Customer Reviews


422 Reviews
5 star:
 (286)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


339 of 357 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most exciting new artist for some time
Firstly, I want to address the inadequate online loudmouths who seem determined to drive this young woman to a breakdown with the amount of bile they've been spewing in recent months: I don't care about the hype surrounding Lana Del Rey, it doesn't interest me. I don't care that she's changed her name (hardly a new phenomenon in the entertainment industry) or how wealthy...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by M D Smart

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, but...
Were startling beauty and image alone enough to make me buy an album, in Lana Del Rey's case I just might have been persuaded. But it was the voice of Video Games that persuaded me to part with my cash.

However, I was unprepared for the sense of growing disappointment brought on by every listen to this album. Sure, there are catchy melodies and that incredible...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by Dean


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

339 of 357 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most exciting new artist for some time, 30 Jan 2012
By 
M D Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die (Audio CD)
Firstly, I want to address the inadequate online loudmouths who seem determined to drive this young woman to a breakdown with the amount of bile they've been spewing in recent months: I don't care about the hype surrounding Lana Del Rey, it doesn't interest me. I don't care that she's changed her name (hardly a new phenomenon in the entertainment industry) or how wealthy her father is. I don't care that she's a nervous live performer - it's hardly surprising given the barrage of attacks she has already faced. Oh, and I certainly don't care whether or not her lips are enhanced by collagen. It's somewhat disturbing that only female singers ever face this kind of harsh scrutiny, but otherwise it's irrelevant.

All that matters to me is the music - and the music is sublime.

A big part of the appeal is that incredible, shiver-inducing voice; one moment it's a world-weary drawl encompassing all the despair of broken dreams and unfulfilled hopes... the next it's girly and playful with an uncomfortable undercurrent of knowing sexuality (hence the 'Lolita' comparisons). It's perfectly matched by the 'Lynchian' quality of the music, a combination of dreamy, seductive Hollywood strings and grimy trailer-park beats. It's Nancy Sinatra lost in the world of Twin Peaks.

Bizarrely a few critics have suggested a certain misogyny is present in her lyrics; they seem determined to remain oblivious to the persona Del Rey clearly adopts in virtually all the songs here - a (sadly not uncommon) teenage girl lacking in self-worth, dreaming only of wealth and celebrity and so desperate to find and hold a man that she willingly accepts indifference or even outright cruelty, telling herself she's in love. It's precisely this which makes songs like Video Games so heartbreakingly tragic. Del Rey is merely portraying (based on personal experience, apparently) the misogyny so many young women still fall victim to, partly because they aren't strong or confident enough to demand the better life they deserve.

To sum up: if you liked the singles Video Games and Born To Die, there's plenty more of the same here. The only real problem Lana Del Rey faces is, how do you follow an album as accomplished as this? I for one can't wait to see what she does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant discovery!, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Born To Die (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album. 48 hours ago I had never heard of Lana Del Rey...But when I saw the magnificient cover of "Born to die", I had to give it a try.
I was hoping against hope that she wasn't gonna be another Katy Perry or Lady Gaga, and she's not!
Definitly darker, deeper, Lana Del Rey leans more towards artists such as Kate Bush, Tori Amos or the under-rated Maria McKee (later period) with a hint of Amy Winehouse. A brilliant touch of modernity in the arrangements without ever falling into the cheap "dance" or "r'n'b" format, but rather staying in some sort of ambient style.
Overall, the album is very slow and dark (americana comes to mind), the stings arrangements are superb, it is a very atmospheric album, and Lana Del Rey displays a large range in her vocals, from deep "murder ballad"-like singing to bimbo-like whisperings (although not too much thank you!). Only four stars though, because some songs feel more like fillers than anything else and repeat the same scenario.

This is an artist I didn't expect at all, and I'm quite pleased to have heard and bought this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got that Summertime Sadness, 14 Mar 2012
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die (Audio CD)
I'd never really paid much attention to Lana Del Rey before the album release, having only heard a remix of Video Games that didn't do the original justice. I looked at what the internet was saying and the reviews seemed oddly mixed between those who said every track was great and those who seemed to have some sort of a grudge against her that no-one could properly define. I made my own mind up, and very quickly joined the ranks of those who love every track.

Born To Die is a strong opener and, in similar tones to Video Games, meshes haunting melody and lyrics with a gritty, torch song quality, oddly verging between dirge and pop. Off To The Races continues the haunting theme with an offbeat love song that may at first seem like a celebration of being shallow but very quickly reveals maturity and depth, and once listened to is difficult to forget. Blue Jeans is a beautiful pop song slowed down to a pace where it almost feels like a ballad. Video Games is simply the most beautiful song of the last year. Diet Mountain Dew is a breezy almost nonchalant pop song.

National Anthem is a playful song that on the surface has some lines that might make you think it's a clumsy way of celebrating the money and fame worship you hear in some other singers' songs, but the OTT way it's done and some of the lyrics, once closely listened to, clearly show it's a send up. Dark Paradise, a beautiful ballad about loss, is like an Evanescence song without the operatics. Radio is one of those guilty pleasure songs - a laid back pop song with a chorus that, if played on radio, would require much editing, and yet still manages to remain sounding innocent and beautiful. Carmen is a warning tale of the sad effects of Hollywood. Million Dollar Man is an old time dirge ballad with an undercurrent of sadness, and is extremely classy. Now comes one of my favourite new pop songs - Summertime Sadness. At this point you may think there is a theme of depression sinking into the songs, but this song is hard to describe because it somehow manages to be downbeat and uplifting at the same time. Ending the main album is This Is What Makes Us Girls, which is another one of those songs that could appear to be glamorising shallowness, yet at the same time has very knowing lyrics and manages to hook you into the story it's telling.

The three extra tracks don't stray too far from the winning formula of the main album. Without You is a heartfelt ballad that it is hard to believe was left off the main album. Lolita is a playful song that perhaps is a bit too much Avril Lavigne in her unconvincing bratty stage to fit too well with the other songs, yet isn't what you'd call bad. Lucky Ones is definitely the song that should end the album, a gentle ballad that slips comfortably into the silence at the end of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most exciting new artist of the moment, 30 Jan 2012
By 
M D Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Die (Audio CD)
Firstly, I want to address the inadequate online loudmouths who seem determined to drive this young woman to a breakdown with the amount of bile they've been spewing in recent months: I don't care about the hype surrounding Lana Del Rey, it doesn't interest me. I don't care that she's changed her name (hardly a new phenomenon in the entertainment industry) or how wealthy her father is. I don't care that she's a nervous live performer - it's hardly surprising given the barrage of attacks she has already faced. Oh, and I certainly don't care whether or not her lips are enhanced by collagen. It's somewhat disturbing that only female singers ever face this kind of harsh scrutiny, but otherwise it's irrelevant.

All that matters to me is the music - and the music is sublime.

A big part of the appeal is that incredible, shiver-inducing voice; one moment it's a world-weary drawl encompassing all the despair of small town broken dreams and unfulfilled hopes... the next it's girly and playful with an uncomfortable undercurrent of knowing sexuality (hence the 'Lolita' comparisons). It's perfectly matched by the 'Lynchian' quality of the music, a combination of dreamy, seductive Hollywood strings and grimy trailer-park beats - glamourous and tawdry all at once. It's Nancy Sinatra lost in the world of Twin Peaks.

Bizarrely a few critics have suggested a certain misogyny is present in her lyrics; they seem determined to remain oblivious to the persona Del Rey clearly adopts in virtually all the songs here - a (sadly not uncommon) teenage girl lacking in self-worth, dreaming only of wealth and celebrity and so desperate to find and hold a man that she willingly accepts indifference or even outright cruelty, telling herself she's in love. It's precisely this which makes songs like Video Games so heartbreakingly tragic. Del Rey is merely portraying (based on personal experience, apparently) the misogyny so many young women still fall victim to, partly because they aren't strong or confident enough to demand the better life they deserve.

To sum up: if you liked the singles Video Games and Born To Die, there's plenty more of the same here. The only real problem Lana Del Rey faces is, how do you follow an album as accomplished as this? I for one can't wait to see what she does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Debut Album I've Heard In Over A Decade. Seriously., 30 Jan 2012
By 
A. Delahunty - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I bought this album as soon as I could on the day of release. A lot of albums are over-hyped to an nth degree, and invariably they fail to live up to expectation. I was so worried this would too. After the furore in the press about Lana's background (and frankly, I couldn't care less about that), and the exposure her music has already had - notably the simply wonderful 'Video Games' - I have to admit that I was hoping this wouldn't be a few good tracks and a heap of fillers.

11:23 am, and this is the third time I've played this today. It is seriously that good. As a man brought up on the likes of The Tindersticks and Nick Cave (with and without his Bad Seeds), there has been a lack of a good, romantic melancholy female voice. The Handsome Family have got close from time to time, but there was no heroine for us. Amongst the beauty of her voice there's a definite sorrow. The fateful resignation of Video Games, the complicity of Off To The Races, the deep, deep pain of Carmen, the anguish of Summertime Sadness... If you've ever heard Mother Fist And Her Five Daughters by Marc Almond, you get an idea of what this album is like. Lana's voice is hauntingly beautiful, deep and brooding, with an inherent, breathless sexuality that just draws you in. From the opening strains of Born To Die, you're hooked. Dark, and yet stunning in every sense.

One last thing. This album is going to be shipped over the file-sharing networks en masse. Don't go there. BUY this album, don't steal it. Lana has been through a lot to get this album together and released, including being sued over the video she put together for Video Games. Never before has anyone deserved your money than this release. Do the right thing, put your hand into your bank account, and get this legally. Of course you should be doing that anyway, regardless of who the artist album. But buying this album will do two things. Firstly, it'll give her the financial ability to keep going, to keep making albums like this. And secondly, this album will be a hit, and give her the emotional incentive to release another one. Rant over. Click 'Add to Basket' above, and make her a bit of cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, cool music. Loads of reverb!, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Mabu "Mabu" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Born to Die (Audio CD)
A brilliant, haunting, dark, but warm voice. Lots of reverb applied, which works well, and is only slightly sickly by the end. If you happen to have a collection of female vocals with deeper than average voices you might not be blown away by this album, but it's a new sound to me and I love it. She possesses a blend of soulful, sexy, ultra cool and occasionally playful tones. The music itself is not too busy and has quite a heavy bass and percussion which gives it an edge and more momentum than many 'proper' female solo singers. Much of the album has a kind of cynical, depressive, reflective feel which certainly suits her vocals. I agree with another reviewer who says the 'samples' give it a nineties hip-hop feel sometimes, but to me this works really well. The BBC review correctly states the album fades a little later on...but every album I own does that.

Has a hint of Coco Rosie about it at times.

Could well be the best album I buy this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Lana, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Die (Audio CD)
I was somewhat undecided about buying this album as I'd only really listened to Video Games but I don't regret it all - it's fantastic. Her voice is sultry and playful in turns and there is a good mix of tracks on the album, with a twist of quirkiness here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Die (Audio CD)
What a great album. Really something different to everything else around at the minute. Every song is good and Lana del Ray's haunting vocals are top class on all of them. Hard to put into a certain category of music, so I guess it just belongs in one all of it's own.

I would strongly recommend buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to soar, 2 Oct 2014
By 
Scarlet Jupiter - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Born To Die [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Lana Del Rey: Insatiable bitch, damned diva, innocent lolita, dark angel, femme fatale, desolate princess, American trash, universal Goddess, revolutionary, provocateour, icon, bimbo, siren, mermaid, human, alien. Ultimately, THE most controversial artist of this decade.
"Born to die": Haunting, somber, uninhibited, eclectic, sultry, hypnotising, brooding, euphoric, otherwordly mesmerising, masterfully epic, heavenly sublime, helplessly addictive, bona-fide masterpiece, magnum opus. Ultimately, THE pop record of this decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Born to Die (Audio CD)
Listening to this album is a bit like watching Donnie Darko. At first, because it's so different, you don't get it. You enjoy it, but you don't get it. So you watch again to see if you missed something, and you find you enjoy it more! The more you watch, the more you enjoy and that is the same with this album. The sound of Del Rey's music is like 1940's jazz with hip hop beats over the top. It shouldn't work, but it really does. Each song has it's own qualities, the majority have very catchy choruses. Her voice has a dreamlike quality but she also has a lot of vocal range as show in 'Off To The Races'. My personal highlights include 'Million Dollar Man', 'Radio', 'Dark Paradise', and 'Off To The Races'. The only track that diesn't grab me as soon as the music starts is 'Carmen', but I'm sure I'll grow to love that too. So, if you liked 'Video Games' and 'Born To Die', get this album. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born To Die [Explicit]
Born To Die [Explicit] by Lana Del Rey
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews