Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars90
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 February 2012
Clever pop albums rarely gain mainstream approval these days. In fact many bands struggle to get anywhere ploughing this furrow. Django Django are the latest band to try and get somewhere through this path and this really is a worthy effort which deserves airplay and plaudits.

Default is one of the most catchy and wonderful tunes you are likely to hear this year. Cut up vocals, electronic noises, drumming at the centre of the piece and melody. It really is a wow moment the first time you listen to it. It is so good you wonder if everything else would stand up. However, tracks like Waveforms, WOR and Zumm Zumm deliver as well. WOR has a Duane Eddy style guitar riff the somehow emerges from the sounds of a siren. Zumm Zumm starts with an almost demented alien sounding riff and then emerges into a catchy number. A lot of these tracks sound like Beta Band and if you liked them then you'll like this. Its a bit more dance inspired and upbeat than some of their numbers but if you want a guide then they are the closest I have heard.

The joy of this is that every track develops as it goes along and delivers percussion led pop with good harmonies. Its inventive, catchy and above all else fun. Its an early contender for album of the year and is a worthwhile investment.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
This is a great debut Lp, which comes across as a more commercial, funked-up Beta Band high on indie grooves. It's quite an achievement for any band to release a 12 track album with no filler or lulls, but these boys have done it.

The vocal arrangements are done to perfection, and the whole thing a wondrous journey of psychedelic inventiveness. Recommended.
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
This is an absolutely marvelous LP of Beta Band/Beach Boys/Beatles/Blancmange pop music. Skip 'Zumm Zumm' and it is perfect! There is nothing contrived about this, a fact supported by seeing the band live. Enjoy!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
I'll keep my review of Django Django short and sweet and just urge you to buy this album. If the Beach Boys had made and acid-house long-player, then This Is It. Soaring harmonies, hypnotic guitar and synth lines, driving bass. Solid. A great start to 2012.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
Bands made up of former art college students can often go one of two ways. Get it wrong and the music (and especially lyrics) can end up sounding pompous and pretentious. Get it right and the inventiveness and creativity can make for a very pleasing listen. Happily, Django Django fall very much into the latter category. Lyrics are smart and witty, but also likeable - there's no hint of smugness or self-satisfaction here. Musically, they pitch the focus between melody and rhythm just right. Their songs are tuneful and accessible - you may find yourself humming along before you know it - but are also backed up by a tight, funky rhythm section that allows the band to explore its quirky side without the danger of spiralling out of control.

While I can understand the Beta Band comparisons, I also spot influences that date a little further back - Talking Heads, Godley and Creme era 10cc, and underrated 80s duo Blancmange all spring to mind. This is one of those albums where it's difficult to pick a favourite track, so I won't try. Give the audio clips a listen. They explain it better than I can.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
I don't tend to write reviews very often, but this album was definitely worth writing about!

I always worry with debuts that the one famous song will be the only good track on the album but fortunately this album delivers on every track. Very dance-y in places, quiet in others, it's a very accomplished debut. I'd say if you liked the Animal Collective or Caribou you'd like this too.

My fave tracks are the livelier ones - Default, Storm and Life's A Beach - but I also particularly like the harmonies and melody of Hand of Man which is much more pared back and in contrast to the electronic sounds on some of the other tracks.

Totally worth a listen! Now to try and get tickets to a live show...
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 December 2012
If the essence of The Beatles (ca Sergeant Pepper) and the Beach Boys were smashed in a particle accelerator and time warp propelled into the 21 st century, Django Django could well be the result. I love this band and I love the sound. There is an air of originality with a tinge of familiarity. The sound of the guitars is full and crunchy in the recording production, the vocal harmonies are attention grabbing and never fade into the background. This is music to get you tapping and sit up and pay attention, and smile. The lyrics modern yet poetic. If Django Django was a plate of food on Masterchef it would be one of those eyebrow raising yet smile inducing creations. Did someone add fire Chili seeds to that hearty looking Guinness beef stew? The comment from Gregg Wallace would probably be - "mate, that's a slap in the face that makes you giggle". The boring food critics might not get it tho ....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Absolutely brilliant,heard the track played on the BBC and decided to buy the album after reading the reviews on Amazon.As someone who is 60,and my tastes vary from Cream to The Temperance Movement can safely say this is one of the best albums from anyone in the last 10 years.Just go out and buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Occassionally but all too rarely I wake up in the middle of the night with an amazing tune in my head, but thanks to an alzheimers memory and a complete lack of musical ability am unable to do anything about it, ie, bottle it for prosperity and perhaps fame and fortune. This album is packed full of such tunes. I would have preferred a few more contemporary highlights to have come to the fore amongst the retro sounds that build-up on most tracks only to stymie anything modernistic that was threatening to come through. But nevertheless I count this band as one of my best finds of the last few years. If you dream the same tunes as me you'll love it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not got a lot to add to other reviews really. Just to say that this is a record full of clever, but not too clever, tunes with really catchy hooks and some great lyrics. It's arty, but not pretentiously so, full of great tracks that are fun to listen to. It's an album that has really grabbed me, and my musical tastes are usually more Howard Moon than the Vince Noir audience that this is aimed at, so I can say confidently that it will appeal to a wide range of tastes. 5 stars, and I look forward to hearing where this talented band go in the future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£0.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)