Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny
The online reviews that contain test charts indicate that the edges/corners are quite poor when the lens is at its wider apertures. That may be true when you photograph test charts at a distance of one meter or less. I can see from using the lens that it was clearly not designed for closeup photography - it will be rather soft and with lower contrast in such situations...
Published 15 months ago by globostrat

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars price does not reflect performance
price does not reflect performance
lens is sharp from f/2.8 across the frame, but it leaves to be desired at f/2.0 and below
Published 7 months ago by Michal Niesobski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
The online reviews that contain test charts indicate that the edges/corners are quite poor when the lens is at its wider apertures. That may be true when you photograph test charts at a distance of one meter or less. I can see from using the lens that it was clearly not designed for closeup photography - it will be rather soft and with lower contrast in such situations. But this disappears completely when it focuses on objects about couple of meters away and then it is tack sharp across the frame straight from f1.4, with only a hint of softness/vignetting in the extreme corners. So at the end of the day you will struggle to find a 50mm equivalent lens that performs as well as this one does. Interested in closeup photography? You should definitely invest in a dedicated macro lens, the 60mm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Lens I Own?, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
I bought this lens to use on my XE1.

The lens is presented in a really nice box that makes the experience of the arrival and opening of the lens a real pleasure. The lens itself does not diminish this initial pleasure either; metal construction yet light weight. - it is one of the nicest lenses I have held; it is beautifully made.

I have read some reviews online about the horrible lens hood; however, I really like it - it is made of metal and locks in place tightly, I keep it on all the time and I use the supplied rubber cover, rather than the lens cap, to protect the lens when not in use.

Some online reviews describe poor focusing speed and while the lens does not focus as snappily as my Nikon lenses on my D700, but it's not slow either; place your focus point where there is some contrast and it locks on without problems.

The results this lens produces are superb, even though it can't produce the shallow depth of field of an equivalent lens on full frame, the lens is so sharp you still get the 3D look in your images because the subject is so well defined from the background.

I can't think of a negative point about this lens - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I only use other lenses for experimentations nowadays, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
Maybe it's because I'm too poor to get the 23mm or the 56mm.

This is a fantastic lens for its price. It's the perfect first prime to get for anyone with the X system and doesn't have the thousands for the 56mm or 23mm.

Nonetheless, let's get the bad out of the way, at f1.4 it's only passable for the pixel peepers in terms of sharpness. It's also got some issues when it comes to chromatic aberration in strong light, though I haven't seen anything that Lightroom or RawTherapee can't fix unlike some other lenses. The 50mm equivalence means it's also not a great "social" or family lens, which might be a problem if you take your camera for those purposes and this is the only lens you ever use (but then this is something you should already know). The aperture ring is a little too slippery and could be a bit more clicky. And the autofocus is... erm... yeah... it's pretty bad; it's slow, not always accurate in dark or less contrasty conditions (though the X-M1 does have a part to play in this), and unjustifiably loud. Lastly, the lens hood is rectangular, which is hilarious since it doesn't fit backwards and means you can't get the lens cap off when you're using the hood (there's a lens hood cap, but that thing is almost designed to be lost and for me it was gone after its 3 hours in the outdoors). The minimum focal length is around 50cm (rough estimate), which is a bit long when you want to take a photo of your desk; nobody sane would bother to do macro at this focal length anyway, so who cares?

So, even with all those issues, this is still worthy of many stars. At large apertures the lens gives creamy bokeh and renders colour beautifully. At f2.0 the center crop is sharp enough to satisfy anyone who salivates on the pixel level. The lens is just the right size and weight for the X series cameras and doesn't make anything feel out of proportion. The motorised MF ring works nicely (though a more physical one would be better), the build quality is top class and the barrel distortion is not humanly noticeable without intense ABing (the in-camera JPEG converter and RAW files auto-corrects it anyway). There's something magical about the colours and detail renditions with this lens, compare this to an XC 16-50mm and the cheap XC feels dull and boring, even at the same apertures.

In the end, it's not the steal of the century, but it's still bleeding fantastic - I'm pretty sure if everything I've moaned about were corrected I'd have made something like a Zeiss Otus. At £400 (or £300 when I got it with the cash-back) it's a frigging steal. As long as the lens was in focus, I never had to worry about the image quality, so I spent more time thinking about the pictures I was taking as opposed to how the lens was going to screw things up (apart from the autofocus)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar image quality but some lens design quirks, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
+ Solid construction
+ Light weight at 187g.
+ 52mm thread (same as 18mm lens)
+ Lens hood included with rubber cap
+ Convenient external aperture ring
+ Manual focus ring well damp
+ Reasonably sharp wide open, sharper when stopped down
+ Stellar image quality, colours
+ Beautiful bokeh
+ No strong vignetting
+ Reasonable AF speed
- Lens cap difficult to pinch
- Rubber lens hood cap easy to drop off when knocked
- Slight chromatic aberration (purple fringing) at wide open
- Slight glow to edges at wide open. Visible at 100% only.
- Not internal zoom
- Noisy zooming mechanism, not good for video
- Minimum focus distance of 28cm
- Have to use EVF when shooting at minimum focus distance. OVF will not focus.
- OVF framelines covers less than 100%. Photos will be larger
- OVF parallax adjustment of close subjects is significant, but not as drastic as 60mm lens

I love the quality of this lens. It makes beautiful pictures with the X-Pro1. Colour and sharpness are close to perfection. The depth of field is also rendered beautifully.

The AF speed is reasonable. However, it's challenging to take photos of people at walking speed. Most negative points are not related to the optical quality of the lens.

5 stars for image quality, probably 4 stars for other issues.

COMPARED TO THE PANASONIC LEICA 25mm f/1.4 MICRO FOUR THIRDS LENS

Performance is very similar. The main difference is the sensor that the lens is used with. The X-Pro1 with its larger sensor has slightly shallower depth of field. I'm surprised and impressed that the depth of field difference isn't much more. Someone obviously picked the right sensor size for Micro Four Thirds. Link to comparison photos are in the comments section below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent general purpose prime lens, 6 Feb 2014
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
I use this lens with an XE-2. My previous camera was a Nikon D90 which I mainly used with a Nikon 35mm F2. The first thing you notice is the exceptional build quality of this all metal lens. When I attached it to my camera it required a firmware update, this is a result of Fuji's commendable commitment to continuously improve their existing products. Once updated it has barely been off my camera. The main thing that you notice about this lens in use is that it does exactly what you expect. It is sharp with fairly quick focussing, has easy aperture control, renders out of focus areas nicely and seems to completely remove lens flare. In short it just delivers quality time and time again. As for areas of improvement, it would have been nice to have image stabilisation but I hope at some point Fuji will deliver this in camera with a next generation body. It takes a 52mm filter which is worth buying as the front lens element is quite exposed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 21 May 2014
By 
Nikolay Dimitrov (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
This was my first lens I decided to buy with my Fuji X-T1 and I absolutely love it!
I'm not a professional photographer but consider myself an enthusiast. For my mere requirements, I couldn't find any flows with this lens yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the classic X lenses, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
Great Bokeh and rendering with the X-E2 and X-E1, one of the best lenses available for the system.

Only reason it does not get 5 stars is the slow focusing compared to other x lenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning standard lens with decent speed and high resolution, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
There's not much to say - a hugely sharp, fast, compact and versatile standard lens which is capable of incredibly fine-detailed, distortion free pictures. We also have the 18-55, and whilst that is a superb lens by zoom standards, the 35/1.4 just has the edge; in combination with the X1 Pro, this lens gives me the closest thing to a digital version of the film-based Contax G2+45/2 (my all-time favourite travel camera) - and that's praise indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best glass, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
I am still in love with this lens after all these months. It is crystal clear and I love the build quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, small, great, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fujifilm FUJINON XF35mm Lens suitable for X-Pro1, X-E1, XM1, XE2 and X-T1 (Accessory)
Excellent lens, love the sharpness and the colour reproduction. Helps the X Pro 1 to make great images every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews