Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping insight into the Ponzi Scheme of Global & Govt Finance
Having read almost all of the books written about the 2007/8 "Credit Crisis" and ensuing events, I have to say that "Planet Ponzi" is definitely one of the best by far.

Mitch Feierstein forensically details the shockingly dubious and some might say "fraudulent" accounting practices of governments and financial institutions all over the world and explains how...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by D. Howard

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feierstein's american conservative bias shines through
I heard about this book on the Keiser Report, and was expecting something like an insiders account of money markets and bond markets, but it turned out to be very general and somewhat superficial. Feierstein begins by writing about the excessive federal debt of the US, and although there's really nothing new here, I find his views somewhat disturbing.

For one...
Published 8 months ago by Elis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping insight into the Ponzi Scheme of Global & Govt Finance, 22 Feb 2012
By 
D. Howard "DeltaHotel" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Hardcover)
Having read almost all of the books written about the 2007/8 "Credit Crisis" and ensuing events, I have to say that "Planet Ponzi" is definitely one of the best by far.

Mitch Feierstein forensically details the shockingly dubious and some might say "fraudulent" accounting practices of governments and financial institutions all over the world and explains how trillions of dollars are spirited out of thin air while massive debts are "hidden" in financial black holes.

If you want to know what's really going on with our hard-earned taxes then I definitely recommend this book.

Considering how refreshingly eye-opening, fascinating, exposing and informative this book is, I am surprised "they" haven't tried to ban it being published.

More people should read this book - it's absolutely gripping and you will be amazed.

10/10 - Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Hardcover)
This book explains in normal, human, understandable language just why and how the world finances are in such a mess. In essence I found this book extremely good for a number of reasons, but the clarity is uppermost for me. One of the reasons I never entered the "banking/finance/theft" business, despite having a certain aptitude for it, is because at a very basic, logical sense, it made no sense. In other words, the "value" and "accounting processes" used by banks and their ilk is completely fictitious.
In addition to this the gobblydigook double-speak of the fork-tongued individuals who mainly populate this realm is enough to send you into a catatonic stupor within seconds. And finally, it has been my experience (and I have rubbed shoulders with several multi-millionaires and worked for a few billionaires) that the people in this field tend to have characters so devoid of ethics it is genuinely difficult for me to relate to them. Feierstein deconstructs all the veils and shadows and the boring language and writes in an entertaining as well as educational style. His sense of humour is a mixture of the British dry and the American gut-punch, making him very funny indeed. His sense of ethics is impeccable too and the book is an easy read, as he does not use any of the banking jargon without first explaining (usually in a funny way) what any of it means in normal language.. My only reservation, though it makes no impact at all on the quality of the book or the information within it (which I verified independently on several instances), is that there is precious little information on Mitch or his hedge fund online. There is also no information on his hedge fund registered with companies house. None of this is particularly suspicious though, it is also my experience wealthy people and hedge fund managers are notoriously careful about leaving their details all over the net. And his hedge fund may be registered somewhere other than the UK.
In any event, the book is a joy to read and it should really be required reading for everyone. His advice at the end of the book on steps you can take to protect your money and investments (regardless of whether it's a few hundred bucks in the bank or a few millions) is extremely pertinent and valuable. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mitch for President, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Damien Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books you will ever read and one of the most important. The author recounts in detail and in language even I could understand how a cabal of criminal bankers, criminal bureaucrats, criminal politicians and various other scoundrels of the global system have stolen your future and your children's future, very likely bankrupted the planet and almost without exception GOT AWAY WITH IT. Not only have they got away scott-free - none are in gaol, where they most certainly deserve to be; few if any have had any of their illegally-gained profits and so-called 'bonuses' taken away from them; none have had their aasets sequestered in an effort to recapture our lost wealth - but you my friend, the honest every taxpayers have been left to pick up the tab. And you know the worst of it - it's only going to get worse. You need to read this book because as Mitch says, either he's right or he's crazy - and if he's right you'd better be ready, for your sake and that of your loved-ones. MF comes across as being an honest, funny, spirited, principled, and extremely decent individual - and i firmly believe he has written this book for no other reason than to act as a clarion call to arms. If Mitch stood for President - or perhaps i should say PM as I'm a Brit - I would vote for him a thousand times over. How about it, Mitch? As you yourself say in your book, t's never too late to save the world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Mitch Feierstein has written an excellent book on Wall Street financial capital Ponzi mega fraud and catastrophic Planet Ponzi economics. The book has the right balance of technical detail and as well as being highly readable. It is witty and very entertaining and lots of clear explanations. Mitch Feierstein concludes that Ponzi economics and Ponzi banking will self-destruct as it can’t be patched up, and it shouldn’t have been attempted, as it just prolongs the agony. Mitch is a little soft on Britain (Mitch must have some close friends in Britain that he does not want to see get too upset). No need to worry about us Mitch we already know the UK economy is ‘Going South’! A truly excellent book. Bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Hardcover)
Really good book, and easy to read when subjects are complicated.
I will advise to anyone to read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feierstein's american conservative bias shines through, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
I heard about this book on the Keiser Report, and was expecting something like an insiders account of money markets and bond markets, but it turned out to be very general and somewhat superficial. Feierstein begins by writing about the excessive federal debt of the US, and although there's really nothing new here, I find his views somewhat disturbing.

For one thing, he thinks that the fact that a lot of US debt is held by foreigners as a problem only for the USA, while in fact it is a problem mainly for the holders of that debt. In essence, it is just the same scheme the USA has pulled before, like when Nixon stopped exchanging dollars for gold, i.e. running a massive current account deficit, and then defaulting on their obligations by inflating the dollar, thereby costing other countries trillions. And as long as the dollar is the world's major reserve currency, why should they act otherwise? If there is a free lunch, eat it.

Also, although Feierstein does support higher taxes for rich people, his views are very conservative. For example, when writing about the US military budget, his main example of wasteful expenditure is the 300 million dollars spent by AFRICOM to fight piracy, trafficking, illigal fishing etc. in Africa. This amounts to a laughable 0.04% of the total military budged, so why does Feierstein bother about it? Because he thinks it involves helping poor people, and thus must be a waste of money by definition.

Admittedly, I gave up after reading the first 70 pages, but maybe once I force myself to read the rest of it I will change opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, a must read., 26 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Excellent book, I wish I'd read it two years ago. As someone who has been following the current crisis of capitalism since the start of the credit crunch back in 2008 I was already aware of most of the information in this book, but Mitch Feierstein brings it all together into a coherent whole, and provides a background to understand what has happened since this book was published in 2012.
Be afraid, be very afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Ponzi, 18 May 2013
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Kindle Edition)
Excellent, this book is a must for a wake up call ! Mitch explains that society is bankrupt, and too much trust is in the hands of too few. We must be less trusting and question more.
It is well written with a wide open view on the financial environment, it's not pretty and its scary. We have to be more attentive and vocal.
Thanks Mitch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Mitch Feierstein , makes this easy to follow ,lots of diagrams ,history and latest happenings ..and gobsmacking in its content .Should be read by everyone in the uk , no matter what politics or economical background. It just makes you realize what an economic mess the world is in , and a huge cover up is in place , and that politicians of ALL parties , are just interested in feathering their own nests, with their cast iron pensions , inherited or gained wealth, and ALL are in the pocket of the bankers .He shows how the world is based on a world of fantasy .The world of banks is not based in holding assets, but credit, leverage and debt.and Global QE of which there is no exit at all to that strategy. He Proves through logic that these bubbles / ponzi schemes ..just cannot be sustained.The incredible level of dept by all nations is just not being addressed.
I dont necessarily agree with his take on the uk,that they are trying their best , to get out of this ..compared to japan, europe and the usa , i think we are just as bad ..When in 2000 " goldfinger" brown sold off ,much of the uks gold sovereignty 400 tonnes at 200 dollar a ounce, when even now its well over 1200dollars an ounce. Nice one Gordon .!!!. "To big to fail", Was a green light to these criminal bankers . to weigh down future generations with years and years of dept . The mainstream media BBC just do not report any of these things , to busy keeping us comatose , by telling us all about the next series of "Strictly come dancing "

Planet ponzi is great, but ever so scary also ...Buy it you will not regret it. excellent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful reading, a catalyst to awareness, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Planet Ponzi (Paperback)
Mitch has done a great of job informing his readers of the critical condition the economies of the World now find themselves in. He does come off as a pessimist although he states more than once he really isn't trying to.

The scales of the sums he discusses tend to become so vast that they almost lose all meaning but Mitch does a great job of illustrating just how much $200 Trillion dollars really is.

It's all very well writing the history of the economic collapse and the current state of play but Mitch also rounds off with a few well received tips on what happens next and how to prepare.

Because of his book I've now begun my own search for the "truth". I'm reading another economics book in direct conflict with Mitch's pro-austerity views and I guess I'll come down on one side or the other...hopefully.

Not one for the Keynesians but for anyone with even a modicum of interest in economics I would highly recommend!

Looking forward to Mitch's next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Ponzi
Planet Ponzi by Mitch Feierstein
4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews