Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul Wheels Keep On Turning
Another soulful presence joins the retro resurgence of 60s sounds, with Alabama Shakes and singer Brittany Howard's offering of Joplinesque vocals and Otis Redding timings, the latter sound echoed on 'You Ain't Alone' by the fine guitar work of Heath Fogg. Their live sound - seen on last night's 'Later....with Jools' - isn't fully captured on the album, especially the...
Published on 25 April 2012 by Glenn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's shaking
Alabama Shakes are one of the current 'next big thing' bands and with justification. I have a different view, however, on what is good and bad about this album to most of the other reviewers here. I haven't heard them live (I did see them on 'Later'), so I can't make that comparison. My feeling is that 'Boys and Girls' is a display of promise which is largely unfulfilled...
Published on 4 May 2012 by D. J. H. Thorn


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Recommend, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Really enjoy listening to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Production I have Heard on a CD for a Long Time, 3 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
I've been listening to this album on spotify and decided it was worth buying on CD. It's got some good songs on it.

I've just tried to listen to the CD on my main system and it's sounds awful. Certainly the worst CD I've listened to.

As much as I like the music I can't bring myself to keep this. I'm sending it back.

Before anyone gets upset about my star rating please bear in mind that this is a customer review of the product. Not a musical review or a band review.

I would actually give the music 3.5 to 4. As a product though it is well below par.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Satisfied :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Bought it because I heard them on Jools Holland a long time ago, cant see this one being in my favourites some how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Padding, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Two great tracks so 2 stars. Those are the tracks we've heard everywhere and that have tempted us into buying the album. The rest is under-developed, under-produced padding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed, 2 Sep 2012
By 
James Grady (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
..not in the songs or the playing, but the sound of the cd. It's appalling. I can hardly listen to it. I don't think I've ever felt so disappointed as I was when I first played it. I've listened a few times since and it doesn't get any better.
I'd have thought their style of music would have been a great opportunity to release a recording as live, vibrant and dynamic as those which inspired them from the 60s and 70s. Unfortunately not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaken just nicely., 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
I saw these guys on Later and just had to get the album the next day, the energy is fantastic. The only complaint would be that as others have said this energy isn't as clear or edgy on the recording as it is with the live performance. It just seems a little dull on CD, almost as if you are listening through a slight fog.

Still extremely enjoyable and plays just great with the volume turned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
no comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boys & Girls, 3 Jun 2012
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
The sound quality on this album is so poor, someone should be hanging their head in shame. This should have been an excellent album but it is not as it is painful to listen to. This review is about the quality of the product not the music. A real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
DIFFERENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boys & Girls
Boys & Girls by Alabama Shakes (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews