Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone are the Draughts
So simple and easy to fit and set up. No messing about and no mess.
It took longer to read the instructions than it took to fit 10/10
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by Paul Andrew Woodfield

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg
This is a mixed product. When they work, they are fantastic. We now have 4 in our house, and they have made a noticeable difference to the warmth of the place, and have eliminated drafts from the chimneys altogether. The problem is, getting one that works right. We have had 5 in total. Of those, one simply deflated overnight, falling out of the chimney. We sent it back,...
Published 8 months ago by Alan


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
This is a mixed product. When they work, they are fantastic. We now have 4 in our house, and they have made a noticeable difference to the warmth of the place, and have eliminated drafts from the chimneys altogether. The problem is, getting one that works right. We have had 5 in total. Of those, one simply deflated overnight, falling out of the chimney. We sent it back, and received a prompt refund. The other problem has been suffered by all 5, and it's a manufacturing and quality control fault. The valve through which you inflate the sock isn't made properly, and certainly isn't inspected. That means that the hole is either too small or covered up altogether by plastic flashing - a thin piece of plastic which covers the hole and is caused by the halves of the mold being a bad fit. Pretty poor show. It's easy to fix with a very thin blade or narrow screwdriver, but I don't expect to have to do this to EVERY one of the 5 I bought. Shame, because that poor quality control spoils what would otherwise be a fantastic product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gone are the Draughts, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Paul Andrew Woodfield "broken rod" (Burntwood, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
So simple and easy to fit and set up. No messing about and no mess.
It took longer to read the instructions than it took to fit 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Draft free at last, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
This really does work, despite my misgivings, and our 'feature fireplace' is no longer a howling windtunnel. What a brilliantly simple solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chimsoc, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
Received product promptly, read the instructions and found it simple to insert and is doing the job I bought it for perfectly. It is making a big difference to the temp, sound and bits that used to fall down. Fully recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Fit!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
I purchased this to block off a draughty un-used chimney and it's done the job - spot on!
Reasonable price and easy to fit. Fast delivery.
Very happy and would recommend to anyone with a draughty chimney stack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very versatile, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
This product is probably fine if you have a modern chimney with a circular pipe close to the fireplace. If, on the other hand, you have an older fireplace which is irregular its worth considering how well it will fit given that the material is not too flexible (and if manhandled will split).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so far so good, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
it goes up the chimney and blocks wind, soot and bird bits. Hurrah. I need to write 7 more words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggle to keep it inflated and up the chimney, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
When this is fully inflated (done with a balloon pump) it works extrmely well, but you do seem to have to top it up regularly which is a bit irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay for the time I used it, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
Did make a difference for the short time used. Had the chimney swept ready for new real flame gas fire, and chimney sweep told me I could have used a blown up bin bag instead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chimsoc, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chimsoc - Medium Rectangle - Balloon For Chimney Up To 60cm x 30cm (24" x 12") (Misc.)
Burst when trying to use it ended up using bubble wrap up the chimmney which seems to do at least the same job if not better. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews