Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if old-school FPS
I bought Hard Reset on a whim as it's on sale for such a cheap price. Not knowing exactly what to expect, I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy the game. I'm happy to say that I'm very glad I did buy it. Installation wasn't quite as easy as I expected as the game requires clicking on a link in an activation email that's sent to you when you register. Firstly, why do I need to create...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. C. E. Blackwell

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, good vision but falls a little short.
It is unfair to compare this game to a AAA game released by one of the big companies but unfortunately those games are the benchmarks by which gamers set standards. We (gamers) are quick to jump on the bandwagon when a supposed AAA game fails in some way and condemn it. So this "budget" title Hard Reset makes no promises, has no hyped up advertising it just leaves the...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. Antony S. Bellingham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if old-school FPS, 4 May 2013
By 
Mr. C. E. Blackwell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought Hard Reset on a whim as it's on sale for such a cheap price. Not knowing exactly what to expect, I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy the game. I'm happy to say that I'm very glad I did buy it. Installation wasn't quite as easy as I expected as the game requires clicking on a link in an activation email that's sent to you when you register. Firstly, why do I need to create an "account" when it's a strictly single-player game? Secondly, the activation email I received from Calypso was designated as spam by my Gmail account and it took me a while to figure out why I wasn't receiving the email. Something to bear in mind if you also think that you don't receive the activation email - look in your spam folder as it may actually be ther instead of your inbox. After I finally activated the game and a couple of minutes adjusting the variety of graphical and game settings I was in and playing.

The world of Hard Reset has a dark film-noire crossed with cyberpunk feel to it and heavily reminded me of Blade Runner, as does the story in a way. This is certainly not a bad thing and the attention to detail that's obviously been lavished on the map design makes for a very atmospheric, believable environment. Originally I though that the game was based on the Unreal engine. I stand corrected though - the Polish developers actually wrote their own engine from scratch. Apparently it's very well optimised which is well evidenced by it's excellent performance on my system: i7-960, 6GB of 2GHz RAM, GTX-560Ti graphics card with 2GB of GDDR3 RAM. I got a very nice 60 (minimum) - 160 (maximum)fps with FSAA and isotropic texture filtering both enabled, running in 1920 x 1080 resolution. In-game the engine performance felt as smooth as silk despite the game featuring just about every graphical effect you could possibly imagine. Very impressive indeed.

The sound effects are suitably meaty and the many ambient sounds really help to add immersion to the very well realised world. Weapons effects are suitably OTT. I also like the way that the weapons have been implemented. At the beginning you have two weapons, each of which has one fire mode. One is an ammunition-based fairly traditional assault rifle and the other is an electronic plasma rifle. During your progress through the game you pick up what are essentially upgrade points that you can chose to spend on adding capabilities to your weapons. Eventually both the ammunition and the electronic weapon feature several "modes" each of which has a secondary fire function. Quite a clever way to handle weapons upgrades and you never have to chose to discard a favourite weapon as the variants of the ammunition and electronic weapons share common ammunition types. Re-supply is fairly plentiful, particularly on the lower difficulty options.

Bad points? I thought the enemies could have featured a bit more variety, though all are well realised and are different enough so that taking out yet another horde never becomes too boring. Given the very well realised art and design of the game I felt that it was a bit empty of life, though there is a story reason for this, but I think adding in a few people or life in general would have enhanced the immersion even further.

All told this is a very competently made first person shooter. If you love cyberpunk and/or Blade-runner style dystopia fiction then I'm sure you'll really enjoy this game. If not, then the game is cheap enough that I'd still recommend giving it a go because it's a lot of fun to play. There doesn't appear to be any multiplayer modes at all, though a survival mode and a few other oditites do add some degree of replayability. Overall this game was great fun to play, completely lacked in any bugs (very refreshing for a PC game these days!) and I'd definitely recommend it to all FPS fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, good vision but falls a little short., 12 May 2013
By 
Mr. Antony S. Bellingham (Wolverhampton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It is unfair to compare this game to a AAA game released by one of the big companies but unfortunately those games are the benchmarks by which gamers set standards. We (gamers) are quick to jump on the bandwagon when a supposed AAA game fails in some way and condemn it. So this "budget" title Hard Reset makes no promises, has no hyped up advertising it just leaves the question "Do you like it or not?"
As already mentioned it is obviously based around Bladerunner. The architecture, the environment and atmosphere screams Bladerunner. At first run I ramped up the settings to max., easily achievable on a modern PC for this game and it does look good. A great deal of attention has been put into neon signs, massive advertising boards, run-down buildings all set in a futuristic environment. The story begins very sparsely presented by cartoon Max Payne 2 style "cut scenes" and really it isn't a story, it just says "There's a breach in sector xxxxx go sort it out". So plunged into a city with what is a beautiful looking weapon, you head off in search of what you can assume from what you know, rogue robots. Eventually you find some robots who bound towards you, first instinct is SHOOT!. Of course this works but ammo is rapidly depleted then a tip appears saying shoot electrical devices like ATM machines, machines of unknown description and for some reason electric rubbish bins, these release electric shocks and if timed correctly will damage the enemy robots and save you some ammo. So I set about taunting the robots near to an electric source and setting if off, effective but not "Shoot em' up" gameplay. There are hidden areas which are accessed by blowing up explosive barrels to reveal them but really are not worth it. So level 1 over...next. Another cartoon style cut scene and back into the city to...kill more robots. And so it goes on. The upgrade system isn't bad albeit a little clumsy to navigate and difficult to know what you're exactly doing.
Sound is pretty good, again fits in with the Bladerunner feel. The city feels empty...it is empty. You are the only person in it and this leads to the feeling of why am I bothering. There's nothing to interact with and nothing else to do except kill robots.
The game isn't bad. It's obvious this was somebody's "baby" and they cared a lot for it but just didn't have the resources to make it a contender. When playing the game I got the feeling that if the "big boys" had made it, it would have been a spectacular game but then again they mess up frequently. The backbone to a great game is there it just needs fleshing out, more interactivity and a story that doesn't leave you asking "Why am I doing this?"
Summary - It feels like a 1990s shooter but with 21st century graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Futuristic Serious Sam, 21 Jun 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you like Serious Sam I would expect you would like this game too, hectic gameplay to short quiet time back to hectic gameplay and so on, all in claustrophobic areas. The music and sound is really good, the graphics are gorgeous running on a gtx780 with all the settings ramped to the max.

Very much a "one more go" game and at under £3! you can't go wrong with this fps. The only thing I did not like was having to setup an account at the start of the game with an email and password.

Fully compatible with my Razer Sabertooth game pad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value shooter, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A lot cheaper than the latest 'biig guns' but hut as much fun. Amazon has the cheapest price on this one of all the games suppliers. To extend the game's life, search out kDLC (downloadable content) on game review sites such as gamespot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Basic spray & pray FPS, 18 Sep 2014
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Hard Reset begins with asking you for an email for a purely singly player game. It then drops into a crappy graphic novel style intro with a panning shot of a static frame. When you get into the game, it's clear this is just a an old school FPS and not in a good way. The effects are basic (I am not saying I personally could do better, but there are better options out there) the rain is simply white streaks down the screen. Environmental objects are recycled endlessly in the geometrically square based maps, there is very little change in terrain or scenery.

The guns are awful, they all feel exactly the same, there is no reloading so you literally just hold the fire button down and spray the same robots down over and over in waves. They drop generic ammo (each gun uses the same ammo) and health and there is some extremely laborious upgrade system where I have no idea what the actual upgrade achieves. The gameplay is uninspired and repetitive, shoot the same environmental objects in each area to defeat the identical cobbled-together robots then pick up the ammo, walk a little bit and repeat.

Tiresome, repetitive and uninspired. Feels like a poor man's Blade Runner made into an FPS. Cheap, so maybe worth a look, but honestly there are better FPSs out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a good game, 25 May 2013
By 
G. O'Neill (Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I hate when people do not spell definitely correctly. I get violent urges when people write "must of" instead of "must have". And as for apostrophes ...............
Great game. Not too deep. Serious Sam with much, much better graphics. The whole look and feel is high class eye candy. Great sounds. Not much variation in the enemies but frantic blasting is fun. There is not much scope to use the sniper scope. As soon as you see an enemy robot, 20 attack you. Weapons are upgrades to two basic weapons. I loved the graphical attention to detail. Coloured shadows on the plasma rifle as you pass a neon sign looks ultra cool. My 650ti runs the game at near maximum settings and still smoother than a toboggan on glass. I like a wee bit of stealth in my shooters. None here hence the 4 stars. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't think, just shoot!, 3 July 2014
By 
Slimpickins (Back of beyond) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I think this is what reviewers mean by "retro shooter" because that's exactly what it is, shoot everything that moves and much that doesn't. The story, such as it is, is told via graphic novel style scenes between chapters but doesn't seem that important because all it's about is the shooting. It looks good, is challenging, especially for a modern game and the mechanics work well. There's no stealth, to the point that there isn't even a crouch option. You can jump but rarely need too, you never interact with anyone, the only humans you encounter, all four of them, are dead or about to be. Even so it's lot's of fun, the only downside is it feels a bit unfinished, it just stops but at the price it's well worth getting and if they ever release a sequel I'll get it straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars budget but awsome, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Jr Lawler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is totally budget this game but I still enjoyed it. Limited enemies and levels are all quite samey. Few jokes big bosses but generally just a bit of a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant!, 24 May 2014
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Only just recently discovered this game, and I am so glad that I did! It is a hugely entertaining (and seriously difficult on harder settings), old fashioned FPS, with decent graphics and gameplay, with a wide range of upgrades and weapons. It's not the longest of games, but it is challenging, so be prepared for numerous attempts!

Shame there're not more games like this being made, I for one would buy them! Loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very cheap bur very poor, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The graphics are OK but the gameplay is just terrible. The most boring FPS game I every played. If you like good FPS games like half-life 2, far cry, fear, bioshock, crysis, MoH, CoD, etc, expect a MUCH lower level of standard with this game.Not worth the £4 I paid as I played it 2 nights (to give it a chance) and no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD)
Hard Reset: Extended Edition (PC DVD) by Kalypso Media (Windows Vista / XP)
£3.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews