Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2012
Top quality, first rate performance! If you have not dipped your toe into the vibrant waters of opera before then this is perfect for encouraging you to swim at the deep end!
A wonderful comedy.. (yes, opera can be comical) French farce full of passion, deception, men dressed as nuns and some cheeky three in a bed action...all in good taste of course! Rossini does carry on! Juan Diego Florez - outstanding. Bravo!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
Gorgeous due to quality of cast and excellent performances and production. We are very lucky to have the possibility of acquiring a DVD on one of the most dazzling of Rossini's operas. When shall you do the same with Matilde di Shabran?
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
5 gold stars - I`d like to give it more. Florez, Damrau and DiDonato sang and acted supremely well, and the inter-action between their characters helped make the whole opera an almost believable experience - if such a farcical story can be believable!

The staging was classy - unlike so many modern versions of operas. The Count played the role of cunning seducer, while oozing charm. The Countess looked and acted the part, and the Page pulled off this `breeches` role delightfully.

Rarely does one have an opportunity to see an opera where all 3 main characters are the best in the world. This is one of those rare occasions, and the supporting parts are also excellent.

Lastly, the music. Rossini never disappoints, and is the perfect composer for anyone wanting to listen to opera for the first time. The trio at the end of the opera is sublime. This work would be very good cd; as a dvd it is superb, as it is such a visual work.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2012
The staging is rather unimaginative, with a few prop changes and crutained backdrop. Costumes are pretty good, and somewhat flambouyant. the cast in general excellent, I will expound, Diana Damrau is excellent as The Countess, and a delight to listen to. I can say the same of Joyce DiDonato. I cannot say the same for Florez, who usually can do no wrong for me, but he has not the sense of fun that I think this part requires, and for some of the flagship highnotes he is outgunned by orchestra and chorus. Susanne Resmark as Ragonde has an expressive face, which enhances her voice in this amusing role. Michele Pertusi is an also ran, and makes no impression, Stephane Degout as Raimbaud has quite a rich baritone and is well cast.
The whole production does however seem to miss the point, it should be played for amusement and laughs, but at times becomes too romantic. Many opportunities are missed by the stage restraints.
I shall be reviewing the Glyndebourne production shortly, which may not quite have the voices, but Marc Laho as Ory is more than a match for Florez in comedy and tone. The fun is milked with great stagings and excellent sets. It is my favoured choice.
66 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
While I haven't seen the DVD I saw the Met Comte Ory at the cinema in Monmouth so I suppose I qualify to review the splendid production and will place an order in about 10 mins. time. I thought the play within a play worked very well and the whole cast seemed to enjoy themselves. The principals were (are ) all in great voice, and despite some small reservations about the 3 -in- a - bed scene I don't see how anyone can fail to enjoy this production.
I also have the Glyndebourne production on Minidisc from the Proms 1997. Very good but I prefer the Met production.
Charles Webb Pontypool
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
I cannot praise this performance of the Operatic Comedy by Rossini highly enough. Joyce DiDonato carries off her breeches role as the Page with convincing panache and bravura, whilst singing of course with her beautiful clear voice. She is an artist of amazing versatility if a comparison is drawn with her role of Maria Stuarda in the Donizetti Opera.
Diana Damrau is excellently cast as the beautiful Countess and highlights the humour of her role with pitch perfect histrionics.
Juan Diego Florez is of course excellent vocally, and brings a great deal of expressive tongue in cheek humour to his role as Le Comte Ory. He and the Male Chorus dressed as Nuns perform expert and hilarious dances during their plot to fool the Countess and enter the Castle. The three in a bed scene full of innuendo with the three principal actors is extremely well timed to the vocal expression.
The setting of an 18th Century stage managed by an ageing coordinator with all the theatrical mechanisms and effects operated by hand, is brilliant. Of course the Metropolitan Orchestra directed by Maurizio Benini realises the often rousing music of Rossini perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This is a very difficult opera to cast as it requires 3 top class coloratura singers. The MET couldn't have picked a better 3 than is on this DVD. The chemistry between Diana Damrau and Joyce Didonato is electric. Joyce is by far my favourite singer at the moment. She excels in everything she does. The comic timing of the 3 main characters is spot on in what is essentially a comedy. So much opera is about death and tragedy et al, it is refreshing to have a laugh for a change. Would highly recommend this to anyone interested in singing at its best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
This is a delightful production of an enchanting opera. But I have a question aimed at lazy producer Virgin: Where is the Blu-ray? And that question can be asked about all your other releases of live MET and Covent Garden performances over the past couple of years. We are soon entering 2013. Blu-rays are simply gorgeous to watch and listen to. I do not want to spend one more cent on DVDs. Wake up, Virgin! You are the only label which has not yet entered the wonderful world of Blu-ray!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
The story of this opera was set in the time of the Crusades, when all men gone out on military expeditions, leaving only women behind to wail and lament...But then, there is that son of a duke of something, a certain Count of Ory, who is nothing more than a libertine without any scruples...
You can imagine what a outdated background such is for modern viewers!
So this MET production has this 'historical' thing set as a play within a play, just to be a bit more convincing to modern viewers.
Nevermind that - the musical cast is excellent.
I totally disgree that Florez is disappointing in any way - his performance is utterly convincing, and truly terrific. This MET production is his reprisal of Ory's role since his debut at Pesaro more than a decade ago, and he is in excellent vocal form.
Partnering him, the magnificient German coloratura soprano Diana Damrau gave a truly insinuating interpretation of Adele. This Adele is not a medieval simpleton: as a play within a play, this Adele is a feigned virgin, a dressed-up saint. At heart, she wants men - no matter Ory, or cousin Isolier, she wants men for amusement and fun. Damrau is vocally superb in this performance, with her timbre getting fuller and richer since the birth of her son in 2010. It is her acting, however, that is the high point of this production.
Joyce Didonato's Isolier is also a sterling performance, though in a trouser role, she is handicapped by missing out the full stage glamour afforded to Damrau, who looks surprisingly like a young Meryl Streep.
This one even surpasses the earlier Glydebourne performance with the wonderful Annick Massis and Ludovic Tezier.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
If you enjoy Rossini operas, this is a staging which is an absolute "Must Have:Must See". Superbly sung, superbly directed, it is one of the most enjoyable productions of this particular opera I have ever seen. - and the singing is "out of this world"!! I have bought it and sent it to friends who have not heard of the opera, and they were "bowled over" by it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse