Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A franchise worth hanging on to.
Having watched the finale of 'Blood and Chrome' on You Tube today I can now confidently say that this incredible pilot definitely lives up to the legend that was its predecessor. What made the 'Battlestar' genre shine in the re-imagined series of 2004 is that not only is it an amazing sci-fi series but it's also really good television in general, I defy anyone (be you...
Published on 8 Dec. 2012 by Retro

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved BSG - thankfully this would-be spinoff never left the ground to ruin the memory
For a bit of wider context, I thought the early Red Dwarf series (and books) excellent but think that they ruined the legacy by carrying on past season four or so - that gives you an idea of where I am coming from on this attempt to flog more dollars our of the BSG franchise...

I loved the BSG reboot and was initially disappointed when I heard that a prequel...
Published 19 days ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A franchise worth hanging on to., 8 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having watched the finale of 'Blood and Chrome' on You Tube today I can now confidently say that this incredible pilot definitely lives up to the legend that was its predecessor. What made the 'Battlestar' genre shine in the re-imagined series of 2004 is that not only is it an amazing sci-fi series but it's also really good television in general, I defy anyone (be you sci-fi nerds or sports fanatics) to watch an episode of Battlestar and not be entertained. This phenomenon definitely remains strong with 'Blood and Chrome' (as proven by several You Tube comments from newcomers to the franchise). It's this kind of inspiration that makes the Battlestar Galactica franchise worth hanging on to, and while the budget was indeed small for 'Blood and Chrome', what they accomplished with that budget only left me wandering what this could have become with the support of an entire channel.

The budget aside however, this pilot still managed to tick all the boxes that count: The acting was engaging and believable, the writing was flawless (typical of BSG) the music was...well Bear McCreary, 'nuff said...and the action sequences were just frakin' awesome. So watch this on You Tube to see for yourselves and if 'Blood and Chrome' gets your seal of approval then I highly recommend buying as many copies as possible as Sy-Fy's ultimate decision on whether or not to make this into a fully fledged series will depend how well this sells. (True story) SO buy the crap out of it, and hopefully Sy-Fy will see the error of their ways and revive the Golden Age of Science Fiction that was: Battlestar Galactica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. Gripping. Fantastic., 9 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It is a crying desperate shame that SyFy decided to pull the plug on BSG-Blood and Chrome as a series after having made, but not yet broadcast, the pilot. On the evidence of watching the first 12 minute extract as a webisode on YouTube (in full HD), they appear to have made a gargantuan mistake. For something that is almost exclusively SFX and CGI driven, the attention to detail and the compositing is absolutely brilliant. But far beyond the amazing special effects, the opening to this prequel story of William Adama's initiation into the first Cylon War is gripping from the start. I cannot understand why SyFy got cold feet: even on just 12 minutes alone, the production is everything that fans of the re-imagined Battlestar Galactica were looking for, and then some. Not that Caprica was bad, but this is awesome. This deserves to be in every BSG aficionado's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly The Best Of All, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was never a die hard fan of the Galactica reboot,and I wasnt overly impressed with Caprica,I only mention this so you dont think Im just another fan boy kicking off.But if Blood And Chrome has indeed been cancelled,and Ive no cause to doubt the other reviewers,then it is indeed a tragedy.Ive just finished watching the pilot movie,and it is very good.Im not giving away any spoilers,but it follows the young William Adama as he arrives on the Galactica,instantly volunteering for duty,he finds himself on a classified mission deep into cylon territory,if you want to know more,then your going to have to watch the pilot.Its fast paced and action packed from start to finish,with an engrossing storyline,that had me hooked within ten minutes.Yes the budget could have been bigger,but not the potential.As the credits rolled you could see just how far this series could have gone,and what it could have become.

Ive never been a fan of the SyFy channel,their habit of killing off series after series is beyond a joke,but to cancel one before the pilot has even been properly aired,just proves that their heart just isnt in it.I hope the reviewer who said that if it does well enough on DVD/Blu-ray,it may yet survive,is right,because if it isnt picked up,I think we may have lost,what could have turned out to be,a truly great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make it up to 10 seasons, 17 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I 've watched the beginning of Blood and Chrome yesterday on Youtube.MINDBLOWING!!
You got me begging, please continiue it.Bring it on TV ! Don 't let it die in the shadow of the internet.
I will definetly buy it and so should every BSG Fan.They can make money with it so there might be a chance to
become the proper TV Series that it was planned to be.
After loosing Caprica, please keep it alive.
The producers had the chance to make the biggest SF Series trilogie in history ever,but they didn 't take it.
What a pity !

I hope you understand my english,I am from Germany
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Loved BSG - thankfully this would-be spinoff never left the ground to ruin the memory, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer "Bartleby2009" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
For a bit of wider context, I thought the early Red Dwarf series (and books) excellent but think that they ruined the legacy by carrying on past season four or so - that gives you an idea of where I am coming from on this attempt to flog more dollars our of the BSG franchise...

I loved the BSG reboot and was initially disappointed when I heard that a prequel set around the First Cylon War had been cancelled. However, after watching this pilot, I am actually relieved that it wasn't take up for a series. BSG had its faults, but overall it had a good mix of character development, action, drama and thought provoking parallels between in and real historical and contemporary events (not least the 'war on terror').

Blood and chrome feels as if a bunch of immature fans who didn't really 'get' the BSG reboot have broken into the sets and done their own fan story. There's lots of action and lots of jingoistic schmaltz but it's a essentially a vacuous and entirely derivative hour and half. The series that this was supposed to be the pilot for would have hinged around the relationship between a 'Maverick in space' Adama and his disheveled side-kick co-pilot - it was weak even on its own terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please make this into a series, 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Gibbon (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, a load of web episodes thrown together to make a story...or not. There is substance to this with some good acting, great effects, albeit on the cheap in places, but let's not forget not a huge amount was spent on this. It's a Greek tragedy this was cancelled as it's what most of the fans were screaming for, good story, plenty of in space fighting, well put together. Miss it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars second half missing, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was looking forward to watching this a grand total of three times, from the half I have seen this looks a great addition to the Battlestar franchise. Unfortunately the second half is not on the disc this has happened, like I said earlier on three different occasions on purchasing this DVD from Amazon and once from a different seller. Definitely got the same disc twice as well. All In all good film from what I can tell would love to see other half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
hoped this would move the story in but just like a long, not very good, TV episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant.... for a web show., 29 Dec. 2013
By 
M. Haase - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Finally, we could watch it in one go without any interruptions and with some additional footage. Unfortunately, it is quite clear sometimes what this is... an internet series. To be fair, it is good enough to defend itself in comparison with a lot of other sci-fi films/series but I was spoiled with Battlestar Gallactica and I was expecting a bit more. Enough moaning though.

It is much better prequel than Caprica and a treat to any fan of BSG. I do recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar is back, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great addition to the Battlestar Galactica series. It isn't just an obvious rip-off of fans by adding together obscure rubbish from the TV series and pretending it has a story-line, but an actual add-on story. Great fun but make sure you buy the UK version if you want the UV copy to work. The US import doesn't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews