Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Efficient printer for small business
I felt I had to write a review about this printer for others that are looking for a reliable, efficient printer in a small office. It took me ages to make a decision on what would be the best for our needs - a small charity that produces questionnaires and research documents. This printer has excelled my expectations. It produces good quality print, is fast and does...
Published on 23 April 2012 by Rhona Anderson

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Won't let you print in black and white without colour cartridges
If I had known I would have not purchased it, you can't print just using a black cartridge. Never had this problem before with HP, but it seems to me that they want you to buy colour cartridges even when you just want to print in black and white, or, like in my case, you have run out of one colour.
Very annoying as I always make sure I have replacement cartridges...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HP 8600+ vs Canon MX7600, 7 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
I brought this to replace a Canon MX7600 which broke down.

Both were / are used in a small office capacity to:
1) scan documents and photos, both using the flatbed and autoduplexer.
2) print a variety of documents including graphics heavy pdfs and letters.
3) photocopy a variety of documents

1) Scanning
The auto duplexing function of the ADF works reliably and is quite quick. The PDF's produced are readable at 200dpi, in fact better than the Canon MX7600's ADF duplex scans at 300dpi. It's now easier to digitise old invoices and bills etc. that need to be kept for tax purposes.

I also tried to digitise my old photographs and found the scanner to be inadequate. Scans at even 600 dpi have poor detail and colour balance. They are worse than the cheap scan labs on the internet, and very much worse than a dedicated photoscanner. The HP drivers also force you to save as JPEG or PDF which is very limiting.

Overall for office use I would say the scan function on the HP 8600+ is adequate and the Canon MX7600 is poor.

2) Printing
For largely B&W office documents and letters the printer is fantastic. Text looks sharp and laser like. It is also really quick. However, it doesn't print graphics nearly as well. There is noticeable banding on solid blocks of colour, unless you choose best quality print settings. Even at best quality, the colours look "dotty". In contrast, the Canon MX7600 produces colours and graphics indistinguishable from professional prints. They are in a completely different league to the HP.

One major annoyance with the HP is that its fiddly to print envelopes. You have to take the A4 paper out of the print tray, put the envelop in, print and put the A4 paper back in again. It doesn't have a separate envelop feed mechanism.

Overall I would say the print function of the HP8600+ is good. The Canon MX7600 is excellent (this does have a separate envelop feed).

3) Photocopies are quite accurate, and look like the original document. Both printers are equal in this regard.

The HP8600+ would be a 5 star machine with better colour print quality and an envelope feed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infuriatingly unreliable, 7 May 2014
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
Looks great, sounds great. Is slightly needier and higher maintenance than your worst nightmare, spends most of its time needing attention and re starting and user maintenance, rarely actually prints anything and never on the first time of asking. Ensure that you start working on printing out at least 24 hours in advance of when you need the item as it will take you that long to actually make it work. I bought it as a key piece of kit for a small business and it has let me down time and time again. Nor do I have the time or money to mess around getting advice, repairs and interventions for what should be a working product at the point of sale to justify the major expenditure. Very expensive mistake, in frequent danger of being reprogrammed with a hammer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even think of buying this typical HP rubbish, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
Bought my first Dec 2102 to replace previous model that had lasted barely 18 months because I had (so I thought) suitable spare ink cartridges .From the outset clearly a problem with firmware as on each print instruction it said it could not connect but after 15 seconds printed. The scanning function failed May 13 and vendor replaced printer. Document feeder developed fault Aug 2013 and HP replaced printer with refubished printer. When I raised failure to print because of lack of WiFi connection with HP they sent me a list of changes to make to software set-up - as I have time to correct a fault they have identified with their software/firmware. I wrote (not for the first time ) in complaint to HP CEO in the USA and once again gained no response. HP good at marketing, lousey at customer support and a vendor of poorly designed products. (I have had problems with HP laptops too.) My recommendation is that you shoulod think tice and then think twice again before considering buying any HP Product until they wake up, stop selling rubbish and improve their customer focus. They probably think they are too big to fail so it is up to us to bring them down. We do need companies like HP anymore. Toshiba runs rings round them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HP produce theoretically brilliant products... in fact, they are great when they work. But..., 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
1 original and 3 replacement printers all suffered from "Printer error. Please switch off then on again." One of them worked for nearly a month before this manifested. HP had no solution but to send another. Then another. The customer service was, in the end, appalling. I tried to refuse the 3rd replacement, having had enough. But no, they wanted me to set everything up again, reinstall on all the family devices. Then send it back again. No solutions available. And no other devices have problems in my home, so I'm sure this is an HP problem.
When it worked, I liked its ease of use. Quality of output was good, if not brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A printer that doesn't recognise paper, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
Brought to replace my old HP photo printer... The printer is easy to set up and install with all my home computers networked easily. First scan and A4 printing was impressive.... BUT.... the printer fails to recognise any other paper size other than A4, constantly saying "out of paper" despite all the trays being full... tried multiple settings and paper types all failed... HP customer service were terrible, saying that the prnter needed to be dismantled and the paper rolls manually altered everytime paper size changed! this is supposed to be there top of the range printer!! Google "HP Officejet paper problems" and you will see the 100's of people who have had the same problem... Very bad product DO NOT BUY before you see the known problems, HP have yet to offer any suitable software/hardware fix, and until they do steer well clear! Amazon issued refund no problem, unless od course the parcel is due to be picked up by Yodel! Don't get me started about that company.. if Amazon wish to maintain their high standards of customer service and satisfaction they would stop using Yodel!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good multi purpose printer, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Rohit Vishwakarma (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
this printer does it jobs very nicely. I wanted a simple time saving printer/scanner, this printer connects all devices wirelessly, so no hassle about the connecting the cables.

I especially like the in-built web-server, so I can simple customize the setting using just the browser. Scan to email feature is the best in terms of saving time, no need to power on your computer to access scanned document. simply email straight from the device!,wow!. Also HP ePrint service allocates an email address to your printer, so you can simply email a document to the printer and it will be printed automatically.

Usually these kind of advanced features is reserved for high end office printers, but at this price this printer is excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real WorkHorse, 25 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
I use this at home. This printer is big I will warn you now. But the diffence between this and your £100 printers is just so obvious. This printer oozes office power and class. Set up is a doddle. Wireless works perfectly. Software updates and installation is very easy.

Scanning and photocopying is pushbutton easy. Print quality is outstanding and consumption is very very cost-effective. I cannot fault this masterpiece of technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
sfchapman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
A fine printer for the price, but it's been reported (and I have experienced) that most photo papers will not work with this printer.

That said, all other options work well and the setup with wireless was quick and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Printer guaranteed to keep you on the phone for hours in pursuit of wishful expectation that one day it may work, 13 Jun. 2014
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
I have never come across such a frustrating product. BEWARE of the claims that it is wireless I have a BT Vision system and HP claim they have trouble with BT because BT according to them keeps changing its signal in order to optimise speed and efficiency the HP Printer doesn't like it and keeps crashing out and the only way to get it to work is to switch it off and back on again to make a new connection. Now the printer is less than 2 feet from the router and it cannot work wirelessly. I ended up using an ethernet cable link.

The HP staff offered to replace product but frankly I don't think anything will make it work properly it has too many flaws.

Also YOU MUST ONLY USE HP CARTRIDGES or else they make your warranty null and void this is contrary to EU Regulations it is like when Rank Xerox claimed photocopiers were faulty because people were not using Rank Xerox paper!!! Other brands with compatible printer cartridges are half the price and apparently work just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of hassle in the 4 months since purchasing, 30 July 2012
By 
D. Richards "Dave" (Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CM750A OfficeJet Pro 8600 Plus e-All-in-One (Print, Scan, Copy, Fax, Web) (Accessory)
After using this printer for 4.5mths all is not good.

In that time I have had to take delivery of x2 replacement machines / re-setup each time, due to it making a screeching / squealing noise all the time.

At first HP's answer was to clean the rollers, which I did to no avail, and then the sent out replacement machines on 2 occasions.

The actual problem was the duplexer part at the back (which does not come when HP send you a replacement machine) so that part needed to be replaced never was on the 2 occasions, so the noise continued, untill I requested they send a replacement duplexer some 4 months after buying the machine, which is quite a long time to endure not being able to print, scan, copy in peace.

Although HP sent out the replacement machines no fuss, they did not really diagnose the problem, it really was left for me to guess / try to determine by process of elimination.

Due to the unit being replaced / re-installed so many times, the HP software on my PC is conflicting resulting in not being able to scan to network folder, with the printer saying digital filing not set up, but the set-up option on the PC software having disappeared.

I spent 1.25hrs on the phone to a support person who remotely accessed my computer / printer, but could not fix the problem, despite the computer being a HP one also!

In all spent in excess of 10hours attempting to sort this out, communicating with HP 'support' and taking delivery of replacement machines, setting the up wirelessly etc etc, not to mention the hassle / inconvenience of it all.
I have felt like an unpaid HP employee, when quite simply I paid good money for hassle free Printing, Scanning, and Copying.

Have asked for a full refund and will be purchasing an alternative = a cannon mx895 which hopefully will be of better quality and support if needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews