Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally a decent release
All the previous releases of this made for tv film from 1976, were unwatchable, worse than vhs quality. Finally we have a release here from Second Sight Films that does this great film about the Israeli Commando Raid justice. It's well cast with Charles Bronson, Peter Finch and Yaphet Kotto as Idi Amin and until a Blu Ray comes out, this Second Sight release is the...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Bob Serigala

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining TV-production
In 1976, the Israeli elite special forces carried out one of the most successful rescue missions ever performed. Terrorists from PFLP-EO (Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine - External Operations) and RZ (Revolutionary Cells) hijacked an Airbus A300 with 248 passengers, and changed its original destination, Paris, to Entebbe airport, Uganda, Idi Amin...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by H. Halling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally a decent release, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raid on Entebbe [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
All the previous releases of this made for tv film from 1976, were unwatchable, worse than vhs quality. Finally we have a release here from Second Sight Films that does this great film about the Israeli Commando Raid justice. It's well cast with Charles Bronson, Peter Finch and Yaphet Kotto as Idi Amin and until a Blu Ray comes out, this Second Sight release is the definite version to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining TV-production, 28 Oct 2007
By 
H. Halling (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In 1976, the Israeli elite special forces carried out one of the most successful rescue missions ever performed. Terrorists from PFLP-EO (Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine - External Operations) and RZ (Revolutionary Cells) hijacked an Airbus A300 with 248 passengers, and changed its original destination, Paris, to Entebbe airport, Uganda, Idi Amin territory.

Raid on Entebbe is an excellent portrayal of this event. The directing and editing could have been better (there are a lot of mistimed fades), but great performances by well known actors (Charles Bronson: Death Wish/Breakheart Pass, Martin Balsam: All the President's Men, Jack Warden: 12 Angry Men/All the President's Men, Eddie Constantine: The Long Good Friday, Yaphet Kotto: Alien/Live and Let Die, James Woods: Casino and Robert Loggia: Scarface) makes this film worth watching. Charles Bronson and (especially) Yaphet Kotto are at their best.

I watched the film a week ago, but the DVD version disappointed me. VHS quality, 4:3, no subtitles and below average sound quality is the reason why I rate it *** out of *****. If you're a huge Charles Bronson fan, or if you're really interested in this event, you will not be disappointed.. - If you're neither, you should not order this movie until a better version is made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars raid on entebbe, 18 Dec 2009
By 
John Fahey "john fahey" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have a huge interest in hostage rescues especally true stories "fact based" and "RAID ON ENTEBBE" is good it shows the isreali commandoes being briefed , it showed them rehersing the raid , and it showed the hostages returning back to isreal , however the DVD version IS cut by almost 25 minutes , when it was shown on tv CH4 and 5 it is on for around 2hrs and 15 mins I actually have 2 versions from both channels , the other 25 minutes does make the film more intereting ,so why is the DVD version cut by 25 minutes a HUGE DISOPOINTMENT , otherwise a collectors item for poeople who like hostage rescues ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last - an excellent copy, 11 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raid on Entebbe [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I had two previous copies of this film; the first I recorded on VHS from the BBC in 2000 and copied over to dvd in 2008; this was never too good and the VHS-dvd copy didn't help. The second I recorded direct to dvd from channel 5 in 2009 but, to be honest, it didn't come out any beter than the first effort. All this work was necessary because it was not possible to buy a quality copy on dvd (see Mr. Dag Smith's review - I think he must have got hold of the poor quality one).However, Second Sight Films have now come up trumps - we watched this last night and the picture and sound were both first class given the age of the original. One of my all-time favourite films portraying events I remember well. Wonderful! If you buy it, make sure you get the 2012 release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great copy at last, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raid on Entebbe [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I ordered this with some trepidation, 2 previous editions are the simple poor VHS transfer. This is perfect and for those who like the film, worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raid on Entebbe, 2 Nov 2010
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those of us of a certain age will remember very well in June 1976 the daring rescue by Israeli commandos of people, many of them Jewish, after they were taken hostage in mid air in an Air France passenger jet going from Tel Aviv to Paris by Arab and German terrorists who were given sanctuary in Idi Armin's Uganda at Entebbe airport. The terrorists demanded the release of a number of terrorists held in various prisons in the west and whilst the world was waiting for the reaction of the Israeli government to these demands they arranged for a party of commandos in great secrecy to fly to Entebbe Airport a week later, land by night and rescue those being held.

This is an entralling, well made and exciting account of how the hostages were taken, how they reacted, how the Israeli cabinet agonised over what to do, how they agreed a plan of action and how it was carried out. Peter Finch is excellent as Yitzhak Rabin, the Israeli Prime Minister, who had to get a concensus of opinion from a deeply divided cabinet about what they should do and Charles Bronson is quietly impressive as the leader of the rescuers. Although the rescue was remarkably successful there was a cost in human lives apart from the terrorists who were all killed. One of the commandos, Yonatan Netanyahu, the brother of Benjamin Natanyahu who twenty years later became the Prime Minister of Israel was shot by a terrorist, three hostages were killed in the crossfire and one hostage, Dora Bloch, was murdered in hospital where she had been taken before the rescue took place because she became ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, awful transfer to DVD, 17 April 2009
By 
Delta (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
This is a great action movie, won two Emmy's and a Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture made for TV, but the transfer onto this DVD is of shockingly poor quality. I would not even rate it VHS standard. Soundtrack has a persistantly loud hiss throughout and the picture quality is like watching a poor VHS rental near the end of its shelf life. In many places where the action takes place at night or in shadow its almost impossible to make anything out, which is a big let down seeing most of the action takes place at night.

As a previous revewer said do not bother until a better quality version comes out as this is, frankly, unwatchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raid on Entebbe (DVD), 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raid on Entebbe [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Arrived on time and well packed.
Excellent film with Great Actors. Remember it is a true storey not Fantasy.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raid on entebbe, 19 July 2013
this may be a tv movie from the 70's so never made in widescreen but please everyone world over only buy the uk region 2 second sight dvd version as it is totaly uncut has all the missing parts in every other version as this version is the original 2004 20th centry fox version and u carnt get better than that ratted pg this version is rare as now oop but do NOT buy the other version from the uk with a big W and black packaging that is a public domain crap version that has been blocked contact me if ur not sure . but do not buy the region 1 version, the version with pink cover /. the uk 2012 version is the renewed 20th centry fox stuido version. contack me for advise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality, 2 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like your DVDs to look old VHS rental copies then this is for you. Otherwise AVOID this seller. It's hard to believe these are genuine copies the quality is so awful. Also, the menus are in Dutch so Dutch subtitles cannot be turned off. Do not waste your money on this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raid on Entebbe [DVD] [1976]
Raid on Entebbe [DVD] [1976] by Irvin Kershner (DVD - 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews