Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Miniseries brought to DVD.
Do not be put off by the fact that this CBS miniseries was directed by a woman, based on a book by a woman and starred women in the leading roles. Women of course had a huge say in the founding of the early American west. How could they not? The book "True Women" was written by Janice Woods Windle and is based on research into Windle's own ancestors, hence the title. The...
Published 22 months ago by Bob Salter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars TRUE WOMEN.
Delivered on time and in very good condition but I was not very impressed with the actual film. Acting was good but the storyline left a lot to be desired in my opinion.
Published 9 months ago by H. A. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Miniseries brought to DVD., 17 Sep 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
Do not be put off by the fact that this CBS miniseries was directed by a woman, based on a book by a woman and starred women in the leading roles. Women of course had a huge say in the founding of the early American west. How could they not? The book "True Women" was written by Janice Woods Windle and is based on research into Windle's own ancestors, hence the title. The film spans many decades from the Texas war of Independence from Mexico, briefly mentioning the Alamo and San Jacinto right through to the Indian uprisings, the Civil war and of course the women's suffrage movement. Quite a span of history to bridge and the sort of thing that is very reminiscent of the epic American writer James Michener's work, especially "Centennial". This is really the story of Texas the Lone Star State, and redresses the balance for women who played an equal part in its formation. Texas has a rich and proud history which is certainly worth telling!

The film is helped by the fact that it was actually filmed on location in Texas itself, which shows. The cast is pretty strong, lead by the very beautiful Angelina Jolie, and even using the very English actor Michael York as a southern gentleman. Powers Booth provides a strong brooding presence as a stalwart Texas ranger. John Schneider from "The Dukes of Hazard" interestingly appears as as Sam Huston. The story follows the fortunes of friends Euphemia and Georgia as they take different paths through Texas history. It also covers the topical subject of slavery. Made back in 1997 someone has had the good idea of putting the series onto one DVD. It is clear from watching the film that a lot has had to be cut, and that shows at times. A pity that we did not see a little more about the Comanche wars and how the friendship built on mutual respect grew between the Comanche chief Tarantula and the two sisters Euphemia and Sarah. We also saw little of Texas founding father Sam Huston which surprised me given how largely he loomed over Texan history. But never mind, for a whistle stop tour of Texas history in just under two and a half hours it is not bad. Jolie steals the show as the flamboyant Geogia in typical breezy Hollywood fashion. A choice role that she revels in it!

I would like to have seen the whole miniseries because it seems to be a decent effort. I was reminded of Olive Carey's words in John Ford's magisterial western "The Searchers" set in Texas. "It just so happens we be Texicans. Texican is nothin' but a human man way out on a limb, this year and next. Maybe for a hundred more. But I don't think it'll be forever. Some day this country's gonna be a fine good place to be. Maybe it needs our bones in the ground before that time can come". Some great lines in a fine film, and sentiments that this film does it's best to echo. Given the paucity of good western fare around at the moment this one is well worth catching. Much better than I expected! A generous four stars! This is just a bare bones DVD with no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
i absolutely loved this movie yet i had never heard of it,but its a great story and the acting is superb
and its such a great movie set in the south at the time of the war between the states ,dont miss this one
catherine fletcher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
S. Smith "Smiffy" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great story of 3 very strong and resilient women
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars True story?, 12 May 2014
By 
Jeannette Byrne (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
This was a good tale but it dragged on far too long, this detracted from my enjoyment. Jolie not the best actress by far in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very bland, 6 April 2014
By 
Conn Crowley "Munster man" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
Poorly done. Dana Delaney apart the cast was very poor. A lot of ham acting in what could have been a very good story. Some of the accents very bad. The Comanche did not look like the tribe I have researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars TRUE WOMEN., 12 Oct 2013
By 
H. A. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
Delivered on time and in very good condition but I was not very impressed with the actual film. Acting was good but the storyline left a lot to be desired in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
The film was well packaged, promptly delivered and in the promised condition. Thank you.

This is a family film, good story line, very interesting with something happening all of the time. Angeline Jolie was very convincing as always, but in my opinion her performance was surpassed by Dana Delany and Annabeth Gish.

Would love to see the unabridged edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summery, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
A very interesting story with historica facts, including the American Civil War and the fight against The Great Plains Indians,Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True woman, 2 Jun 2012
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great film not what I was expecting, was a little slow to start but stay with it it is a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Women [DVD] (DVD)
Rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Women [DVD]
True Women [DVD] by Karen Arthur (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews