Customer Reviews


1,167 Reviews
5 star:
 (770)
4 star:
 (258)
3 star:
 (86)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


148 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archer hits the target
Harry Clifton assumes the identity of shipmate Tom Bradshaw who is charged with the murder of his brother. After promises from top New York lawyer Sefton Jelks that a plea of guilty will lead to leniency, proceedings in front of an aggressive Judge Atkins, Jelks does a deal involving Bradshaw's father and 'Harry' ends up with a six year jail sentence in Lavernham prison...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by ACB(swansea)

versus
44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
I really enjoyed the first book in the series and although this book was enjoyable it wasn't as good as the first one. Its an easy read with another cliff hanger ending so I will be reading the next one but probably wont pre order it as I did this one. I somehow felt that this book had been rushed, not his best work but worth a read.
Published on 27 Mar 2012 by Jane4


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

148 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archer hits the target, 15 Mar 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Harry Clifton assumes the identity of shipmate Tom Bradshaw who is charged with the murder of his brother. After promises from top New York lawyer Sefton Jelks that a plea of guilty will lead to leniency, proceedings in front of an aggressive Judge Atkins, Jelks does a deal involving Bradshaw's father and 'Harry' ends up with a six year jail sentence in Lavernham prison. Chaperoned by experienced con Pat Quinn he survives the prison ordeals. Meanwhile, Emma Barrington Harry's partner is seeking the truth. Searching through family history with the aid of genealogy, travelling to the USA, tracking family heroes (Giles) interred in POW camps, the outcome is a novel of tension. Emma is convinced that Harry is alive. Archer writes in familiar, easy style, but retains the 'what happens next' factor. No spoilers, but an engrossing read. Well-recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sins of the Father (The Clifton Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the first book in the series and although this book was enjoyable it wasn't as good as the first one. Its an easy read with another cliff hanger ending so I will be reading the next one but probably wont pre order it as I did this one. I somehow felt that this book had been rushed, not his best work but worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sins of the Father (The Clifton Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Jeffrey Archer has been described as a "superb storyteller" and that is as true of "The Sins of the Father" as it is of his other books. What that means is that it is pedestrian, repetitive and cliched, but, for some reason, I know not why, the reader feels compelled to keep on reading. The dialogue itself is reasonably true to life, but there is seldom any variation on "said Harry (or whoever)". I counted ten of these on a single Kindle page.

The mind is stretched by the number of coincidences, both fortunate and unfortunate, that happen throughout the book, which I won't go into since that would create spoilers. Suffice it to say that for me these are an integral part of the reason for the compulsive page-turning by the reader - just to see how they are convincingly explained they are (or are not, as the case may be).

There are some matters that , though not of major importance, should have been picked up at the editing stage. The fact that they remain does call into question the quality of the editing. For example, I thought after the first book in the series someone would have pointed out to the author that, when Big Ben chimes, it is the FIRST chime that denotes the hour, not the last, but he makes the same mistake here - twice over!

And for a corporal, whose country of birth is revealed by his use of the word "laddie", to be called "McCloud" rather than "Macleod" or "McLeod" just beggars belief!

It is crucial that any prospective reader has previously read "Only Time Will Tell", the first book in the series, since the author makes very few concessions by way of explaining background to anyone who has not. In view of the "cliffhanger" on which the book ends, this will be even more important for future readers of Book 3.

Despite all this, I WILL be buying the next (hopefully the last!) book in the series when it comes out, I assume next year, just to see how it all pans out. I bet that, just like this one, it will be more of the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sins of the Father EBook, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sins of the Father (The Clifton Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
great book- as usual Lord Archer has drawn us into a web of intrigue, i couldnt put it down and again as usual he is THE master storyteller.
Only complaint is the cost? i could buy the paper book for the same price- wish amazon made the ebooks which have no real outlay in paper costs etc would make their ebooks cheaper !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Archers second Clifton Chronicles is gripping and engaging, 19 Sep 2014
By 
There are few authors so renowned for writing big blockbuster family sagas as Jeffrey Archer and for the past few days I have been engrossed in the second instalment of his Clifton Chronicles, The Sins of the Father.

Initially it took me a few chapters to reacquaint myself with the lead characters in this story, Harry Clifton the lead character begins this book charged with a murder committed by another man whose identity he has assumed. He has left England and his love Emma Barrington, a woman who could well be his half sister and whom he has fathered a child with that he is unaware of.

When you write it like this it it sounds like a story from Jeremy Kyle, truly there seems to be very little concern in the book about the potential inscestual issues this brings up for the poor child. If however you can put this aside the bones of this book are truly outstanding.

It is an amazing tale, told in turn from the perspective of many of the main characters and covering the period through the Second World War. Set equally across America and England we follow Harry as he serves a prison sentence as Tom Bradshaw and begins writing a prison diary (reflection on real life there Mr Archer?), we follow Emma as she seeks to establish whether her love did actually die aboard the Kansas Star ship and her brother Giles as he heads off to war.

The reading of this book flew past, I felt I had barely begun and it was over, the short and snappy chapters along with the switching of narrators is highly engaging and a wonderfully enjoyable writing style. With two books still to read in the series and with a clear cliffhanger to spur us into the next instalment we are promised much more intrigue and exploration of the world of Harry Clifton. I personally am looking forward to instalment number 3 and sharing more of the saga Archer has to unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good hoilday read, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sins of the Father (The Clifton Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A lot of stuffing to the basic story. I am sure he could have written the whole series in one if he had wanted to and hadnt wanted to make more money by writing three books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat improbable plot, but what a cliffhanger ending!, 25 July 2014
The second book in the Clifton Chronicles sees Harry adopting the identity of Tom Bradshaw, which seems on the face of it quite probable given the circumstances surrounding his non-marriage to Emma Barrington. Firstly however Tom is an American and secondly it turns out he is wanted for murder, but gets convicted for desertion. So we are starting to go down a path that seems to be improbable.

During the course of World War 2 both Harry and Giles Barrington seem to survive some experiences which virtually leaves them dead.

However this is all sub-plots to the main point - Is Harry the son of Hugo Barrington and the heir to the Barrington empire?

So we go to the House of Lords to make a final judgment. Then comes the cliff hanger, right on the last page. Like the cliff hangers at the end of a season of a 1980's US soap, the reader is left on a knife edge waiting to find out how it will turn out.

So for all the questions surrounding the improbability in the sub-stories, the cliff hanger is master stroke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeffrey Archer The Sins of the Father, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sins of the Father (The Clifton Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book is compulsive reading as are all 3 of the Clifton Chronicles. Cannot wait to read the 4th one next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite on key., 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have rated " The Sin of the Father " a star below " Only time Will tell " as I did not find it half as gripping. Of course I would recommend this to the reader as it would be just wrong not to finish the trilogy and I'm sure there are more surprises to come?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sins of the Father, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sins of the Father (The Clifton Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
As usual, Jeffrey Archer keeps your attention right to the end of the book. I downloaded it on holiday in Crete -an excellent read, roll on Clifton Chronicles 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews