Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book about the misadventures of a traveller and animal enthuasist
I do like Peter Allison's books and felt the wait for this one was too long - write the next one quicker please! This is funny book by a genuine animal enthuasist, this time exploring South America (previous books which you must read were set in Botswana where he was a safari guide). Genuine self deprecating humour, very interesting tales, his enthuasim for the people,...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Michelle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his usual
This book has lost a lot of the hilarious look at life the author had in his previous books on africa as a safari guide. Perhaps his foray into south america did not have the same enthusiasm he had whilst in Africa? Feels like its not the same author in every way.
Published 20 months ago by kandyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book about the misadventures of a traveller and animal enthuasist, 18 April 2012
By 
Michelle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do like Peter Allison's books and felt the wait for this one was too long - write the next one quicker please! This is funny book by a genuine animal enthuasist, this time exploring South America (previous books which you must read were set in Botswana where he was a safari guide). Genuine self deprecating humour, very interesting tales, his enthuasim for the people, the places and the animals coms through page after page. He genuinely does walk a puma, in between getting jumped on, bitten and dragged through the undergrowth only using trees as a brake, as well as spending time deep in the Amazon and exploring round South America.

If you imagine Peter Allison as Steve Irwin meets Gerard Durrell after shaking hands with Bruce Parry then you'll get the idea. I can't recommend this book highly enough and urge a) people to read this one and his other two books and b) Peter to write another one ASAP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eighteen very entertaining months in South America, 6 April 2012
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Peter Allison is an animal enthusiast who spent eight years working at an African safari lodge (documented in his two previous books, DON'T RUN, Whatever You Do: My Adventures as a Safari Guide and Don't Look Behind You: True Tales of a Safari Guide. In 2009-2010, he spent 18 months traveling around South America and this book is about his adventures on that continent. They include living naked with an Ecuadorian native tribe, exploring glaciers in Patagonia, near death on an Bolivian river and volunteering at a wildlife shelter where his job required taking a puma for its daily exercise (and frequently being bitten in return). The variety of locations makes it more disjointed than his previous books, but it's just as pleasurable to read.

Allison is a very entertaining and self-deprecating writer, who makes the most of his adventures. The kind of guy you'd love to sit next to on a plane or strike up a conversation with in a pub. I particularly enjoyed the very amusing chapters about his experiences "walking" Roy the puma. He has a very good way of communicating what his travel experience was like, both the highs (invariably involving encounters with local people and wildlife) and lows (brutal illnesses, bull ants, lurking caiman crocodiles, tiresome tourists). While ultimately many of the stories amount to "something bad almost happened, but didn't", they are still great fun and well told.

Don't read this book to find out more about individual countries in South America or to gain any particular insight into the continent: instead, read it to be genuinely entertained with occasional laugh out loud moments. If exotic and adventurous travel is not on your 2012 calendar, this is the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hugely amusing, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't read this book in public or you might find yourself laughing out loud. A great read and a good book to buy as a gift for anyone who loves animals. This is definitely different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Walk a Puma: and other things I learned while stumbling through South America (Kindle Edition)
I like Peter Allison's writing and he always makes an amusing entertaining read. He has been fortunate to travel a lot and to collect his experiences together to write about afterwards in a light hearted and light way. what he lacks in depth he oozes in self deprecation and funny anecdotes. Definitly cheers me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to Walk A Puma & other things I learned, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Walk a Puma: and other things I learned while stumbling through South America (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, but not quite as much as his first two. His description of his antics is hilarious at times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A readable book, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book by this author that I have read.
Whilst I gave it 4 stars, I did,nt enjoy it as much as there didn,t appear to be so much content in the book, a lot of the content included the travelling aspect - and the "Joys" of being on the road more so than when he finally reached his destinations. I think that was because he had to travel long distances to even get to the smallest, remote places but saying that, the humour was there which made it a readable, enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny & enjoyable read, 17 May 2013
By 
Kerry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Walk a Puma: and other things I learned while stumbling through South America (Kindle Edition)
Laughed out loud at moments on my holiday reading this book, good animal stories liked it a lot. Will look for his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not his usual, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Walk a Puma: and other things I learned while stumbling through South America (Kindle Edition)
This book has lost a lot of the hilarious look at life the author had in his previous books on africa as a safari guide. Perhaps his foray into south america did not have the same enthusiasm he had whilst in Africa? Feels like its not the same author in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable wildlife, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Walk a Puma: and other things I learned while stumbling through South America (Kindle Edition)
I have read his other books , they are all entertaining , funny and a really good read . Can't wait for his next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another 'must have' for the animal lover's library, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
Mats Nilson (Sorsele, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For some, to me entirely obscure, reason, I haven't got around to reading 'How to Walk a Puma' until last evening. I read it, as is my wont with the Allison oeuvre, in one go to the point where my girlfriend began wondering if I was alright, what with my staying prostrate in bed for hours with no other signs of brain activity than frequent paroxysms of insane laughter.

It may not have been quite as hilarious as the previous two books, though, but that was entirely made up for by this one being all the more gripping. The conservation message, I think, is more powerful and thought-provoking, and I'm still at a loss for words when it comes to the author and the Minke. Come on! Surely that must've been more than 'scientific whaling'!

If you're at all into zoology, on and off dreaming of wildlife adventures, or just up for a good laugh in an animal and conservation context - this, as well as Allison's previous books, are must haves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews