Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated and well worth watching over and over.
"Clue" is based on the now infamous board game of the same name. However, here in the UK of course, it is more famously known as "Cluedo".
You may not have heard of a film based on a board game before, indeed I certainly haven't. However, this film contains far more to it then some un-original characters and a famous "sponser".
The film is extremely under-rated,...
Published on 12 Feb. 2004 by Lew1

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So a complete waste of money
It is an American dvd and disnae - as we say in Scotland - work on a U.K. computer. So a complete waste of money.
Published 4 months ago by Miss Jean Hillhouse


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated and well worth watching over and over., 12 Feb. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
"Clue" is based on the now infamous board game of the same name. However, here in the UK of course, it is more famously known as "Cluedo".
You may not have heard of a film based on a board game before, indeed I certainly haven't. However, this film contains far more to it then some un-original characters and a famous "sponser".
The film is extremely under-rated, but for me is a perfect blend of physical comedy and witty dialogue. The interatcion between the large cast of suspects and the butler (played by the fantastic Tim Curry) is fast, furious and puts many other dialogue-driven comedies to shame. But there are also some fantastic slapstick scenes, and even some tension thrown in for good measure. The film gathers momentum from the very start, getting faster and faster until the butler then frantically reveals who-did-it.
Then the film plays it's (unique?) trump card: It has three different endings. When shown in U.S. Cinemas, each theatre had a different ending. However, because of the luxuries of DVD, we have it even better. You are able to choose one of the three endings to be chosen, at random, when you view it. Because of the never-ending barrage of jokes in this film, you can re-watch it many many times, still enjoying it - and then get a different ending into the bargain!
The TV and VHS version of the film had to include all three endings in one, and this version is incuded in the DVD as well. In fact, the way the three are linked together in this version is a funny joke in itself.
Sadly, presumably because the film had to suit the multiple endings, not many facts could be revealed during the film - so you may get a little thwarted at the endings, when they reveal their secrets that you really couldn't have guessed at all from the main feature, and it may take several views of the ending(s) to really understand how it resolves. However, let's face it - you are likely to be watching the film for the comedy, and all three endings have plenty of that as well.
Sadly, the entire content of Special Features on this DVD consists of one trailer. Shame, since I expect there were many tales to be told from the produces about the multiple endings.
Overall, It's fast, atmospheric, witty and very very funny. This one is a bargain - you can watch over and over again, and still find much to keep you ammused. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And I was in the hall. I know because I was there..., 1 May 2006
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
I was less than enthusiastic when the DVD version of this film was produced by my young charges while I was babysitting recently.

Ordinarily, a film based on a popular board game would not sound the most exciting of prospects, indeed it is the type of film that most sane people over the age of nine would go out of their way to avoid. However, when I discovered that it stars both Tim Curry AND Christopher Lloyd (both veritable kings of cult cinema) as well as that bloke who played the principal in the 90s TV series version of "Sabrina the Teenage Witch", I decided to give it a chance.

Am I glad that I did!

The film takes a playful approach to its subject matter and, as mentioned by several reviewers on here, the script sparkles with a disproportionate number of highly quotable, expertly delivered one liners. The acting is excellent throughout, with Tim Curry's breathlessly energetic portrayal of Wadsworth, the stereotypical butler, being especially memorable.

The children, who had seen it before, enjoyed this almost as much as I did and were acting it out for the rest of the day.

The filming of three separate endings was an ingenious idea and it is worthwhile purchasing the DVD release version simply for the ability to choose to watch all three together, or to simply have one of them appear randomly at the end. The only small problem that I have with this is that there are not more special features included.

However, this is the best version I have so far been able to find of this a truely excellent movie that thoroughly deserves the cult following it has gathered over the years.

A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To cut a long story short..., 27 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
...too late! What a brilliant film! I've been watching it since I was about 7, and it gets funnier every year (as I was growing up, I wa able to understand more every time I watched it). It's a classic that no-one seems to know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great but still lots of laughs., 15 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect companion for all film enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

This film based on the popular board game is actually a surprising treat. Although not perfect, this is a well acted movie with an entertaining story. Clue has an impressive cast of talented actors. The film is entertaining from start to finish, but at times, you can clearly see where the filmmakers seemed to rush on the ideas. I'm actually surprised that they were able to make something watchable while using a board game as a basis for its plot. Years later, they would do the same thing with Battleship, but varied to decent results.

I have to say Clue is a fun movie to watch if you're in the right state of mind, and it will keep you guessing right up till the very end. The cast here are what keep you interested from the first frame onwards, and even for all its flaws, it's worth seeing and is not as bad as you'd think. With what the filmmakers had to work with, Clue is an average, worthwhile viewing experience that could have been far worst, but is lots of fun from start to finish.

Don't go into this one expecting a great film, you won't find it here and there is plenty of aspects that could have been improved upon, but for what it, Clue is mindless thrills and entertainment and is a better movie than Peter Berg's Battleship. Like I said before, the cast make it work, and there is enough varied talent to really make a watchable movie that is entertaining, but flawed. Despite its shortcomings, there are enough good things on-screen to make it worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't buy this you're clueless, 8 July 2003
By 
Neil Crawford (Arbroath, Angus United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
To me this is the greatest, Its the only film I have watched more than twenty times and at every viewing I am still rolling with laughter - and how could you not - the cast is fantastic, each giving a hilarious performance especially the ever funny Madeline Kahn (Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstien), Tim Curry (Rocky Horror Picture Show), Christopher Lloyd (Back to the Future) and Michael McKean (Spinal Tap).
Based on the board game Cluedo the six characters meet for a dinner party and guess what? - SOMEONE IS MURDERED!!!! (Shock horror) This film has something for everyone from side splitting slapstick to one liners that run thick and fast (aswell as one of the accents) as the top cast and the audience try to learn who did it,and where and with what?
There is not one part of this film that I dont like. From Tim Curry's first...em...step to the three alternate endings you will laugh untill your face is sore. Who would have thought that mass murder could be so funny. Excellent every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm the butler I like to keep the kitchen tidy, 18 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
I used to watch this film a lot when I was a kid. I still love it today. It is the best film I have ever seen. It has a fantastic cast, with Tim Curry being the best. It's funny and has loads of great one liners. I liked the fact that you can choose to be shown 1 ending at random or all 3 endings together. I was slightly disappointed that this DVD didn't have any more extras on it. It may be based on a boardgame but it's one of the most original films I have ever seen. This is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, 30 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe it is finally possible to get this film on DVD, I used to watch it every christmas and loved it to bits. It is a piece of genious, both funny and clever. One of my favourite films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Wadsworth witnessed, 1 Jan. 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
Based on the popular board game "Clue" various people are invited to a mysterious old house. Similar to the movies "Then There Were None" and "Murder by Death" they must ban together to find out who killed Mr. Body and why. Every guest of course carries their won secret; the secrets get reviled at strategic moments.
The movie is peppered with one liners and double entendres. Wadsworth (Tim Curry) holds it together.
Wadsworth: Professor Plum, you were once a professor of psychiatry specializing in helping paranoid and homicidal lunatics suffering from delusions of grandeur.
Professor Plum: Yes, but now I work for the United Nations.

Wadsworth: Then your work has not changed.
In the theater you got one of three endings they are all on the DVD so you will not have to buy three DVD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clue, 20 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
This film should be a classic.
Great cast, great gags, fast action... and keeps you guessing
all the way. Even when you think you know who did it.... there's a final surprise.
My brother watched this film so often, he knew virtually every word in it....sad I know... but it's a film you can watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprising brilliant!, 23 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Clue [DVD] (DVD)
If anybody took one look at the cover of this film and what it was about, they would instantly think of it as being one of those OK films that you wouldn't watch twice. But this film is amazing! The script and comedy are brilliant! Full marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clue [Blu-ray] [1985] [US Import]
Clue [Blu-ray] [1985] [US Import] by Jonathan Lynn (Blu-ray - 2012)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews