Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eyes squinting and a touch of red on each shoulder
The Opera House, the Harbour Bridge, Eyres Rock, kangaroos and koalas etc. are not in Tim Winton's memoir. Nothing of any tourism spin here.
What is an Australian? An Aboriginal, an immigrant European or what precisely?
Defining self, identity and culture within landscape is complex.
Tim Winton expresses the sensation and feel, the love and fear, the...
Published on 14 May 2012 by LuckyLotus

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sweet book
The book has a lovely 'feel' with a very tactile cover. I had bought the book for my 11-year-old nephew who lives in WA, but I'm not sure it's something he'd find interesting to read? The story is autobiographical and so has references only a grown-up would appreciate, yet the text is large and the language freely written....one day William might read it!
Published on 23 April 2012 by MargiP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eyes squinting and a touch of red on each shoulder, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Opera House, the Harbour Bridge, Eyres Rock, kangaroos and koalas etc. are not in Tim Winton's memoir. Nothing of any tourism spin here.
What is an Australian? An Aboriginal, an immigrant European or what precisely?
Defining self, identity and culture within landscape is complex.
Tim Winton expresses the sensation and feel, the love and fear, the narrative and the poetic beauty, by this, sharing his experience, enabling you to know him and his west Ozzie world .
Such a real feel for the physicality of Australia: a young kid coming to know his landscape and environment, deciphering the nature of the people he's growing up amongst and sensing the meanings in the relationship between people and place. Discovering himself in all 10 dimensions.
Beautifully elucidated sensations: of sand, heat, surf, ocean swimming, bare feet, of 'now' time and place, is combined with the parallel awakening to the wonder of words and language, of knowledge of other contexts and times, thoughts and experiences. And, an identity developing and being defined.
Can't recommend this highly enough. If you're planning a trip to Oz, read this first, you'll find the insights you take away from it will enlarge your travel experience greatly. If you've been to Australia, this book will spike your head with memories and sensations, replaying like a film, also perhaps, initiate the revelation of a few things you failed to come to know.
Or just read it for it's insight, beauty and poetry.

For this Aussie-Brit/Brit-Aussie, Tim Winton's memoir is magic, and treasure most precious. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oz childhood, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who grow up in Western Australia I loved this but I am sure it will appeal to others just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 10 Aug 2012
I read this book on my trip back from Majorca and it took almost precisely the flight time (about 2 hours) to finish it. Can't ask more than that. Tim Winton at his best: you know that thing when you finish his books and think 'wow, that was brilliant but I can't quite put my finger on the reason why'? That.

(Incidentally, if you're going to Majorca for your holiday too I recommend Benjamin Zephaniah's quick read 'Kung Fu Trip' for the flight there or back - it's about the same length. And it's very, very funny. But don't go looking for any bronzed Australian surfers in it because you won't find any. This one's more a Kung-Fu-practising Rasta poet in China kind of thing.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ecological interest book, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Evelyn Stewart "even so" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for daughter, who is a Marine Biologist. I had heard book being read out on radio and thought she would find it interesting. She had already heard about it and was really pleased to get book, which she has read and enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sweet book, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book has a lovely 'feel' with a very tactile cover. I had bought the book for my 11-year-old nephew who lives in WA, but I'm not sure it's something he'd find interesting to read? The story is autobiographical and so has references only a grown-up would appreciate, yet the text is large and the language freely written....one day William might read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Tim Winton, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Winton's sublime ability to make you feel you are actually there as he gives you glimpses of his life growing up in western Australia. He understanding of that landscape and environment makes him enjoyable and one of the very best writers of present time. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Australia, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who loves Australia will feel hugely nostalgic when reading any Tim Winton book. His portrayal of life on the edge of the continent is compelling and if you have walked along the pristine beaches of W.A. This will conjure up that incredible feeling once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading - essential for Tim Winton fans, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Zebrasoma - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land's Edge: A Coastal Memoir (Kindle Edition)
If I have one issue with this book, it is that I would have liked it to be at least twice as long. It's an exploration of Tim Winton's lifelong relationship with the sea. It's beautifully written, and casts an interesting light on some of Winton's novels, with accounts of various incidents from his own life that feature in his fiction. Highly recommended: even if you're not familiar with Tim Winton's fiction, it's a great read, and might just get you into reading those great novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lands End, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful book. I loved the cover illustration. The story very evocative of some of my experiences in similar houses in WA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of Australia, 2 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard this book on BBC Radio 4 Book of the week programme and it gave such vivid descriptions of the Western Australian coast that I bought it and have enjoyed reading it for myself.A good book to take on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land's Edge: A Coastal Memoir
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews