Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a cracker!
short but sweet, fast paced, relentless with no filler! this is what I would call a classy bit of fiction! so yes I liked it, get it, then get on his case to write the next part!
Published on 5 Jan. 2013 by J. A. Wolff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars too short a story to grasp, needs more of a story
i felt that I just got a small story from this book. It was all too quick. If it had been better planned out and more to the characters. I kind of felt that I had read this in an hour and got nothing that I could boast about. I would not recommend it if you want a big story line.
Published 18 months ago by laura watt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a cracker!, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
J. A. Wolff (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
short but sweet, fast paced, relentless with no filler! this is what I would call a classy bit of fiction! so yes I liked it, get it, then get on his case to write the next part!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new, refreshing take on the genre, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
Azina is a mercenary, the no-nonsense female leader of a group of misfits who earn their living as hired guns. A group of `prospectors', searching for the forgotten wealth of a planet struggling to rebuild two centuries after a zombie plague, have gone missing in a sealed bunker. Azina and her team of diverse mercenaries are assigned to find the small group. Once inside the bunker they stumble upon a buried city and things quickly turn chaotic. The city isn't as deserted as they thought, and what crawls from the darkness is a horror mankind thought it'd never see again.

Hive, by Griffin Hayes, is a short novella which feels shorter than it is because the outstanding prose drags you along at breakneck speed. The characters have their quirks but each one is identifiable and come alive off the page; even Bron, a larger than life man outfitted in steel plates with twin 20mm cannons built into his arms. He's some dude you definitely want on your side. But the joy of this book's characters is the lead, Azina: told in first person present tense, the musings of Azina are simply awesome, and immediately pull you into her skin.

"Pennies is fiddling with the cuff of his tunic. His eyes keep dropping to my breasts and I'm a second away from knocking his teeth straight into his nasal cavity." There, right there, on page one, you know Azina is not to be messed with and you instantly admire her demeanor and bad-ass attitude.

The world Hayes creates inside the crumbling subterranean city is just as life-like as the characters thrust into this horrific situation. It's Earth, a shopping mall with stores such as Armani, Ralph Lauren, and Chanel--only it's two hundred years after the zombie apocalypse and the place is a collapsing hell-hole filled with the nightmares of past horrors. And these horrors lend a new, refreshing take on the genre, which only serve to increase their danger, and heighten the tension of Azina and her gang, trapped in the depths with them.

Perhaps you think I'm gushing with too much praise, but like dark blood gushing from the cleaved skull of an undead Zee, this praise is worth being spilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and original, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
I picked this up with loads of other free books. I read a couple of pages and was hooked. It is a new take on the genre. If you are tired of endless rewrites of the walking dead or Dawn of the Dead this is the book for you. A team of crack mercenaries goes down to bunker looking for prospectors but of course they find something far worse.
It is not often I think that you have a mix SF with horror and get a good novel. Hayes has done this with Hive.
After reading this I bought the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hive, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
Not sure what to make of it! Zombies,aplenty, fast paced and action packed with like able characters but the glowing eyes did it for me. Okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good zombie novel, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
Very good zombie (Zee's for short) novel set 200 years after the world as we know it falls. Very fallout 3 in style and story the city seems like a luxury vault, only complaints weapon detail hazy as is the character building but the story is woven together in only 80 pages. I got this copy when it was free on amazon uk, would I spend my own money on hive 2-3 ? Yes I would, and in fact intend to. Don't miss out if you like zombies or fallout or even sci fi apocalyptic fiction then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced story and an intriguing world. Great book., 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
This was well written, fast paced and very enjoyable. It's quite a short story but there are plenty of good ideas packed in there. The world the mercenaries, and those with them, live in seeps through into the story and leaves you wanting to know more.

The main story deals with them delving into an underground settlement which isn't half as quiet as it should be. The characters all feel solid and believable, as do the decisions they make along the way. Highly recommended, and I look forward to reading more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It was packed with zombies and action. Set in a futuristic time after a zombie apocalypse it was really interesting seeing what the author thinks it would be like. The characters were well thought out although together as a team they all have different personalities and agendas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
This book is an outstanding short read, and was a couple of hours well spent for me reading this! I thoroughly enjoyed the story and can't wait to read the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars like it, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
this is the sort of book you start to read not knowing what to expect,, read it from start to finish in 1 session ,need i say more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars too short a story to grasp, needs more of a story, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive (Kindle Edition)
i felt that I just got a small story from this book. It was all too quick. If it had been better planned out and more to the characters. I kind of felt that I had read this in an hour and got nothing that I could boast about. I would not recommend it if you want a big story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hive
Hive by Griffin Hayes
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews