Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good.
This is a great debut Lp, which comes across as a more commercial, funked-up Beta Band high on indie grooves. It's quite an achievement for any band to release a 12 track album with no filler or lulls, but these boys have done it.

The vocal arrangements are done to perfection, and the whole thing a wondrous journey of psychedelic inventiveness. Recommended.
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Big Twink

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Nice songs but not exceptional work!!! easy listenning and for your calm days I thought it could be better and have better musics.
Published 16 months ago by Frank Bozic Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good., 1 Feb 2012
By 
Big Twink (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
This is a great debut Lp, which comes across as a more commercial, funked-up Beta Band high on indie grooves. It's quite an achievement for any band to release a 12 track album with no filler or lulls, but these boys have done it.

The vocal arrangements are done to perfection, and the whole thing a wondrous journey of psychedelic inventiveness. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beat Driven Pop, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
Clever pop albums rarely gain mainstream approval these days. In fact many bands struggle to get anywhere ploughing this furrow. Django Django are the latest band to try and get somewhere through this path and this really is a worthy effort which deserves airplay and plaudits.

Default is one of the most catchy and wonderful tunes you are likely to hear this year. Cut up vocals, electronic noises, drumming at the centre of the piece and melody. It really is a wow moment the first time you listen to it. It is so good you wonder if everything else would stand up. However, tracks like Waveforms, WOR and Zumm Zumm deliver as well. WOR has a Duane Eddy style guitar riff the somehow emerges from the sounds of a siren. Zumm Zumm starts with an almost demented alien sounding riff and then emerges into a catchy number. A lot of these tracks sound like Beta Band and if you liked them then you'll like this. Its a bit more dance inspired and upbeat than some of their numbers but if you want a guide then they are the closest I have heard.

The joy of this is that every track develops as it goes along and delivers percussion led pop with good harmonies. Its inventive, catchy and above all else fun. Its an early contender for album of the year and is a worthwhile investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect..., 21 Aug 2012
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely marvelous LP of Beta Band/Beach Boys/Beatles/Blancmange pop music. Skip 'Zumm Zumm' and it is perfect! There is nothing contrived about this, a fact supported by seeing the band live. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking debut, something a little different., 1 Mar 2012
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
I heard Default on the radio so went searching for other tracks. Checkout Waveforms and Love's Dart which I think have also been released previously.
The album has a great mix of harmonised vocals, foot tapping beats and synths. Doesn't sound catchy but turns out to be more infectious than nits in a nursery.

Each listen results in a new favourite and it carries on delivering right to the end, where many albums start 'winding down' around track 8 or 9 this keeps going
with some real gems like Storm and Silver Rays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acid surf-rock pop-a-tronica, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Harvey Smith (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
I'll keep my review of Django Django short and sweet and just urge you to buy this album. If the Beach Boys had made and acid-house long-player, then This Is It. Soaring harmonies, hypnotic guitar and synth lines, driving bass. Solid. A great start to 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django Django, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
A refreshingly happy sound. The 3rd track is most recognisable, but the whole album is really good...grows on you.
I love the rhythms and pace. There is a distinctive quality to the sound. Gorgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars java, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
i realise i'm probably a bit slow on the up take but bought this on an amazon recommendation and love it. Original and addictive!!! it's constantly being played in the car to and from work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every track's a goody - better than I was expecting!, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
I don't tend to write reviews very often, but this album was definitely worth writing about!

I always worry with debuts that the one famous song will be the only good track on the album but fortunately this album delivers on every track. Very dance-y in places, quiet in others, it's a very accomplished debut. I'd say if you liked the Animal Collective or Caribou you'd like this too.

My fave tracks are the livelier ones - Default, Storm and Life's A Beach - but I also particularly like the harmonies and melody of Hand of Man which is much more pared back and in contrast to the electronic sounds on some of the other tracks.

Totally worth a listen! Now to try and get tickets to a live show...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django Django, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Gricer "Gricer" (Winchester, Hants., U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
This item was purchased as a present, for a relative who asked for it. He is very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I love in music all rolled into one, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Django (Audio CD)
Start with Inie add some Sixties melodies add some Beach Boys harmonies, a dash of Electronica and what you get is Django Django. Great debut album. Thanks John Darko for the recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Django Django
Django Django by Django Django
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews