Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween.com
Halloween Resurrection was first released back in 2002 and, my God, I cannot believe it's been that long! You may find it funny that I'm reviewing this on November 1 - the day after Halloween. The thing is, I actually like to sit down and watch this film every year on November 1. I've no idea what drives me to do it; just a little tradition of mine, I guess...
Published 23 months ago by Fox in the Box

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The film that ruins the entire series.
Why, when the Halloween series had reached such a successfully satisfying conclusion in 'Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later' did the money grabbing Akkads feel the need to undermine all that H20 had achieved, by completely rewriting the ending?

For those who havn't already seen Resurrection, it won't be giving much away to say that unstoppable killing machine...
Published on 27 July 2003 by vids-direct


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The film that ruins the entire series., 27 July 2003
Why, when the Halloween series had reached such a successfully satisfying conclusion in 'Halloween H20: Twenty Years Later' did the money grabbing Akkads feel the need to undermine all that H20 had achieved, by completely rewriting the ending?

For those who havn't already seen Resurrection, it won't be giving much away to say that unstoppable killing machine Michael Myers wasn't really killed by his sister Laurie (Jamie-Lee Curtis) at the end of the previous film, and is back to wreak more havoc on a group of unsuspecting Haddonfield teens. However, the rather flimsy and implausable reason given for Myers' 'resurrection' is by no means the most offensive flaw in the film. No, that would be the casting of rapper Busta Rhymes. Playing a cunning internet entrepeuner who plans to show a live webcast of a group of students exploring the house where Michael lived as a child, Rhymes displays a complete lack of talent and ability to act. The inclusion of a rap icon proved successful with LLCoolJ in H20 - who brought humour to the role and provided the script with a carefully limited dose of comedic value. However, Rhymes is annoying, loud and very rarely talks in comprehensible sentences. He gurns his way through the film, performs an embarrassing display of martial arts against Myers, and generally smacks of the producers attempting to include as many aspects into the film that they deem popular with the audience - thus gaining maximum box-office returns.

It has been clear that producer Moustapha Akkad sees the series as nothing more than a sure-fire way to pay the mortgage, but never has it been so evident as in 'Resurrection'. Without giving anything away, the first ten minutes of the film are completely unnecessary and poorly executed, leaving what should be the series' most poignant sequence looking like the most amateurish and embarrassing; in what is supposed to be a steady tracking shot down a corridor, the camera actually wobbles.

Rick Rosenthal (who more than competently handled 'Halloween 2') however, can not be entirely blamed for the film's downfall. The script is uningaging and often embarrassing and sorely missing any of the psycho-babble that Donald Pleasance used to spout in the previous films. That - the only adult or intelligent aspect of the previous films which set the Halloween series apart from its evil cousin 'Friday the 13th'- has now completely disappeared, replaced with a focus on a bland, indistinguishable group of teenagers being methodically buthchered in 'inventive' ways.

However, the film does manage to create a few moments of well crafted suspense. Although the whole intenet aspect is a naff attempt to bring the series into the 21st century (previously failing in 'My Little Eye'), the sequence where one of the characters must follow instuctions from an internet user who can watch Michael's every move is genuinely tense. For a moment. The final scenes are also well carried out - were it not for the presence of Busta Rhymes. The setting of the house proves to be quite spooky at times, although when it is realised that all the scary artifacts from Michael's childhood have merely been set up, any potential for an exploration of Michael's evil is immediately lost.

Of course , for general horror fans, 'Resurrection' will still prove entertaining, though not at all on the same levels as the first two outings or H20, but for die-hard fans of the series, the half-hearted execution of (practically every aspect of) the film (even the music is dire) and undoing of the perfect conclusion to the series in H20, will cause serious frustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It put the series straight back to pre-H20 levels., 22 July 2009
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Okay, I'll try to be balanced here. This movie was terrible. I know a lot of people were disappointed in H20 because it is far too similar stylistically to the post-Scream slasher movies, and some because it abandons the storyline of Halloweens 4-6. However, I think that was the correct thing to do seeing as the wider audience is far more familiar with the Jamie Lee Curtis story, which showed in the box office for H2O.
So, three years later, plus an extra one because of production problems, we have Resurrection. And was it worth the wait? Far from it.

The Jamie Lee Curtis cameo was the most ill-conceived idea since they killed off James T. Kirk in a cameo in Star Trek: Generations. We had 20 years and three movies of build-up to the event that was motivating this serial killer, and they deliver the most insulting anti-climax since the aforementioned demise of one starship captain. And what's worse, it's the best 10 minutes of this movie. I don't lay this blame entirely with one party, because what was an ill-conceived idea was then filmed very badly by Rick Rosenthal, and then edited even more slopily in post production. Jamie Lee Curtis should have used her contracted obligatory appearance for something much more useful, like having Myers searching for her the whole movie and then she appears at the end. That would have worked much better. Besides which, Laurie's 'death' is highly ambiguous, given that she is stabbed once and falls from the roof, landing softly on the tree tops. I must admit, that is perhaps the best shot of the movie, but it doesn't totally convince you of anything really. After all, look at dear old Dr Loomis. He burned, he was thrown through a window, he was stabbed, he had an apparently fatal heart attack, and then something incoherent happens to him at the end of H6(!). And you KNOW he would have been in H2O if Donald Pleasance were still alive.

Anyway, moving along... to the score, or rather, to a mediocre version of John Carpenter's classic theme (although how many more 'variations' on that I can take, I don't know). I struggled to pick out any decent new cues throughout the entire film, or to be more accurate, any cues at all! Not a good sign. They might as well have just replaced it with some of Marco Beltrami's score from Scream, as they did in H20.

Basically, there is just no point to this story. The reality TV/internet broadcast thing was already two years past its sell by date, besides which it was done much better in My Little Eye that year. It completely undermines the whole story behind the Halloween movies, whether you prefer the H1, H2, H4, H5, H6 or the H1, H2, H2O, H8 path. After finally dispensing with his sister (until H40!) all he seems to do is a spot of housework, cleaning away an unsympathetic bunch of reality TV partygoers.

And cutting past the chase to the denouement, Resurrection also has perhaps the most impotent and predictable final scene in the whole series. At least the incoherent mess at the end of H6 left you wondering what the hell had happened. Not Resurrection.

If you ever wonder why they stopped making the Halloween sequels and went for the remake, then this movie is all the answer you need.

Lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious. Not Even Worth Picking Up To Look At The Box., 29 Oct 2007
By 
ChrisHaydon "chrishaydon_63" (Whitstable, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
'Halloween' is fantastic. It is a creative, beautiful and just tremendous 'Slasher Film' that John Carpenter crafted with excellence.
'Halloween: Resurrection' however, is just rubbish.
It's just a general waste of time.
Busta Rhymes? No thanks.
Jamie Lee Curtis? Yes please but lay off these diabolical sequals for your career's sake.

'Halloween: Resurrection' tells the tale of a group of teens who decide to stay over night at the Myer's family home, where the horrific murders of the original film take place, as part of a reality television sitcom about notorious murderers.
You can probably already tell it's going to be bad by the fact it's about a reality television show which lets face it, are the most pointless, mind-numbingly boring and just worthless television shows ever to be thought up of. Why in God's name would you want to sit and watch people doing exactly the same as you? It's just stupid.

This film has cursed the 'Halloween' franchise and I seriously do not recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH, 12 Mar 2006
By A Customer
How could they!!!!!!!!! H20 was good and then they have to Trash what I heard was a good script for the next part!! instead we get the dumb! reality tv mixed with Mike Myers?? and whats worse! people in this film are so stupid! duh! why did u kill off Jamie Lee? hope she survived for another sequal to put this all right! H20 set up Halloween perfect for possible sequel ideas? Myers after Jamie Lees son and girlfriend? they could have killed off Jamie lee in the next film! have her sacrifice herself to save her son? big exit! but no!!! they comes up with the dumb idea of Jamie Lee falling from a roof?? and all over in minutes? until we get on with what is basically! a dumb teen slasher, Mike Myers is the only good thing in this, at least hes still creepy, glad they didnt get him to take off his mask and have a chat/song and dance! oh no! whos reading this? I just gave the lame director a fresh idea :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cop out, 1 Dec 2004
By 
Stephen Myers "steve7k" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He's unstoppable, unfathomable and definitely unsociable. But for film you have to be able to forgive the unbelievable. And in this film it gets really difficult. Halloween, the original film, was terrifying. The fact that this guy could move around very slowly, unchallenged, in a boiler suit and creepy mask was overcome by the genuine chills and special camera and musical tricks. And the brilliance of Jamie Lee Curtis.
Then came the sequels, which went from reasonable to bizarre in leaps and bounds. Halloween H20 finally put the whole story to rest in a way that was contrived, but at least brought Laurie Strode and Jamie Lee to a fitting end with brother Michael.
Now comes along Resurrection, which is not at all a bad film in terms of horror, but completely short changes all the fans of the original by including a beginning sequence that 'completes' Laurie's story by making her out to fail to recognise her killer brother, despite having fought him for the majority of H20, and also failing to kill him (again) in the first fifteen mintues of the new film. Her fight and success was the reason we loved the premise. Jamie Lee may have been pleased to see her role ended, but it felt like a huge cop out to me.
According to this film, Michael Myers won his battle after many years, which was to dispatch sister Laurie. But then he decided to go on to butcher a few more would-be starlets, because they came into the house. So what? When was he particularly interested in the house? And if he was so protective, when did people get in there to plant the dummy stuff?
It's not a bad film. It's just a travesty for those of us that had sweaty palms in the cinema watching the original Halloween.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resurrection, but not exhileration, 5 Sep 2003
By 
Darren Rae "Eco-traveller" (Somewhere in Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a diehard fan of the Halloween series, i can say this about Halloween:Resurrection - its as good as 4 or 5. Basically, you are no longer scared of Michael Myers, indeed, it is he you are willing on, to kill off the typical screaming kids who will wander about the dark house with not as much as a brain cell in them. Will there be more sequels? Probably, because people are no longer fans of the series - but are now fans of Michael Myers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just watch the first 15 minutes!, 10 Oct 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Halloween Resurrection' is the eighth part of the long-running Halloween series and Michael Myers has returned yet again to brutally murder another group of ill-fated teenagers with his unusually large kitchen knife and various other sharp objects. This time round, an internet-based broadcast company (lead by Busta Rhymes) is about to show a live feed from within the abandoned Myers' house where the group of unfortunates, fitted with head cameras, must spend Halloween night there and gather clues to why Michael did what he did all those years ago. Little do they know that the real Michael Myers is in the house with them.

It all sounds like it could be a good film with a new twist to the usual formula, but unfortunately it is poorly executed with bad acting (especially from the very irritating Tyra Banks), rubbish script and annoying and cheap camera-work (mainly from the head cameras). The film actually begins very well before all of this happens, where Michael visits the mental institution where Laurie Strode (the lead character from some of the previous Halloween films) has been staying since after H2O and attempts to finish her off for good. If this had of been the basis of the whole film it would have been a winner but it goes rapidly down-hill once this scene is over.

Overall this is a poor addition to the series that was trying to make the most of the personal camera theme that was very popular at the time in the horror genre, with other films like The Blair Witch Project and My Little Eye successfully pulling it off, but it really doesn't work here. I've given this film 3 stars only for the first 15 minutes (the Laurie scene) as this does finish off that storyline very well, but the rest of the film would have to be given a 2/5 at the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Turn off after 15 mins!!!, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
What can I say? Even with an appauling script the opening is a clever one. I love the fact that Laurie's in a mental hospital, i love the scary clown man thing, I love the openening. Then what happens? A story that is so poor and badly acted (who cast Busta?!)that it is scary. Scary that so many people have give it a good review. Please do NOT waste your time on this insult to Halloween. Do watch the opening if you must but turn off after 15 minutes. There are better things you could do! Two stars to Jamie Lee Curtis. No stars for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STAY AWAY!, 15 Jan 2005
By A Customer
'Halloween' should have stayed unresurrected! Laughable characters and situations, and the tasteless death of the series only character left worth caring about are the only horrifying things about this ridiclous entry into the already dead series.
And yes, they are making another one. For shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Halloween - the final kick in the teeth....i hope, 22 Dec 2003
To say this movie is bad is unfair...unfair to john carpenter who made such a brilliant movie all those years ago. this movie is terrible. I would only recommend this movie for curiosity, after viewing you can burn it.
The 'plot' is a loada teens go to the family home of michael myers to spend a night there during halloween whilst it is broadcast over the internet...and uh ho, looksl ike the real mike myers may make an apperance. I think the mike myers from ausitn powers would have been more suited to this laughable attempt. a tragic cash in, with awful script, bad actors, worse plot.
avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween: Resurrection [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import]
Halloween: Resurrection [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] by Thomas Ian Nicholas (Blu-ray - 2012)
Used & New from: £13.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews