Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul Wheels Keep On Turning
Another soulful presence joins the retro resurgence of 60s sounds, with Alabama Shakes and singer Brittany Howard's offering of Joplinesque vocals and Otis Redding timings, the latter sound echoed on 'You Ain't Alone' by the fine guitar work of Heath Fogg. Their live sound - seen on last night's 'Later....with Jools' - isn't fully captured on the album, especially the...
Published on 25 April 2012 by Glenn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's shaking
Alabama Shakes are one of the current 'next big thing' bands and with justification. I have a different view, however, on what is good and bad about this album to most of the other reviewers here. I haven't heard them live (I did see them on 'Later'), so I can't make that comparison. My feeling is that 'Boys and Girls' is a display of promise which is largely unfulfilled...
Published on 4 May 2012 by D. J. H. Thorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alabama shakes, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
i bought this album after hearing hold on , on the radio i love the whole album , she has an amazing voice. would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another new sound from the south, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
I guess Alamba Shakes are worth the hype that has surrounded them and Boys and Girls.
The sound is raw and sharp and distinctive. Brittany's voice will become a signature voice and will be a distinctive in its own way as Macy Gray's was.
Hold On and Hang Loose stand out but she/they is equally impressive in the slower tracks.
It is infectuous stuff and I have been playing it off and on ever since it arrved from the pre-order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous soul stomping rock, 15 April 2012
By 
Richard Neville "gnome of zurich" (Zurich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Just taken the headphones off! Wow! What a great debut! Superbly tight and soulful band, whose first album starts off brillinantly, and holds it, keeping you impressed and nodding and finger snapping until suddenly you are rocking along, swinging around until it builds to an almighty crescendo by the superb track nine 'Be Mine' and holds it right through to the very last note. Haven't enjoyed an album so much in years. Can't wait to see what their summer live tour schedule is. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, 12 April 2012
By 
A. Gill "andy600" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
I bought this on spec, it has exceeded my expectations, so soulful and the singers voice is great!

If you like real soul music buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great bluesy sound, 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Lead singer has a fantastic voice. The songs are mostly strong but there is a bit of sameiness. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
I picked this CD after hearing them play in Hyde Park last year - really love it and play it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb band, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
This is a truly great band. Was slightly put off by reviews saying they did not capture anything near their live performances however this is a brilliant album - only complaint slightly short however for a first album it is full of really good songs with great vocals. Certainly a band that will only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it! It's fantastic, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Awesome band live saw them at latitude and I was hooked.
The album does NOT dissapoint It just leaves you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 9 Mar 2014
By 
J. Singleton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
Such a great happy album. Good old fashioned blues and rock. Great vocals build to an exciting crescendo on most tracks. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars super cd, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boys & Girls (Audio CD)
a very well produced cd by a first time band into the market. Great production all round into the bargin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boys & Girls
Boys & Girls by Alabama Shakes (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews