Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Of The Summer Wine News From Universal UK 2014
We are happy to let you know we have just signed a new deal with the BBC which will enable us to continue releasing the rest of the missing series of Last of the Summer Wine.
We expect to release the next 2 Seasons in the second quarter of 2014 though no exact date as yet is confirmed.
Kind regards Universal UK

Great News For Last Of The Summer Wine...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. S. Galbraith

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BBC lets us down
i have purchased all of the DVD's from this wonderful series of Last Of The Summer Wine, and was looking forward to the latest offering ie series 23 and 24, however, I was terribly disappointed as I find the quality of these latest DVD's leave a lot to be desired.
The colour is all wrong, to the point I feel like returning the product as `unfit for purpose` surly in...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by D. Hinton


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Of The Summer Wine News From Universal UK 2014, 14 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
We are happy to let you know we have just signed a new deal with the BBC which will enable us to continue releasing the rest of the missing series of Last of the Summer Wine.
We expect to release the next 2 Seasons in the second quarter of 2014 though no exact date as yet is confirmed.
Kind regards Universal UK

Great News For Last Of The Summer Wine fans Last of the Summer Wine - Series 25 & 26 & Last of the Summer Wine - Series 27 & 28 coming this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LSW, 18 May 2012
By 
Norman Fairfax (Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the first DVDs purchased from Amazon without Compo but the presence of Truly of the Yard and the descendant of Robin Hood together with Cleggy continue to make the whole DVD amusing without alternative comedy's swearing etc. The programme is sadly missed on tv and I for one look forward to being able to purchase copies of later editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Of The Summer Wine Series 23 & 24, 21 Mar 2012
By 
Nicola Dale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
Although Last Of The Summer Wine was never the same following Bill Owen's death, the series was still very funny with Keith Clifford in the cast. There's a particularly funny scene at the end of "The Mystical Squeak Of Howard's Bicycle" where either Cleg or Truly pop a bag and Billy falls into a stream! I also loved the policemen, who became more prominent from this point on. I was sad that Kathy Staff left but I understood her reasons and she did come back until she died. Heaven must be an entertaining place with former LOTSW cast members, including: Michael BAtes, John Comer, Joe Gladwin, Michael Aldridge, Bill Owen, Brian Wilde, Gordon Wharmby, Kathy Staff and Trevor Bannister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Summer Wine Series 23 & 24, 19 Jan 2012
By 
D. Williams (West Bromwich, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
Another release of the much loved and worlds longest running sitcom, however due to universal calling the series 9 dvd series 9 & 10 what we should be getting is series 22 & 23 which are from 2001 and 2002 plus the 2001 christmas special, so what can we expect from this release, well were now into the post Compo episodes and we welcome Keith Clifford as Billy Hardcastle into the trio (who made a guest appearance in series 20 (DVD 21) and the millenium special) and in the first series we see a more prominent role for Tom Owen as Tom Simmonite (Compo's son who came in series 21 (DVD 22) after the episodes about Compo's death) and we get some very good episodes from series 22 (DVD 23) such as "Getting Barry's Goat", "Hey, Big Vendor", "Enter the Hawk", "Gnome and Away", "A White Sweater and a Solicitor's Letter" and "The Coming of the Beast", we should also get the 2001 christmas special "Pott's in Pole Position" guest starring Warren Micthell and June Whitfield (in a different role to her role in later series of Last of the Summer Wine), in series 23 (DVD 24) there are some fantastic episodes such as "A Brief Excursion in the Fast Lane", "The Mystical Squeak of Howard's Bicycle", "Beware of the Hot Dog", "A Chaise Longue Too Far", "Exercising Father's Bicycle" and "Sadly, Madly, Bradley", another fantastic set of episodes from playback who will have only 8 series (4 DVD boxsets) left to release after this release so i ask them to release them ASAP

List of expected episodes on this set

Series 22 (DVD 23)

1 April 2001 "Getting Barry's Goat"
8 April 2001 "The Art of the Shorts Story"
15 April 2001 "The Missing Bus of Mrs. Avery"
22 April 2001 "Hey, Big Vendor"
29 April 2001 "Enter the Hawk"
6 May 2001 "Gnome and Away"
13 May 2001 "A Hair of the Blonde That Bit You"
20 May 2001 "A White Sweater and a Solicitor's Letter"
27 May 2001 "Why is Barry at an Angle?"
3 June 2001 "The Coming of the Beast"

Series 23 (DVD 24)

30 December 2001 "Potts in Pole Position" (Special)
6 January 2002 "A Brief Excursion in the Fast Lane"
13 January 2002 "The Mystical Squeak of Howard's Bicycle"
20 January 2002 "Mervyn Would be Proud"
27 January 2002 "The Incredible Ordeal of Norman Clegg"
3 February 2002 "Beware of the Hot Dog"
10 February 2002 "In Search of Childlike Joy and the Farthest Reaches of the Lotus Position"
17 February 2002 "A Chaise Longue Too Far"
24 February 2002 "Exercising Father's Bicycle"
3 March 2002 "Sadly, Madly, Bradley"
10 March 2002 "It All Began With an Old Volvo Headlamp"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have the whole set from series 1 to series 24, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
when will the rest be on the market.

there are a number of series missing including all those with Russ Abbott amongst others in them, including the last of the last of the summer wine, I would like to purchase these when they come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOTSW Ep 23-24, 2 May 2013
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
We miss Compo, but the others do a great job. Looking forward to the rest of the episodes, but they seem to be taking a long time. We have had to watch Series 1 to 24 for a second time, and about to start a third!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Summer Wine as sweet as ever., 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
As always the old guys come up with some funny situations and resolutions. It's not quite the same without Compo, but it remains one of the best sit coms, set in lovely locations with terrifying women and daft plots. But hey...........
Why don't BBC bring it back !

Now have all from 1 to 24. Only another 11 series to collect !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series - timeless great viewing , will purcahse more of series., over coming months - don't push your luck - said all needs saying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Paula Jacobi "Pearlz" (Castle Hill NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series and hope to collect every episode. It's great to see the actors who have passed and now Frank Thornton has gone which is a great pity, but we can still see him via this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought as a christmas present for a realative, it didn't disappoint and arrived very quickly and has been enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last of the Summer Wine - Series 23 & 24 [DVD]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews