came a very close second. I'm happy to recommend this series of books to any fan of the horror genre. There are bound to be some stories you don't like but; there are more than enough of them to make up for those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 23, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am reading this at the moment. Never disappointed when I pick up a Mammoth Book of Horror. Great stories, great read. would recommend to all horrror story and short story lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall a wonderful anthology full of dark, ghostly and intelligent work, 5 Jan 2013
I can't tell you how delighted I was when this dropped on my doorstep. It's the first 'Mammoth' book I have ever read and I was not disappointed. I'm waiting anxiously for the release of book number 24 this year.

There are 14 stories in total, including short stories, flash fiction pieces and novellas. There are pieces written by well known horror writers and also some less known newcomers and sets out to showcase the best in contemporary horror. I have read 'themed' horror anthologies in the past but this isn't as restrictive and I found the variation in theme and length kept me interested and eager to continue to the next delight!

I won't go into detail on every single story as I find those type of reviews tedious but I will highlight three of my favourites.

The first one was 'The Photographers Tale' written by Daniel Mills. The short story takes you back to 1892 and has a twist on the subject of spirit photography (a subject I am deeply fascinated by). Lowell is a professional photographer who is sent a camera from his estranged apprentice. The camera of course isn't as it first appears and when Lowell looks through the lens he sees his subjects as they would look like in old age but also can see their dark secrets. This story had me gripped from the very first sentence. Mills writes in a clear, precise and atmospheric way, there isn't anything poncy or fussy about his work and I have become a big fan.

The second I thoroughly enjoyed was 'The Music of Bengt Karlsson, Murderer' by John Ajvide Lindqvist. This is Lindqvist's first published short story specifically written for the English-Language market. Lindqvist states that this was the one story he has written that scared him and kept him in a state of mild horror until the end. I share this experience with him as the story is just so beautifully dark and eerie. The widowed protagonist moves into a new house with his young son, a piano is the only possession he has left that belonged to his wife and he insists that his son learns to play. However, he soon begins to hear strange music coming from the piano (assumed to be played by his son) and also hears his son talking to some unknown entities. The realisation that a murderer had previously lived in the house complicates matters even further. Lindqvist's writing is intelligent, the reader is left wondering if there really is a supernatural element to the story or whether it is simply about a man in deep grief and despair.

Finally a particular favourite of mine was 'Smithers and the Ghosts of the Thar' by Robert Silverberg. Written in first person the narrator exposes secrets of what happened to Smithers in 1858 whilst in India. It's a good old fashioned ghost story and enjoyable to read, making you feel like you are deep in conversation with the narrator. Silverberg is a well established novelist and short story writer although usually known for his work in the science fiction and fantasy genre. I applaud his fantastic contribution to the world of horror.

Not only is this book an enjoyable read it's also informative and is a Bible for any horror buff, the introduction given by the editor Stephen Jones was absolutely fantastic, he gives an overview of the year in horror, not just in the literary world but including film, TV and radio. There is also a superb necrology and a long list of contact details for writers and fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't agree, 24 April 2013
By 
paul daly (kiltegan, Wicklow, IE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the first 150 pages or so is just telling you about book and films and so, about 30 pages would have been enough, a lot of the stories didn't work for me, it would be alright book if your waiting for Stephen King's or John Connolly's new books to come out and you have noting better to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mammoth book of best horror 23, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is almost one hundred pages about bthe writers,which i dont want to read,so would not get any more like that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews