Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Group reading book
I gave this to a group of primary six boys who are able readers but not yet book lovers. It went down very well indeed, in fact I will be getting more like it. Horowitz has great style and entertaining plot but with this series they are shorter and more attractive to kids who are not yet avid readers. Fact that they enjoyed it and finished it is great for me, the teacher...
Published on 27 Dec. 2012 by Mr. R. B. Mcintyre

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Christmas present for the Diamond Brothers
I agree with the other readers who say that this is not the best of the Diamond Brothers stories. There isn't much of a plot in this one, nor is there very much action; the jokes and witty remarks are not quite as funny as they are in some of the other stories.

As the story starts, the brothers are broke and Christmas is not far away. Their affairs improve...
Published on 3 Dec. 2009 by Lorraine GG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful Christmas present for the Diamond Brothers, 3 Dec. 2009
I agree with the other readers who say that this is not the best of the Diamond Brothers stories. There isn't much of a plot in this one, nor is there very much action; the jokes and witty remarks are not quite as funny as they are in some of the other stories.

As the story starts, the brothers are broke and Christmas is not far away. Their affairs improve when Tim is retained to protect a glamorous international celebrity called Minerva, a pop princess and film star of Greek origin, who is receiving death threats on the occasion of her visit to London to switch on the Christmas lights and open the Santa Claus grotto in Harrods. Her husband insists on hiring a private detective, both for extra security and to find the originator of the threats, and her manager is ordered to find one and bring him in for approval. We need to wait until the end of the story to learn why the obviously idiotic and incompetent Tim was selected for the job. I hadn't realised that Tim was 28 years old by the way. After making a fool of himself yet again, he actually makes some sensible remarks about his unsuitability for the private detection business. As usual, it is Nick who notices anomalies, solves all of the mysteries and identifies the would-be killer and the reasons for the threats. The story that began on such a low note ends on a much higher one when the manager gives the brothers a £10,000 cheque in gratitude for all they have done to further the career of Minerva, his most famous and lucrative client.

Minerva does seem an unlikely name for someone of Greek origin: I realise that it is supposed to make us think of Madonna, but Minerva was the Roman name for the Greek goddess Athena. This is just a minor objection, and although it is not the best Diamond Brothers adventure the story does have some good features. The scene where the brothers rush to tidy up their messy office when there is an unexpected knock on their door is very amusing. I also particularly liked the references to Regent Street: it is so true that it is full of shops selling clothes that we couldn't possibly afford and wouldn't want to buy even if we could, and that the Christmas lights are no longer worth travelling to see. Obvious, but spot on. Anthony Horowitz often comes up with observations like this, which is why I continue to read these stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Group reading book, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. R. B. Mcintyre "benmacdooey" (scotland, lockerbie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Who Stole Christmas (Diamond Brothers Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I gave this to a group of primary six boys who are able readers but not yet book lovers. It went down very well indeed, in fact I will be getting more like it. Horowitz has great style and entertaining plot but with this series they are shorter and more attractive to kids who are not yet avid readers. Fact that they enjoyed it and finished it is great for me, the teacher. Means they are developing appetite for more - on their way to becoming book lovers. Thank you Anthony Horowitz. I rated it high. Downloaded onto six kindles. I use kindles in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Who Stole Christmas (Diamond Brothers Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was a fabulous - it was funny; full of murders, mysteries and laughs... I thought it was one of the funniest books I have ever read! The Diamond Brothers are the best!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously stupendously fantastic!!!, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Who Stole Christmas (Diamond Brothers Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
If you love a good romance story then DON'T buy this book. This is the most hilarious and devilish book you'll ever read. Its funny. Its gruesome. Its got Anthony Horowitz name written all over it.

This is a detective genre. Very gripping and tense at times. Beware. This is the last book in the series so make sure you read the other one's first.

This is the best read EVER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GIGGLES Christmas read, 27 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Greek Who Stole Christmas (Diamond Brothers Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Only just over a hundred pages long, but still gives the true impression of Anthony. Funny. A great, action packed book except for the number of pages, a dim approximate 100. Still, my first Diamond Brothers book and a great impression of what may come next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a brilliant buy and well worth the money, my eldest loved this when she got it, it was a good stocking filler and definitely well worth the money and would recommend to anyone who like Anthony Horowitz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Greek who stole christmas, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Who Stole Christmas (Diamond Brothers Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This is yet again another great diamond brothers book by Anthony Horowitz and it was amazing to read because you didn't know who done it until the very end and it kept you interested the whole way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS BOOK, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Who Stole Christmas (Diamond Brothers Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Defiantly buy this book!

I am 11 years old and have recently bought a kindle touch!
This was the first book I read. It was grat and I advise any young reader to buy it

By Harvey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully good, 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't read this yet, but have read a few in the series. They are fantastic childrens books and really got my imagination going as a child. I am now re-reading the series as a sentimental adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book by the best author, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Who Stole Christmas (Diamond Brothers Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a great. It is a very tricky puzzle being the brother of the worst detective ever. Nick diamond and Tim diamond's client is the friend of the most important pop star star ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews