Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fortress
Enjoyed the film even though the digital work could have been better!Not a bad storyline.Would recommend it to anyone who likes WW2 stuff.
Published 19 months ago by N G Stewart

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Watch.
I've watched the film twice now and can honestly say its not as bad as the other reviewers are making out.
Yes it's a very low budget war movie, with some iffy cgi in places, but it serves it's purpose and helps tell the story very well.
You can see it was a labour of love for the filmakers and I think the director, editor cast and crew did an admiral job, which...
Published on 29 Jun 2012 by Bourne1886


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Fortress [Blu-ray], 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As some of the review have said not the best war related film I have seen but perfectly watchable.
A lot of CGI but its probably better than using models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For The Price It's Not Bad, 20 Mar 2014
By 
A. R. Robson "Aussie the Kiwi" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
At 2 pound 96 pence minus the Vat plus postage this bluray cost $12.00 Landed in New Zealand Dollars for a movie that is unknown here.Well that's good value I think.
The film on a 150" screen looks OK only stereo sound not 5.1 as stated on the slip sheet but a reasonable watch.I thought it was better than Red Tails which is also unheard of down here because it was not so full of the old American ho ha. yes the cgi was alright . Conclusion it was a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars low budget but good story, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fortress [DVD] (DVD)
The CGI effects are not really up the the standard expected of a good WW2 cinema film, but this made for DVD movie has some good moments. The storyline involves a young pilot newly recruited into a crew of a B-17 Flying Fortress bomber on missions over Sicily in 1943.

The story has enough content to hold the interest throughout, and although none of the cast are big names the acting is convincing enough.

Good entertainment but not a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Typical 2WW movie., 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie started out great but suddenly the story thinned out and it seems that all money wont to advanced computer created scenes. To bad ... It could have been a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fortress, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Was pleasantly surprised by this, good film with a good engaging story line. One of the gems that you cant help think if only they had got a bit more funding then it would of been a REALLY good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable if Purchased Cheap, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Fortress [DVD] (DVD)
B17 Flying Fortress films will be compared to Memphis Belle and in that regard this is the poorer film. The Cgi flight/fight sequences are acceptable to good but do appear more flight simulator then weathered realistic warbirds. Some flight scenes are from aviation point of view fantastical and totally impossible in an aircraft of this size. However I did enjoy the film the interaction between flight crew and
ground crew was amusing and entertaining. Its a B movie through and through with a predictable plot and ending, but if you like aircraft of this era or a good B movie with Sherman the sherminator from American pie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fortress, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the film even though the digital work could have been better!Not a bad storyline.Would recommend it to anyone who likes WW2 stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY GOOD WAR FILM, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Tiger (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fortress [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
According to IMDb this film cost only $200,000 to make. It was money extremely well spent. It doesn't have the post production veneer or starry cast of a big budget movie but is still extremely good. As a benchmark I'd say "Pearl Harbor" is a one star movie whilst "Das Boot", "Saving Private Ryan" & "Stalingrad" are 5 star movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a surprisingly good film, 5 Aug 2012
This review is from: Fortress [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this movie at a budget price and expected it to be mediocre. Instead, I enjoyed the movie from start to finish and the CGI from the start was excellent. OK the acting may not have been overly brilliant but perfectly acceptable. I have brought a number of DVDs where the star ratings were high on Amazon such as Iron Sky but found that movie and others to be rubbish, but this one is a keeper despite its low ratings. Don't be put off and go buy it. It is certainly worth a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE RUBBISH, 24 Feb 2013
By 
8 Sheds (Sunny Suffolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress [DVD] (DVD)
PLEASE DO NOT WASTE MONEY ON THIS , I HAD TO FAST FORWARD MOST OF THE FILM TO GET TO THE STORY.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortress [Blu-ray]
Fortress [Blu-ray] by Mike Phillips (Blu-ray - 2012)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews