Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three or four stars - that is the question
This is the most recent book I've read and I would recommend it - with a word of caution. The ending is very unsatisfactory.
Overall the book was an entertaining read and went some way to making me question any stereotypes I might have had about 'working girls'. It was gritty without being filth, had good pace and made me laugh in places.
Unfortunately all the...
Published on 22 Sep 2005 by tange333

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I never expected great meaning from this book, but what I did expect was some light reading with a few engrossing plots, and a 'gossipy' feeling to it. But I was disappointed. Hardly anything mildly interesting happens in the book, until a couple of half-baked storylines near the end which go frustratingly unconcluded. I kept waiting for something to emerge which would...
Published on 29 Mar 2006 by cazling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three or four stars - that is the question, 22 Sep 2005
This is the most recent book I've read and I would recommend it - with a word of caution. The ending is very unsatisfactory.
Overall the book was an entertaining read and went some way to making me question any stereotypes I might have had about 'working girls'. It was gritty without being filth, had good pace and made me laugh in places.
Unfortunately all the good work Quan had done in creating likeable and/or believable charachters whose lives are intertwined (in ways which even the charachters don't know) is wasted with the sudden ending in which few of the subplots are brought to a conclusion.
On balance I decided on four stars because three seemed a bit harsh for a book that kept me entertained and turning pages for a few well spent hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 29 Mar 2006
I never expected great meaning from this book, but what I did expect was some light reading with a few engrossing plots, and a 'gossipy' feeling to it. But I was disappointed. Hardly anything mildly interesting happens in the book, until a couple of half-baked storylines near the end which go frustratingly unconcluded. I kept waiting for something to emerge which would capture me, but this never happened. The main character, Nancy, is, for me, unlikeable and it is hard for the reader to empathise or be put in her position. Overall, the book is crammed with irrelevant little details and dialogues, and tends to drag on relentlessly. There were foundations in this book for several riveting plots, and it was exasperating to see that so many oppurtunities were wasted. I would have liked to see a little more description where emotion was concerned too.
As for the end, it was as if the author ran out of time in a high school English exam. A real train wreck of an ending-completely unsatisfying.
I hate to say that on the whole, this is a poor book, although it's marginally better than reading the back of your ticket when you're bored on the bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rude with attitude, 20 Aug 2006
By 
I wouldn't have said that this is hard to get into but once I came to terms with the language used I found that it was quiet a enjoyable read. Not something your mother would approve of. It is in parts too graphic but that goes along with the story and bring contents to the book. Nancy is great and has a brilliant attitude that makes you like her but not really love her. Its not one that swept me along but good all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, shame about the ending, 20 July 2005
This is a fun, fast-paced novel. The action fizzes along, and the author seems to have an ear for naturalistic dialogue and believeable characters. I read this in 24hours, as it was an easy read and the plot really seems to speed by. The plot isn't the most original - a tart with a heart story meets Bridget Jones/Sex & The City; but as it's so engaging you don't really mind, and it would be ideal fodder for commuting or holiday reading. My only complaint is that I feel that the denouement was badly handled. Instead of tying up the strands of narrative, she abruptly pulls away from them, leaving a gap (as the story is in diary format) of several months, and the conclusion is far from satisfying. Ultimately, the conclusion of this book is the one thing that Nancy and the girls definately aren't - a tease!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy read but with a disappointing ending, 22 Sep 2005
As I left for work this morning, I was about to pop "Diary of a Manhattan Call Girl" into my bag but then I realised that I had actually finished it. The reason it took me a second to realise this is that I wasn't completely satisfied with the ending - it was kind of like a three-course meal where you get an entree and only half of a main course.
The beginning and majority of the book is great; witty, funny and interesting. It provides an informative and unpretentious insight into the world of being a private call-girl. But as another reviewer commented, it seems like Quan didn't know how to wrap up the strands of the narrative and opted for a cop-out instead.
Overall: Interesting but unsatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull book with no ending, 16 April 2006
By 
Psychologist (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The title was the only part of this book that was "tantalising" and overall I found it frustrating, dull and lacking an ending.

It is the diary of a call girl, who seemingly lies to everyone around her and herself, and has no emotions or passion about anything. She talks about sex and relationships the way that other people talk about what they ate for breakfast. Her sex scenes have no erotic charge and no insight. You feel neither sympathy nor any identification with the character, and gain no understanding of why she does what she does.

There are then a whole set of implausible interwoven plotlines, in which her secret life as a whore overlaps with her plans to marry a normal guy, and her friends are stalked, blackmailed, get involved with sex-politics and investigated by the DA office. I cringed through 'normalised' descriptions of paedophilia and sexual exploitation.

I was glad to reach the end of this book, even if it was premature and unresolved. If this is autobiographical, I feel sorry for the author, not because of her lifestyle choices, but because of her lack of insight, trust or any relationships beyond the superficial level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This train ran out of steam..., 8 Sep 2005
Instantly engaging with gritty, honest and believable charachters. Easy to read with various storylines centering on the main charachter Nancy. Goes to some pretty deep places compared to the normal standard of Chick-Lit, However the ending was very abrupt, unrealistic and badly written. I got the impression that the author didn't know how to write her way out of all her strands of narrative. After reading you'll be hungry to know what happened to Allison, Jason, Matt, and Elspeth. Very Enjoyable until page 268.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought it would be, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
I was really disappointed with this book. It didn't really have much of a story line or plot and was just the same thing page after page ("how can I stop my fiancee finding out I'm a hooker?"), and not alot else. In a nut shell, it was just a porn book with no plot and a dreadful ending. I thought I'd blacked out and missed a huge section of the ending. Did the author just get lazy and try and wrap it up quickly, or did she too black out and imagine she'd wrote it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And then what happens???, 13 Nov 2005
By 
I compleatly agree with what the other reviews say. Great until the end! I thought I'd missed a bit or got a dodgy copy of the book!
I would still recomend it to others but with a word of warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indepth, 1 Jan 2006
Must admit loved the book but was sat round the beach on holiday feeling everyone knew what I was reading!! Didn't realise that the book would be so .... indepth. Secrets of call girls with explanations of what she (and friends) did with clients ... good book but maybe not for teens.
I agree about the ending ... did feel a bit let down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diary of a Manhattan Call Girl
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews