Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every little thing it does is (almost) magic
This is a smart little cleaner that is ready assembled and just needs a 2-hour charge before it is ready to start doing its job. It has a couple of minor drawbacks but more positives to outweigh those and, whilst it feels slightly gimmicky, the end results are pretty impressive.

In the box you receive the red robotic cleaner, a brush shield, charging station,...
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed after 10 days usage
Initial opinion was the product was good value and more or less did what was expected, but on day 10 after only being used a few times the product failed with a C01 error followed all the instructions to clear the error with no success. There is nothing worse than having to return a product you want to last at least a few years that fails in the second week. This is the...
Published on 12 Dec 2012 by Nick o las


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every little thing it does is (almost) magic, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
This is a smart little cleaner that is ready assembled and just needs a 2-hour charge before it is ready to start doing its job. It has a couple of minor drawbacks but more positives to outweigh those and, whilst it feels slightly gimmicky, the end results are pretty impressive.

In the box you receive the red robotic cleaner, a brush shield, charging station, cleaning tool and detailed instruction manual. Whilst the manual is comprehensive it is an intuitive cleaner to use and nothing is too onerous.

* Ease of Use

Once charged the navibot can clean for up to 90 minutes; mine seems to go for about 75/80 minutes on a single charge, which is enough to clean (thoroughly) my kitchen, hallway and lounge. You need to have somewhere convenient to site the charging station semi-permanently as the navibot starts to discharge whilst not docked.

Set to auto, the navibot will clean every room to which it is allowed access. For most effective cleaning as well as to avoid jams, you need to have tidied up and ensured small objects are picked up - any tassels on rugs need to be tucked underneath to avoid getting tangled up as well. It might sound obvious but the more help you can give in terms of a clear run, the better the cleaning achieved.

A more intensive clean can be achieved with a 'max' cleaning mode - I found that achieved very good results on the mats in front of the cat flap, removing all cat fur and other debris brought in on their paws.

There is also an option to spot clean - the navibot will clean a small area for a couple of minutes, again with good results.

Once it senses it needs to be recharged, it makes its way back to the charging station and docks all by itself, although this can take quite a while if it has travelled a distance. You can help it on its way to reduce recharging time by carrying it back.

My cats don't like a normal vacuum cleaner (to varying degrees) but are all more tolerant of the navibot and are more curious than concerned as it goes about its work. It hasn't bumped into one of them yet though...

* Cleaning ability - Pluses and Minuses

This is a bit of a mixed bag, some of which are to be expected from a circular cleaning appliance that goes about its business with little human intervention other than preparation work.

It cleans to an impressive degree, coping well with cat fur in addition to the normal dust and other debris that gathers on floors. It also cleans doormats, managing to lift the pile as it does so. The dust bin holds quite a lot given the size of the cleaner and it is easy to empty - and can even be rinsed under the tap.

It manages to go under some furniture (an armchair, my desk, tables) that have enough clearance for it - 9/10 cm seems enough, items that are difficult to clean under with a normal vacuum unless moved.

It can't clean to corners and appears to dislike going into alcove-type areas in a room, particularly if it has sensed an obstacle nearby - even if there is enough room for it to fit; I have even tried starting it in such an area and it always makes a bolt for another part of the room instead. I also found that it seems to get stuck on top of rugs where the tassels have been tucked underneath (as instructed). It copes fine when it comes to getting onto thick rugs as well as thinner cotton types though.

It doesn't like curtains down to floor level and sees those as an obstacle to be avoided, which means it does not clean as close to edges as it could - unless you can lift the curtains out of the way.

The negative points were mostly expected and are minor overall when compared to what the navibot can do. The best thing is that, at the end of a long day at the office, I can close the office door and leave the navibot to exhaust itself cleaning so I can return to a clean room the following day.

* Summary

It takes the navibot a long time to clean a room and a lot of human preparation is necessary if you want thorough results. It seems to need the whole of its (approximate) 90 minutes run time to clean three separate areas, so is no good if you are in a hurry. Carpets, rugs, wooden floors and tiles all look clean once it has passed over and the fact it can get underneath some awkward furniture as part of the process is very handy. But the fact is you can get on with something else whilst it does the cleaning... as long as you can resist the temptation to watch every little move it makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
Given that this is the cheapest unit in the range, I had limited expectations. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the performance it achieved. The combination of suction and brushing has got my carpets very clean in the covered areas. The waste bin is easy to empty without getting anything on your hands. When it does bump into edges, it does so very gently without risking marking. When it does get snarled in stray cable (yes, you have to be tidy to get the most out of one of these), it promptly stops its motors and bleeps for help.

The difference between this model and the more expensive SR8855 is the accessories: this one does not come with the 'virtual wall' devices -- not an issue if you want it to clean all the reachable space. The lack of a remote control is not a problem -- how much effort is it to bend over and press 'go'?

One necessary caveat: robotic vacuum cleaners do not replace manual cleaners, because due to their shape and size they cannot reach right to the edge. What they are good at is giving regular thorough coverage to open areas in a way that would be tedious if done by hand. If you understand that as the purpose of the product, you will not be disappointed.

It's easy to go on about the shortcomings, but they are common to all of the robotic vacuum cleaners. This particular product does a good job as a substantially lower price than many of its competitors: five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful gadget, 24 Aug 2012
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
I'm rather pleased with this little robotic vacuum cleaner. It's really quite an endearing thing, with a design that has plenty of visual appeal, somewhat resembling a giant ladybird! It's roughly 35cm in diameter and 9cm tall - so not too intrusive, but not so small that you find yourself constantly tripping over it.

I bought this at a vastly reduced price and am very satisfied that it does what I expected it to. The robot will either i) vacuum multiple rooms on a single floor ('auto' setting) or ii) concentrate upon a user-selected area of about 1.5 square metres ('spot' setting). You can program the NaviBot to clean until such time as it runs out of power (via the 'max' option). Once it does run low on power, the robot is able to return itself automatically to its docking station and start to recharge - which takes roughly 2 hours. If the NaviBot hadn't finished its cleaning schedule, it even picks up where it left off after it charge cycle has completed! Selecting programs isn't too intimidating a task - requiring just a couple of button presses.

It's not a perfect vacuum. But, then, you can't expect it to be. Its feelers and rounded shape (plus rubber side protection) help to prevent it from damaging furniture, but also prevent it from getting into corners/edges - both those natural to the build of a room, and those created by furniture within it. However, this DOES seem to do a pretty good job of maintaining the most heavily trafficked areas, leaving only small amounts of tidy-up requiring manual cleaning.

For me this is a nice little helping hand, though I do have to be careful about where/when I use it, as my dog finds the NaviBot quite upsetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this mainly because I was recovering from a leg injury and couldn't vacuum, thinking it will be better than nothing, however, I am very impressed with it. On short carpet and hard floor it is just amazing, and even on my very thick, albeit tight woven lounge carpet it does a very good job, due to the roller brush it actually brings my carpet up looking fresher than my conventional vacuum (Dyson). On longer carpet the battery doesn't last as long, but that's expected, but it still lasts a decent length.

As far as limitations go, it does an OK (not amazing) job at edges, but by it's nature it just can't get into corners, but a quick flick with a duster or hand-held vacuum, which takes a second or two and isn't a big problem.

For best results I use it most days, which is zero effort, just press one button and leave alone.

Warning - it is strangely addictive to watch it going about it's business. LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of vacuuming!, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
Well I have two cats which provide a constant supply of cat hair that finds it's way to every corner of the house. Running this once a day has really helped keep down the hair and fluff. This does a great job of routine cleaning, consistently negotiating the whole house and returning to it's charger when it's done. I also have a small child... and it has vacuumed up beads, small lego pieces and other bits that I didn't even know were on the floor! For upstairs, I just carry it up, put it on the floor and hit the start button.

I have wooden and tile floors, it does a really good job on these. The sensors do stop it bumping into most things - it sees objects at about 5cm from the floor. Anything shorter and it will run into them. It also fails to see anything shiny, like my stainless steel fridge or cooker, however despite it bumping in to these, no damage has been caused.

Be prepared to make some minor adjustments to your house for it to work smoothly. It can get stuck on short objects and caught on cables if they are not tidy against the wall. You need to have clear floors (so no toys lying around!) I had it drive itself on top of my cats food bowl and get stuck. Problem solved by buying a new higher cat bowl. It gives up trying to get into small spaces, so don't expect it to negotiate under a dining table with multiple chairs very well.

The navigation system works well, it does actually seem to know where it's going and where it's been, methodically going back to bits it's missed if you have a weird shaped house. One tip is that it navigates much better in a bright room, so if it's dark day, turn on some lights! Despite having a camera that is supposed to map the ceiling for navigation, it will work under the sofa, which in my case is only 2cm higher than the robot.

The instructions talk about positioning the charger station away from objects, however all it really needs it about 1.5m of space directly out in front of it. I have managed to tuck my charger in a corner of the room, under a chair and it still manages to dock and undock automatically.

It doesn't vacuum up right up to the edge of every room so you will still have to do some manual work occasionally, however I haven't noticed cat hair building up anywhere so I think the spinning brushes are blowing bits away from the edges of the room. I don't think this would work as well on carpet.

I don't know how we lived without one. People say that it doesn't replace a vacuum, but it certainly reduces the amount of times you have to do it manually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SR8825, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
Just bought an SR 8825. Very impressed. Was pretty sceptical that it could deal with hairs from 2 cats and a dog, as well as standard domestic hoovering. It actually does exactly what it says on the box, with all the functions, and not just some of them, and as a bonus, cleans well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, fun to watch, actually works!, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
I knew this would never replace our Dyson but for an 'interim' clean it does the job very well. If you miss a bit or fail to vacuum something up you can go over it again with a 'normal' vacuum cleaner but the robot can't do that which is why I gave it 4 starts instead of 5 but that is really the only negative.

You have to do a bit of preparation before setting the thing off such as making sure cables are tucked away and stuff the kids leave around like school bags are off the floor but that's about it.

Press go and she's off - the instructions say it won't work in the dark but I found this not to be the case. It seemed to perform just as well when moving into a dark room as it does in a well lit one.

It has a sensor on the underside so that it recognises a drop so that it can't fall down the stairs and generally it senses an obstacle before it hits it and finds an alternative path.

Hard and soft floors are no problem and even a deep pile rug in front of the fire didn't present an issue.

The thing it doesn't have is a height sensor so although it's great at cleaning under beds, etc it got itself stuck under the TV unit which is a fraction lower than the height of the robot. I had to rescue her!

Once complete the robot switches off the cleaning mechanism and trundles back to the charging station - cool!

Emptying the dust is easy and if the collection bin becomes full it will stop and beep at you until you empty it. The rotary brush needs frequent cleaning as long hairs and fluff get tangled in it.

The other thing it doesn't have is an automatic timing mode which is a shame. You either have to manually set it going or you can set a delay timer but there is no option to carry out a clean at a specified time each day (I.e. first thing in the morning before everybody wakes up - that would have been a great feature)

Overall - very impressed. I didn't expect to perform as well as it does and as prices have fallen recently this is a good buy. It won't totally eradicate manual vacuuming but I would say it cuts it down by over half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed after 10 days usage, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Initial opinion was the product was good value and more or less did what was expected, but on day 10 after only being used a few times the product failed with a C01 error followed all the instructions to clear the error with no success. There is nothing worse than having to return a product you want to last at least a few years that fails in the second week. This is the second time out of two purchases that I have found Samsung products to be disappointing and would recommend that other options are explored before buying Samsung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective and time saving for smaller rooms, 23 Sep 2012
By 
A. Evans (Sale, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
I purchased the Samsung NaviBot when it was on a lightning deal, and I am very happy with it for the price I paid. It isn't perfect, but once its limitations are appreciated and worked around, it turns out to be a great time saving device that is capable of a quality clean.

I am giving it four stars rather than five as it does have some limitations which may limit the machine's suitability for some. For example, it can get trapped on items of furniture (such as the legs of the POÄNG chair by Ikea), or seemingly get stuck in a cyclic pattern at the corner of the room. Moving the chairs is easy enough, and less work then vacuuming the room itself, at least for our room layout, but this may not be the case for everyone. Stopping and restarting the cleaning programme breaks the cyclic pattern, and the robot cleans the room as usual.

The robot won't operate in the dark, so it can't be made to clean the floors over night. This appears to be because the robot navigates around the room by inspecting the shape of the ceiling.

Large rooms have proven problematic at times, as the robot has missed sections. In smaller rooms the robot is systematic and covers most of the floor on each run, and it is pretty quick, too. The floor it is able to access in our living room is approximately 2.5 by 3.4 metres (8 by 11 feet), and takes about five minutes to clean.

It hunts and finds its charging station quickly once I open the door to allow it into the hall where the station lives. The robot is light enough to pick up and take to whichever room I need to clean, and the battery lasts for several rooms. If it can't find the charging station, it eventually stops.

Besides the issues we've encountered, the robot is a real time saver, and does a good job of cleaning the floor. It seems to pull up more dirt and hair than our Dyson upright. This is probably down to the powered brush, which does a great job on carpet, tile and wood laminate. It is easy to remove trapped hair from the brush, if this becomes a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SR8825 NaviBot Robotic Vacuum Cleaner Red (Kitchen & Home)
In theory, you can set this going and leave it to work while you go out shopping...you can, indeed, do this but its much more fun to watch it negotiating its way round the furniture. And its a good cleaner to boot !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews