Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun
This book sees the further adventures of Rachel Morgan, a sexy and witty heroine who is much put upon by her choice of house-mate (Ivy, living vampire with attitude and great desire to be rather more to Rache than just a housemate), colleagues (Jenks, her Pixy sidekick, and Ivy again -together these 3 make up Vampiric Charms, an all round butt-kicking supernatural...
Published on 3 Aug 2005 by Caitlin Macdonald

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still want to go on the journey with Rachel
Okaaay.... I sped from book two (which I gave an excellent rating to and thoroughly enjoyed) straight into book 3 - and was a little disappointed. I genuinely loved book two in the Hollows series - it had a tight plot, a spicing of sex, plenty of danger and I just could not stop turning pages.

Book 3 was a little different. Many of the good qualities of book...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by A. L. Rutter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still want to go on the journey with Rachel, 16 Jun 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Okaaay.... I sped from book two (which I gave an excellent rating to and thoroughly enjoyed) straight into book 3 - and was a little disappointed. I genuinely loved book two in the Hollows series - it had a tight plot, a spicing of sex, plenty of danger and I just could not stop turning pages.

Book 3 was a little different. Many of the good qualities of book two remained. I loved the characters - including a few new characters introduced, such as Ceri and David the Were. The action was gripping, and I loved learning more and more about the history of Harrison's alternate reality to ours. We also finally learn about Trent's links to Rachel's family, and some of the reasons why she is so important to the demon Big Al.

We are plunged straight into the action here, when Big Al comes to make good on Rachel's agreement of becoming his familiar in exchange for his testimony in the trial of Piscary. From there the events of the book take place over the course of about a week, and the encounters never let up. I have the same issue with pacing though as I did with the first book - at times Rachel is catapulted into each new incident with breathless intensity, while at other times we have some very random incidences, such as the meeting between Rachel and Takata early on (which, ultimately, doesn't add anything extra particularly to the story) and the introduction to Erica, Ivy's younger sister.

I also have the feeling that Harrison jotted down some ideas and was determined to shoehorn them into the story, no matter how tacked on they felt. All I can say here is vampire line-dancing....

I also missed Jenks. For reasons that I shall not go into for fear of spoilers, Jenks ends up leaving the story part way through and his absence leaves a big hole. The mouthy pixy is an integral part of the success of the first two books, I think, and I cannot wait to get him back!

One thing I felt relieved about - along with Rachel, no doubt! - was Ivy's decision to become a practising vampire again. We get less of the uncomfortable episodes where Rachel does something that causes Ivy to "vamp out" and attack her.

All in all, there were some wonderful moments and some very strong parts of the book - Kisten was a highlight, as were Rachel's encounters with Algaliarept. I also enjoyed the overall theme of the book - that of Rachel stretching her comfort zone and "being lured into places that I once vowed I'd never go" (in her own words). By the end of the story she has worked for Trent, used leyline magic and dated a vampire. Rachel is continually growing and changing as a character, and I still very much want to go on the journey with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 3 Aug 2005
This book sees the further adventures of Rachel Morgan, a sexy and witty heroine who is much put upon by her choice of house-mate (Ivy, living vampire with attitude and great desire to be rather more to Rache than just a housemate), colleagues (Jenks, her Pixy sidekick, and Ivy again -together these 3 make up Vampiric Charms, an all round butt-kicking supernatural detective service, thats unfortunate name means it ends up in the phone book under Escort services). The main events centre on Rachel trying to excape a deal with a demon who wants her soul and her services in the "Ever-after" as his familiar, in return for a favour where he helped jail Piscary - a mafiosoesque vampire - in the previous installment in the series. Rachel really doesn't want to deliver, and while attempting to renege on the deal manages to free the demon's current familiar -an Elf who has been in his power for a thousand years. It's all good, action packed adventure, and as an added bonus, Rache has managed to get rid of her wet human boyfriend and takes up with the very sexy vamp, Kisten - a well written and very appealing yin for Rachel's yang.
The protaganist is spunky and witty but has a vulnerable side that makes her an appealing heroine. I hope the author has plenty more of this series up her sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars, 31 May 2010
By 
Third book in the Rachel Morgan series. This one turned out to be very exciting and character-driven, rather than driven by plot. More is gleaned about each of the characters and that helps fill them out a little bit.

Rachel is faced with 2 major problems: owing the demon, Al, a favor - namely becoming his familiar. There's also a new player in the city, Lee, who is trying to take over the business of "supply and demand". Rachel, as a character, is probably at her best. She deals with the human side of misery, being dumped by Nick, and falling for another, the vampire Kisten. Between that and nearly getting killed....however many times, she manages to pull it all together and save the day. As per usual.

The action sequences are pretty explosive and each character gets a chance to open up just a little bit more. Enough to make you give a darn about whether they live or die
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Witch Has Her Day..., 8 Mar 2006
The third in Ms Harrisons series sees Rachel Morgan face more complications and twists than ever.
Sporting a demon mark, being a `Runner`, fighting of the advances of her vampire room mate and keeping secrets from her Pixy partner are just some of the better parts of her life.
Once again Rachel Morgan is faced with bad guys out to get her and an ever complicated friendship group which is starting to feel the strain.
More sharp wit, more great charactor interaction and a twisting plot that makes you feel like you`re driving down a winding country lane or on a wild rollercoaster.
If you`ve read the first 2 books in the series you`ll love this and if you haven`t read the first 2 - why not?
This book is absolutely great and makes it hard to stop reading until you reach the end and realise you want more.
However do NOT read this one without reading the first 2 in the series or it may not make much sense.
So if you have yet to read `Dead Witch Walking` & `The Good The Bad & The Undead` then do yourselves a favour and read them.
If you`ve read those 2 then you have to read this because the series just gets better and better.
This was a gem of a find and I look forward to the next chapter in the life of Rachel Morgan and company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more good stuff, 22 April 2010
By 
Kim Harrison yet again continues to entertain with no 3 of 8 adventures. The interaction by the three main characters is fun action packed and light hearted. This set of books is great for a holiday read Its easy to follow action filled and engaging with a hint of vampires werewolves and demons what more more could you want.
If you enjoy Laurell k Hamilton books these books are similar in style but does not have the adult theme that anita Blake books have and are different enough to be enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy me!, 13 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely amazing, I just can't stress how good this book is, the third and by far the best of the series so far, has a great beginning and just keeps on getting better, literally couldn't put it down! One of the best books that I've read in ages, give the series a try if you like LKH, Jim Butcher, Kelley Armstrong etc, it won't dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Dead (The Hollows Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Amazing book. Didn't think u could get better than the first one and once I started reading I could hardly put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this series and loved getting to know the characters - good series - easy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Dead (The Hollows Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Every book in this series keeps you wanting more. Its got it all, great characters, tension and humour and the odd little twist to make you think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 6 Sep 2013
This review is from: Every Which Way But Dead (The Hollows Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great read love it
kim is really good at getting the mind seeing the story unfold
i love books like that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews