Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chick lit
Rory is shocked to find herself single and out of her own home after an argument with her long standing boring boyfriend of 11yrs.
Moving in with her Aunt Lydia at her boarding house she finds herself trying to figure what happened and who she is without Martin. Having only had the one suitable boyfriend she is talked into dating a series of unsuitable men. This...
Published on 18 Mar 2012 by Suzanne Moore

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny read but predictable (spoilerish)
I haven't read a chicklit book in over two years. I think the last series I read was the Shopaholic series and I stopped at Shopaholic and Baby. However, this did catch my eye when I read a review in a magazine and I have to say that although it was very funny in places I was expecting to be a little more 'wowed' by it. As is goes, it's the same old formula and you can...
Published on 4 April 2012 by Katia WolfSwan


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chick lit, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Suzanne Moore "Suzanne" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rory is shocked to find herself single and out of her own home after an argument with her long standing boring boyfriend of 11yrs.
Moving in with her Aunt Lydia at her boarding house she finds herself trying to figure what happened and who she is without Martin. Having only had the one suitable boyfriend she is talked into dating a series of unsuitable men. This leads to various hilarity as she dates a man over double her age, a sex crazed intern years younger, a war correspondant and an unemployed musician. Whilst trying to figure out where things went wrong for her and Martin, if the gorgeous helpful nice plumber is really up too or is simply a nice guy whilst struggling to keep her job.

This is definitely a chick lit book. It won't set your world on fire but it will give you an enjoyable read and a good giggle, especially when the Rory drops the sex starved intern in it, and if you've been dumped then you'll completely understand where Rory is coming from.
If you want a book that doesn't require too much deep thinking and has a happy ending this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A suitable Read, 16 July 2012
By 
Jay Rainbow (bolton england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Blissful reading that had me within 4 pages, a well written peice about the traps we set ourselves. Pacey enough to keep pages turning but it never runs away with itself. So well written you can even forgive the bits that are predictable. Read in 2 sessions and enjoyable all the way. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny chicklit, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this as there were some really funny moments and the unsuitable dates were so comical. Although I did suss out who Rory would end up with quite early on it didn't put me off reading it. However I do agree with another reviewer that Rory's character was flawed and not consistant that se was so pathetically submissive with her ex Martin, yet bit the head off other characters. Didn't get that at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ideal holiday read, 4 July 2012
By 
libby_black (derbyshire, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Kindle Edition)
weve all dated unsuitable men, now havent we? but imagine setting out just to do that and you are able then to identify with our heroine in this book. nice easy reading. not too taxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsuitable Men, 23 May 2012
By 
Mr. B. W. Haynes "b & e haynes" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A heartbroken Rory Carmichael is looking to take her mind of the fact that her 'perfect man' has broken up with her.
As she works on a traditional family run magazine (reminding me of 'The Lady') her solution is to set up a website on which she plans to chronicle as many dates as she can with unsuitable men to see what she might have been missing!
Really funny with undertones of sadness, well worth the five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect afternoon while away, 12 May 2012
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was in desperate need of a good chick book.

This filled all my expectations.

It was funny, had a good story, great characters and i read it over the course of 3 hours on a sunny sunday afternoon.

I dont have anything negative to say about it at all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 April 2012
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The term Chick Lit is an umbrella term that covers a huge range of books -frothy improbable fairy stories, raunchy stories about new women verging on soft porn and intelligent books about women living the sort of life that most of us could identify with in some way. The only things they have in common are that the main characters are female and they all have similar covers.

Unsuitable Women is up the intelligent end of the spectrum. I read it on a vile Saturday in April - torrential wind, howling gale and as dark as a day can be - and I enjoyed it hugely. After eleven years Aurora (Rory) has been dumped by her lover, Martin. She moves back to her Aunt Lydia's boarding house, where Lydia, an ex-actress, and her two lodgers Percy and Eleanor, welcome and comfort her.

Rory works for an upmarket magazine called Country House. She feels insecure, believing that she is not posh enough to fit in. When her column is axed she uses advice from one of colleagues, that because her suitable boyfriend has cheated on her perhaps she ought to try out some unsuitable men, as the subject matter of a new column. The fallout from this decision forms the basis for the rest of the story. The results are funny, poignant and highly enjoyable.

The one weak point was, I thought, the character of the boyfriend, Martin. We have met him so many times before. He is the flip side of the masterful hero - dictatorial, one dimensional, humourless and boring. I do not believe that Rory would have stuck with him for eleven years, no matter how besotted she was when she was eighteen. However, it's a minor flaw. The other characters, aged thesps Percy and Eleanor, the editorial staff at Country House, Jim the plumber and the ghastly unsuitable men are all great. This is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every girl needs to kiss a few frogs, 16 Feb 2012
By 
M. Bray "Mia" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rory has only ever dated one guy, Martin, boring dependable takes control of everything Martin who dumps her in favour of another woman. When emotional vampire 'Ticky' (one of many ridiculous posh nicknames at Country Life magazine) suggests that she wont know what Mr Right looks like until shes dated a few Mr Wrongs to know the signs,and when later pressed for an idea for an article she combines the 2 goals with a column of guys not to date (Yes it is as much like a loose version of the the plot from 'How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days'!) and so with mr unfaithful already under her belt sets out to intentionally date all of the cliche unsuitable men. Cue dating of the fauxmosexual, the pensioner, the toyboy, the unemployed musician and the guy with mental baggage etc etc which whilst mostly platonic in nature also present a welcome melody of comedic moments and feel good awkwardness which are watched with interest by the elderly actress aunt and tennants she lives with and her aunts plumber. Its hardly a spoiler to suggest that the unfaithful comes begging and the plot starts to become a little predictable but its never the less a good one as Rory learns that sometimes finding the person whos suitable means opening up wat your looking for.

The first few chapters took a bit of getting into as having been comfortably in a relationship Rory has never really connected to her colleagues and so is written very much as someone mocking posh people lots of excessive aaahs and connecting-words-togetherisms. However this is quickly dropped as she starts to become a part of her team. Theres still a class divide but its not glaring and Rory becomes quite likable. I wouldnt be surprised if this becomes a chick flick at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chicklit at its best, 19 April 2012
By 
elkiedee "elkiedee" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rory has been dumped by her first and only real boyfriend, and a colleague suggests that she needs to get some dating experience with a few unsuitable men. Somehow she finds herself writing a column about her experiences for the website of the magazine she works on.

I was tempted by this as I really enjoyed Wright's first novel, and this was just as much fun. This is definitely chicklit but Rory is no bimbo, but an intelligent, likeable and warm character learning more about the people around her and herself.

While there is an obligatory romantic story, this is a social comedy with a great cast of interesting and entertaining characters, particularly at Rory's work and home. Rory works on a country house magazine, one of the few staff members who is not very posh and well-connected, and I enjoyed the terrifying boss Amanda, the posh girl Ticky and the precocious work experience boy. Even better is Rory's home life, as she moves from her boyfriend's home to live with her beloved aunt Lydia, landlady to several other elderly actors. I found many of the scenes at home and work much more interesting than the outrageously unsuitable men.

Brain candy at its tastiest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Feb 2012
By 
Sarah Lambert "Book addict" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unsuitable Men (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book about Rory, who has just split up with her boyfriend Martin after 11 years together. She is understandably heartbroken but believes it is just temporary until Martin realises he wants her back. Even though he has cheated on her, Rory's low self esteem still leaves her feeling that the breakup was her fault and that Martin was too good for her. This makes the book sound like it could be depressing, and for the first part of the story Rory is moping around barely making it out of bed and into work, but the book is made by the variety of wonderful characters she encounters. Rory goes to live with her Aunty Lyd, who runs a boarding house for actors, and her two boarders, Percy and Eleanor. She works for Country House magazine with her ambitious boss Amanda and her eccentric colleagues. She meets a series of unsuitable men and, in an effort to improve her prospects on the magazine, begins to write an internet column about her dates. But she begins to realise that some of her ideas about herself, her career and her ideal man may need a rethink. Maybe one of the Mr Wrongs she meets could be her Mr Right? or will Martin change his mind about the split? This is a great read and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unsuitable Men
Unsuitable Men by Pippa Wright
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews