Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but......
I would have given this 5 stars but having just received the dvd this morning, I noticed after watching it all the way through that certain edits have been made from the film that was shown on ITV a few days ago!!! They have missed out the scene at the end where the MP is given a 'choice' as how to continue with his career after his dealings with the young girl in...
Published on 10 Jan 2012 by Matt Summers

versus
197 of 201 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Give us all the programme
I watched this on the TV and it was very good - just like watching Morse work out the twists of the case. When I bought the DVD and watched it, I was shocked to see that parts of it were missing.

1. Dempsey developing photographs in a darkroom.
2. Crisp's daugher going to the car showroom to see the mechanic.
3 Morse and Thursay breaking into the...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by mikey


‹ Previous | 125 26 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
great thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gift., 13 May 2013
By 
Philip Wilson "Kenn-Belfast" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
This item was purchased as a gift for a friend.
Until they give me details of their opinion I am unable to post an effective review.
I am however VERY satisfied with the speed of delivery from the supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I expected to hate this..., 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this DVD. The casting was perfect. The script outstanding. I've already watched the DVD 6 times, and will re-watch it many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on Endeavour!, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
I missed the beginning and Origins of Endeavour, and watched to third series, therefore after seeing this series I decided that I would like to see the rest of the series, so when I get a bit of spare cash I can send for another one, as I thoroughly enjoyed The Origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was a teenage curmugeon., 20 Jun 2014
By 
E. Holmans (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
Watching the character develop is more than just seeing how many of John Thaw's tics you can throw in, and a trifle heavy-handed at the end. But very good blue eyes--it's a good match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Any chance of any more?, 7 Jan 2012
This was really good. I am hoping enough other viewers felt the same because I'd watch more of these, if they made them. I didn't even mind it was obvious who had done it. Shaun Evans was fine - though I was distracted by the feeling that he reminded me of a young Paul Nicholas. He put in a solid performance, backed up by an excellent supporting cast; Roger Allam was great, as usual. I liked John Light as the 'Harry Palmer' like agent; a brief role, but memorable. It's not in the same league as 'Sherlock' - but very little is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good story and good value for 5.00, 27 April 2013
By 
Kindle Customer (Dover, Kent, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
The very first pilot if you like telling the story of Morse`s earliest years in the police , he very nearly resigns , and
it is well written but I thought rather poorly acted and the dialogue was awkward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars film, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD] (DVD)
hope we like this endeavour can't coment utill we have viewed it so can't say much more about it can i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Morse - The Prequel, 17 Jan 2012
I've nothing against milking a successful series and 'Morse' and 'Lewes' are very agreeable, feet-up, undemanding wallows (which help to establish Oxford as murder capital of the world).

Everything was in place for endeavour; period charm,regular scriptwriter, high production values, support by established thesps who haven't been snapped up by Hogwarts. But one thing was wrong - Shaun Evans. He's just not very good. It's not that he's following (or preceeding) illustrious footsteps; he's just a bit rubbish in this show. His delivery is uncertain, his tone is uneven and - when he's 'thinking', he looks like he's been switched off at the mains. I imagine he's a perfectly good actor in other parts but he's stretched way past his limits here and it spoils the whole show. I'll give 'Endeavour' another go, assuming there's more, on the basis that he might get better but I'm not optimistic.

I'd rather see a series about the security agent or Morse's mentor - far more charismatic performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Endeavour: The Origins of Inspector Morse [DVD]
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews