Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars75
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2015
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Having read a sample I could not wait to start the book.It is a true story about a man who loses his wife and had to start to get to know his daughters and how to get on with them. Funny at times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
I cried
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Really enjoyed this book. Believable charactors and a storyline which kept me engrossed. Will look for other books by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
I both cried and laughed whilst reading this book. Jeremy is to be admired in every way. I couldn't put it down. RIP Lizzie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Excellent book. Tragic story but happy ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
I found the central event of this book really affected me, and I felt strongly for Mr Howe and his poor little girls. The early parts of the book where he describes their reaction to her death and funeral struck chords, as I lost my dad when I was eight, and had many similar feelings to the children in this tragic story. BUT I found the writing horribly stilted (the lack of apostrophes when people were speaking really got to me, where was the editor??), and the at times Howe's almost flippant style, along with the 'happy ending', 'putting away in a drawer', and 'no longer a widower' comments at the end, along with the lack of mention of a new partner until the end made me less sympathetic to the author. In a literary sense, obviously. In terms of what he and his children went through I feel horribly sad for them. But this book was really bad and seemed a bit opportunistic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2012
I am sorry but wouldnt agree this book is worth 5 stars. yes i do agree that i did have sympathy with Jeremy after his wife died. But he was fortunate to have a good salary and comfortable lifestyle and support. i know that it must be difficult for anyone losing a partner and especially under such circumstances. What i probably got annoyed about was he wasn't very nice about Northern Ireland , had no good comments about it, and mocked that they didn't have networks for mobiles one time he was on holidays , and it was living in a war zone. I am very proud to be from Northern Ireland and people here have had to keep going with their lives after losing partners in atrocities. The book got boring to me after a while, i was glad i only paid 99p for it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse