Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars23
2.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2014
Just below average film but not horrible, watchable, besides the TERRIBLE Scottish accent!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
I really enjoyed this film when I saw it. This not your average american comedy. Some of the humour is quite dark and similar in style to 'The Office'. I got a copy of this from a friend in America and thought it was great, I told several people about it and that they should go see it when it comes out, but i don't remember it ever being released in the UK. Both lead actors are great and its good to see Sean William Scott in something a bit more serious, and I think he does a great job. If you like something slightly different and off-beat but still very funny, give this film a go.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 December 2012
I'll see anything with John C Reilly in it but not even he could do much with this ball of fluff. Retail has so much going for: customers; staff; management; products and you would think that there would be a ton of funny situations and alternate plotlines to weave together for a great movie. In 'The promotion' so much of this was just regarded as light weight situations which were not exploited.

Comedy in particular needs great timing and most of this movie was one missed opportunity after another. Scene after scene had long pauses so that any humorous potential just evaporated. The cast drifted through their lines in a rather limp way: too many takes or not enough I frequently wondered.

I stuck it out to the end and thought maybe the 'Making of' feature might reveal what went wrong. An amazing, almost eighteen minutes, of the cast talking one back-slapping cliché after another. Everyone did a great bang-up job and everyone is soooo talented. Quite embarrassing really.

Maybe next time for writer/director Steven Conrad.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Showing great promise; two men up for a promotion; all very well mannered and 'professional'... the minutiae of every day at a supermarket office..where the 'lot' is seen as a bad week; and the stocking of soup cans is open house for criticism..

The movie centres around a young man, who wants the promotion, and a 'new' guy; who has to provide for his family too.

The script could have been much better ; there are some glorious moments in the movie; a work team outing; with a paperbag; is priceless.. if only the tattoo had been better and really added some additional level; alas, it was not to be. There are a lot of underdeveloped scenes in the movie; which make it lacklustre, which is really disappointing as clearly they have put in a lot of hard work into this movie.

The acting is purposefully bland so as to not 'over egg' the scenes, but it does leave the quality moments downcast which is unfortunate..

It's ok to watch; however overall not as great a movie flick as it could have been, which is a shame.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
After partially seeing this when i was holidaying in Tunisia i thought id purchase it when i got back.
It tells the story of two people battleing for a promtion in a supermarket. The gags in the film are great and will leave you laughing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
2 men up for a promotion 1s a new guys and is a bit of a douche. That's it. Broke into a smile a couple of times. No real humour considering there both funny guys. Don't waste ur time
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Wasn't expecting much from this film but turned out to be a really enjoyable film.
Don't expect anything too hilarious (I don't think it was intended to be laugh a minute funny)
Its just a nice film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Not a bad film. Hadn't seen it before. I bought it because I like John c Reilly. Not the kind of file you would watch twice in a month (stepbrothers). The trailer has most of the funny bits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
This film is mildly enjoyable, but just a bit weak. The cast was so underused by the tepid script, that you just end up feeling disappointed. More of a retail training video than a comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 March 2012
The Promotion is a comedy set in Chicago featuring two guys fighting it out over a retail promotion.
There are some genuinely funny moments in the film, but these seemed to be few and far between. There's some swearing in the film which I feel is totally unnecessary to the plot and further spoils the film.
Good to see bits of Chicago in the film and a couple of brief appearances from actor Booby Cannavale.
All in all, watch it if there's nothing else, but don't expect to be amazed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)