Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

194
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2013
This is a mixed product. When they work, they are fantastic. We now have 4 in our house, and they have made a noticeable difference to the warmth of the place, and have eliminated drafts from the chimneys altogether. The problem is, getting one that works right. We have had 5 in total. Of those, one simply deflated overnight, falling out of the chimney. We sent it back, and received a prompt refund. The other problem has been suffered by all 5, and it's a manufacturing and quality control fault. The valve through which you inflate the sock isn't made properly, and certainly isn't inspected. That means that the hole is either too small or covered up altogether by plastic flashing - a thin piece of plastic which covers the hole and is caused by the halves of the mold being a bad fit. Pretty poor show. It's easy to fix with a very thin blade or narrow screwdriver, but I don't expect to have to do this to EVERY one of the 5 I bought. Shame, because that poor quality control spoils what would otherwise be a fantastic product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
So simple and easy to fit and set up. No messing about and no mess.
It took longer to read the instructions than it took to fit 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 29 June 2013
This really does work, despite my misgivings, and our 'feature fireplace' is no longer a howling windtunnel. What a brilliantly simple solution.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 April 2013
I purchased this to block off a draughty un-used chimney and it's done the job - spot on!
Reasonable price and easy to fit. Fast delivery.
Very happy and would recommend to anyone with a draughty chimney stack!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 21 April 2012
Received product promptly, read the instructions and found it simple to insert and is doing the job I bought it for perfectly. It is making a big difference to the temp, sound and bits that used to fall down. Fully recommend this product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 15 September 2012
This product is probably fine if you have a modern chimney with a circular pipe close to the fireplace. If, on the other hand, you have an older fireplace which is irregular its worth considering how well it will fit given that the material is not too flexible (and if manhandled will split).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 28 April 2013
it goes up the chimney and blocks wind, soot and bird bits. Hurrah. I need to write 7 more words
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 13 March 2014
Did make a difference for the short time used. Had the chimney swept ready for new real flame gas fire, and chimney sweep told me I could have used a blown up bin bag instead...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 October 2012
I have just fitted my Chimsoc which was very easy. I used a foot-operated bike tyre pump by gaffer-taping the extension tube to the pump. When the Chimsoc arrived I realized I could have ordered the smaller size (which would have been cheaper). As my chimney opening was exactly the same size as the one quoted on the website I ordered the next size up to make sure it was a good fit, but on the leaflet which comes with the Chimsoc it says: 'Please note that all dimensions shown are chimney dimensions, and not the Chimsoc itself, which will always be slightly larger, to allow it to hod in place'. Mine holds in place beautifully - and I was grateful for the tip to use a pipe to ensure ventilation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 March 2015
This has been in use for about 6 months now and does its job well with no problems.
Installing in an Edwardian chimney was a bit of an exercise, had to lie down on my back with with my head in the fireplace and using a torch to see what I was doing. Not the most comfortable position but it worked. A one-piece disposable overall and a safety helmet with visor made it more comfortable than it otherwise would have been. Inflation and fitting was helped by using an extension plastic tube and an old inflatable raft foot pump (operated by hand).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.