Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
This is a good book. It covers all of the ideas of modern physics without the use of mathematics. While not a text book it does give a thorough background to the more popular topics covered at A level and undergraduate level physics: from the big bang through quantum physics and computing to chaos theory. The text is clear and the chapters are quite short: ideal for...
Published on 19 April 2010 by R. Small

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a bit too science heavy
I really want to like this book becasue it is really good and highlights lots of big physics questions and concepts that I am interested in but a little bit too muh focus was on the scientific part rather than the philosophical concepts. Great for anyone wanting to know more about the scientific elements of phisics but if you just want the ideas then maybe not the right...
Published 16 months ago by Katie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 19 April 2010
By 
R. Small (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good book. It covers all of the ideas of modern physics without the use of mathematics. While not a text book it does give a thorough background to the more popular topics covered at A level and undergraduate level physics: from the big bang through quantum physics and computing to chaos theory. The text is clear and the chapters are quite short: ideal for dipping in and out. The chapters do not go into great depth, so if you want more detail it might be better to read this followed by another book on your specific topic of interest. The cover is rigid and the elasticated strap-come-bookmark gives the book an authoritive feel. It is small and easy to carry round. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Question: Physics, 30 May 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`The Big Questions: Physics' is a A5 sized hardback book that explores twenty of the most intriguing questions about physics. Each question is approximately ten pages long and explains the basic concepts of physics in a relatively clear and erudite way. Topics covered include What is Time?, What Happened to Schrödinger's Cat?, What is the God Particle?, Why Does E=MC2?, Is String Theory Really About Strings? And more besides. There are various quotes smattered throughout, as well as diagrams to illustrate and clarify the more complex ideas. This is a good introduction to what can be a rather daunting subject and offers an easy way to engage with core ideas that affect us all. This book has a rubber band incorporated into the cover, like those found on stationary notebooks, which can be used as a bookmark and makes for a nice touch. All in all this is an interesting and thought provoking book that should stand you in good stead in understanding those key physic concepts that have always eluded you up until now.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 27 Feb 2011
This is a great little book.....which gives a good general overview of the most talked about topics in physics....including 'String Theory'.
It's A5 in size...so is good for those 'on the go' readers, like myself....and is nicely written with an easy to read layout, making the rather complex text seem easier to break down.
Although i thoroughly enjoyed this book, i felt that it couldn't possibly be appreciated fully, unless you have a good prior knowledge of physics, as it does not delve to deeply into scientific terminology. If you don't know anything about quantum physics or relativity...you may find it a little hard to follow.
It may be useful to read '50 Physics ideas' by Joanne Baker before attempting this one....as it will give you a sound understanding of the key concepts of physics first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Questions, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions: Physics (Kindle Edition)
Covers key ideas in physics. Did I enjoy it? - very much. Is it suitable for the general reader with curiosity about physics? - yes. Is mathematical knowledge needed? - not really. Are the ideas stimulating? - certainly. Does it look at more advanced issues? - yes. Are there any typos? - no. Is it good value? - yes. Would it provide a suitable background for further reading? - yes. Is the language clear and readable? - yes. Are the illustrations clear enough? - yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book... but BEWARE!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received this book yesterday and I know its brilliant even though I haven't read it. How? Because its exactly the same book as "Can we travel through time?" which I bought some time ago!D'oh!
Personally I don't think that's very clear from the description but maybe I'm a bit dim.

Anyway, it's a cracking read - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, good read, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions: Physics (Kindle Edition)
Book was informative and explained things of complexity in a relatively simple manner

Would recommend, has raised some good questions and makes you think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, want more, 16 Jan 2013
By 
A. Wilson (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book about physics. It is quite short but that is the point. It is a great introduction to physics and whets the appetite to learn more. Great service as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Questions: Physics (Kindle Edition)
Answers many questions but I am sure there are many more to be answered. Totally envigorating. Explanes many aspects of planetry sysstem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a bit too science heavy, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really want to like this book becasue it is really good and highlights lots of big physics questions and concepts that I am interested in but a little bit too muh focus was on the scientific part rather than the philosophical concepts. Great for anyone wanting to know more about the scientific elements of phisics but if you just want the ideas then maybe not the right one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Questions - Physics, 11 Dec 2011
An excellent book in all respects. The final chapter is mind-blowingly weird - makes one think really deeply about (so called?) reality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3b445c)

This product

The Big Questions: Physics
The Big Questions: Physics by Michael Brooks
1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews