Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the promise in the title
This book really does deliver on the promise made in the title. I thought I was an SSH power-user but really I was only scratching the surface.

I have learnt how to multiplex SSH connections, create public/private keys so I don't keep having to type my password as well as tightening up the permissions on my SSH server.

The next thing I'm going to...
Published on 19 Jan 2012 by Mr. P. J. Caudle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Could have googled the info but for the price I suppose it wasn't to bad for what it was. Ta
Published 6 months ago by P. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the promise in the title, 19 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. P. J. Caudle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SSH Mastery: OpenSSH, PuTTY, Tunnels and Keys (Kindle Edition)
This book really does deliver on the promise made in the title. I thought I was an SSH power-user but really I was only scratching the surface.

I have learnt how to multiplex SSH connections, create public/private keys so I don't keep having to type my password as well as tightening up the permissions on my SSH server.

The next thing I'm going to tackle is SSH VPN's. I've read through the chapter and it is all straight forward.

If you are going to buy one book on SSH - this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of SSH, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Richard Lewis "reeshar" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SSH Mastery: OpenSSH, PuTTY, Tunnels and Keys (Kindle Edition)
This slim volume provides a very good overview of OpenSSH, how to make it more secure through the use of certificates and how to do things such as FTP over the SSH connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ssh mastery" indeed!, 1 Jun 2012
This review is from: SSH Mastery: OpenSSH, PuTTY, Tunnels and Keys (Kindle Edition)
I recently bought the book.

I can honestly say it is the best written technical book i have ever purchased. I does not follow the logic of a man page, nor does it waste paper on trivial topics like "how to install ssh" (most of the technical books do this). It is well structured in topics and each topic written in a concise manner: the minimum required words to make it perfectly understandable.

I wish it could be included with the man page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Good I Bought it Twice!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this for kindle, and having read some of it, and had it come to my rescue at work once or twice, I've decided that I want a physical copy for the shelf for easy and quick reference.

A must-have book for anyone who uses SSH in a "real-world" environment. Cuts down on script complexity whilst improving security hugely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 18 Mar 2014
By 
P. Brown "smstext" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SSH Mastery: OpenSSH, PuTTY, Tunnels and Keys (Kindle Edition)
Could have googled the info but for the price I suppose it wasn't to bad for what it was. Ta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not much new stuff for me, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SSH Mastery: OpenSSH, PuTTY, Tunnels and Keys (Kindle Edition)
I have been using SSH for many years so there was not much new stuff for me but it is a solid book covering all aspects of SSH, not just as a replacement for telnet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book to have to hand., 6 Mar 2014
By 
A. Turrington (Poole, Dorset. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains all the detail needed to set up Secure Shell connection to server computers and so on.

All that you need to know but cannot quite remember the specific detail of is here in one small book. It saves time making internet searches for the same information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews